Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Big rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice variety in snack machines. The pool was fun and not crowded. Awesome breakfast included in price.
Cons: I wish there was more variety in the TV channels. Too many sports channels. Hallmark was listed but it was a sports channel.
I enjoyed my stay for several days. The room was big and comfortable. Loved the breakfast. Lots of lamps. See comments...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel at an affordable price.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Cons: One complaint: The card readers were not working on the side and back entrances to the hotel, so we had to go in the front door each time we entered a
Clean room, clean hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast. The shower head in our room was AMAZING.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Krys, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. We pride ourselves on everything your listed in your comment above. An excellent guest experience is what we expect and we pride ourselves on that. The shower heads are an exclusive for Wingate by Wyndham. However I do know that they are made by Moen and something similiar should be available at your local retailer or on line. Please come and stay with us again in the near future. Kim P. Sales Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Rooms were fine
Cons: No working wi fi No laundry services
Location: Good location
No wifi was very disappointing. No laundry mat. Extremely noisy,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by Krys, Hotel Management
I am so sorry for your experience here at our hotel. We were not notified of any wifi issues besides yours, so I do apologize. Also, we do not have guest laundry in our hotel, however, we do have somewhere we can refer our guests to. We did run a limited staff the night you checked in and as a manager I will do my best to staff according to the business demands. Thank you again for your feedback. Kim P. Sales Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Krys, Hotel Management
I am so sorry for your experience here at our hotel. I am also sorry for your wifi not working while you were here. We did not have any other complaints about this. Also, we do not have a laundry facility on site, however, we do partner with another hotel to accomodate our guest needs and we would have been happy to call them and arrange for you to use their facilities. As far as the noise, we did have several wedding parties in house that weekend and also the race was in town. Unfortunately we were sold out and a room move could have been done but would have been difficult. Please let us know if we can do anything to change your mind and stay with us again. Thank you, Kim P
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom greenville sc

Close to downtown, staff very friendly

Posted Oct 12, 2014
We checked in late but the staff was cheerful and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Krys, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you had such a good experience at our hotel. Please come again. Kim P. Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Hotel staff were efficient at check in and friendly during the stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Krys, Hotel Management
Thank you very much. We are very proud of our staff and their friendliness and always willing to go the extra mile. Please come again soon. Kim P. Sales Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to everything

Posted Sep 24, 2014
This was a vacation for the wife, I was here for work, at any rate the stay here was extremely nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Krys, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad that your wife was able to enjoy her stay while you were working. Please come again soon! Kim P.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cecelia dnd Fredfrom New Jersey

Will return again

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay was more than adequate. Friendly help. Good breakfast. Close to Lake Norman properties we were searching out for our Winter Stay. Close to food and shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Smith, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please come again and stay will us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kim P
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bensonfrom Richmond

Wet carpet

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hello I spent a night in your hotel last Sunday I was in room 207.I was disappointed because the carpet was wet and there was no one at the front desk that I could talk to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Smith, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the carpet being wet. I have notified our maintenance man to let him know. Also, we are staffed to have 1 person at the desk at all times. I have addressed this as well. Please come and try us again when you are traveling to our area, we will make sure your stay is much better. Kim P
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kim

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Smith, Hotel Management
Thank you! Kim P
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kenny Westfrom Mooresville NC

Great Place To Stay For All The Right Reasons

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved it - don't change a thing other than the construction & gym being closed. Thanks !
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Smith, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please come back and stay with us again soon! Kim P