Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
It had the bare necessities and good heating. It was good for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, no frills, good rates

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Price and convenience.
Cons: WI-FI was a little spotty
Location: Beaufort - diving, historic areas, good local restaurants, the ocean - everything that a person needs
As I noted in a previous review, this motel; is great for the traveler who wants a comfortable place to spend the night, who doesn't need frills and extra-cost amenities. The price is great, we had everything we needed, which honestly wasn't much - we came in late Friday night and Saturday night, and were up and gone by 6:30 each morning. Frankly, we didn't need to pay >$100 / night for a room that we spent very little time in. The staff are friendly and helpful, the motel is quiet, easy to get to, has plenty of restaurants and grocery stores nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Hillsborough NC

Good for what we wanted, good for the price.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Price.
Cons: Nothing, really, for what it provides..
Location: Beaufort / Morehad City is ~20-25 miles away, easily close enough to drive to, without inconvenience.
Two of us needed a place to stay while participating in an activity in Beaufort. We needed a place to sleep, to take a shower, nothing fancy - we were going to be coming back late each evening, leaving early each morning. We didn't need Wi-Fi, a restaurant in the motel, a coffe pot in the room. Most of the other motels in the area were $25 - $50 / night more expensive (or more). The Sherwood was great for us. The night staff person was very friendly and helpful;, recommended a good place nearby to get 'a burger and a beer'. This is not a Marriott or a Courtyard, or a beach resort. It is a much older building, without frills or amenities other than a comfortable bed, TV, fridge / microwave, and hot showers. It is a clean, comfortable place to sleep. I very definitely recommend it for that purpose. We are going back next weekend, for the same reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Morehead City (Area) for the NC Seafood Festival

Posted Oct 7, 2014
An older motel--- clean, quiet, with comfortable beds. Lacks some of the amenities most newer motels have. I only needed a place to sleep, and the price was RIGHT.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Bare minimum.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: It was cheap... $60.00 per night.
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Location: It was easily accessible and there were near by amenities.
About what one might expect for the money, I suppose. The AC sounded like a freight train; the bathroom had no exhaust fan; there were no tissues in provided in the room; and the one and only vending machine was out of order.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Vacationersfrom Mooresville, NC

Not bad for a short stay.

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Served its purpose perfectly! Thanks! Will stay there again next time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Karinfrom Raleigh NC

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was fine. The price was great! No coffee pot in the room,but we always bring our own. No pool or any type of breakfast. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. 15 miles from the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sonyafrom Durham

nice enough!

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
this was just fine as a place to get some shut-eye. nothing fancy, no pool, breakfast, etc, but they were friendly and the room was clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Ok room, far from most activities.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Felt clean and staff was very nice.
Cons: Better amenities and also maybe something non skid outside for when it rains. The cement on both floors got very slippery.
Location: Aviation and military related attractions and lots of stores and restaurants are nearby. Beaches are about 30-40 minutes away.
Room was clean, but lacked home comfort such as enough towels and blankets. Quite the drive from the beach, 17 miles but it can take over 30 minutes. Staff was nice and parking was good. No problems with noise or anything like that.