Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Ok room, far from most activities.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Felt clean and staff was very nice.
Cons: Better amenities and also maybe something non skid outside for when it rains. The cement on both floors got very slippery.
Location: Aviation and military related attractions and lots of stores and restaurants are nearby. Beaches are about 30-40 minutes away.
Room was clean, but lacked home comfort such as enough towels and blankets. Quite the drive from the beach, 17 miles but it can take over 30 minutes. Staff was nice and parking was good. No problems with noise or anything like that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Nice and cheap!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive and convenient.
Cons: The place is a little run down. It hasn't been upgraded in a few years but it was nothing I couldn't live with.
Location: Not a lot to do nearby but there are plenty of good restaurants and clubs. Again -- it's only 20 minutes from the beach.
Convenient to Cherry Point Marine Air Station and Morehead City. It's about 20 minutes from Atlantic Beach, NC. It has refrigerator, microwave, television, telephone, internet and hot water. It is NOT the Ritz! But it's very inexpensive. I'll drive 20 minutes to the beach each day in order to save between $100 and $150 per night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

It was horrible!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
I don't even know where to start. Well between the random guys staring and commenting- weirdos, jeeze and the hotel staff was extremely rude. I actually spent 2 hours there and just left. I felt very uncomfortable. No refund or nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
We were sorry to see your post regarding your recent stay with us. From our research, we found that you had been expecting someone to join you at the hotel, and once you found out they were unable to join you, you chose to leave early. Unfortunately, once you are in a room, we have to have Housekeeping clean it before we can allow it for resale, which is why the room charge cannot be reversed. We also have a 24 hour cancellation policy in effect. Our staff strives to ensure our guests are safe and comfortable during their stay with us and we do take these comments very seriously.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by BLUEFISH from POOLER, GA

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
INEXPENSIVE AND CENTRAL TO MY NEEDS AT THE TIME. IF I WAS BRINGING THE WIFE THIS WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN MY CHOOSE. I ONLY NEEDED A PLACE TO SLEEP AFTER FISHING OUT OF MOREHEAD CITY. IT PROVIDED THIS. ONLY THIS WAS OVER THE MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND AND I HAD A BARBEQUE GOING OUTSIDE MY ROOM AND ALL THAT ENTAILS. STILL, IT PROVIDED ME WITH WHAT I NEEDED A CLEAN, DRY ROOM TO RECOUP.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing the survey and letting us know about your recent stay with us. We are a budget conscious property and are slowly making changes to improve the property as we move forward. We review our guests comments to see what else we can do and we appreciate your feedback. Please consider us on your next visit to the area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy from Cleveland

Not a great value

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
When you are on a long trip and just looking for an economy place, you should be willing to compromise. I thought I was. This motel was pushing the envelope. It is a ran-down place, charging whatever the market bear. It is poor value for the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking time to complete the on-line survey and we were sorry to hear about your disappointment, We take our guest comments very seriously and will research what happened during your stay. We use this information to improve our rooms for future guests and see what else we can do as a budget-conscious property to make sure our guests are comfortable during their stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This Motel NEEDS A LOT of WORK !!!!

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Motel won't give a refund for early departure as stated, so we had to put up with the following: The door didn't seal properly, the room smelled, curtains wouldn't close properly, light didn't work until hubby fixed it, frig wasn't working properly, air conditioner didn't cool the room, bathroom fixtures were broken or missing, no hand towells. Management seemed to have a non-concerned attitude :O(!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andy from Fredericksburg Texas

Sherwood is a comfortable Motel

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfy bed, clean room ,very nice employees, poor internet service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AB from Rock Hill, SC

Pleasantly surprising

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I got a good deal on a room here, but I wasn't expecting much for the price. Some of the previous reviews made me nervous, especially since I'm a woman traveling alone. The neighborhood was great-right on the main road with tons of dining and service places close by. The lady working the desk was pleasant and helpful. The room was older but I could tell there had been recent renovations - new carpet and such. It was roomy and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are a budget conscious property slowly trying to get the rooms updated. We try to make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible and share these comments with our staff. We certainly look forward to your return visit with us.
2 out of 5
by Marine Dad from Western New York

Can't beat the price

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Microwave and refrigerator should be plugged in and on when guests arrive.
Location: Cherry Point Marine Corps Air Station (purpose of my visit), Croatia National Forest, historical 18th and 19th Century homes in New Bern.
Price is the only reason I would recommend this hotel. The staff (owners?) were very nice but the room was more than dated, which I expected. The refrigerator and microwave were unplugged and the refrigerator door was open. It seemed like the room and appliances had been cleaned some time ago and they had forgotten to plug them back in. From the few cars in the lot it seemed like they had few guests. I had some beer and was looking forward to a cold one after a bad 12 1/2 hour car ride. I plugged the fridge in and it worked fine but it would have been better if it was already cold to cool down my car-warmed beer. There was a loud machine that sounded like an industrial fan or motor that ran constantly across the street that I don't think was connected to the air base. I think it was coming from a restaurant. I couldn't hear it over the air conditioner. Other than this the hotel was what reviews I'd read presented it as, an old one that was good place to sleep for the price. If the fridge was plugged it I probably wouldn't respond to this invite to review. The staff seemed very nice but arriving to a room after a long tiring trip with unplugged appliances doesn't make a good impression. Maybe it was a one time thing. If so, I hope this helps the staff make sure it doesn't happen again. This hotel was the cheapest in the area and is fine for single travelers looking for a cheap place to sleep. I would not recommend it for families or couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for responding to the survey and letting us know your thoughts on your recent visit. We will share this with our staff in order to ensure a better guest experience the next time. We do take these seriously and will look into what happened. Please consider us on your next visit to the area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MIRIAM SERFES from MAINE

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
NO CABLE FOR THE FIRST HALF OF DAY, NO FRIDGE NO MICROWAVE, VERY POOR LIGHTING, VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE