Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ivan from Mexico City

Nice but noisy

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Hotel is nice, good ammenities and ambiance. The only problem is that you can hear everything that happens in other rooms. Hotel staff always was looking to help in every moment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Monica sandoval from Boston

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No heat/marginal service

Posted Dec 23, 2013
This is not worth staying at. Nights are cool and the facility lacks heat in the rooms. Although the hotel grounds are exceptionally beautiful, the staff the first day was less than helpful. The guest services staff person Fernando was perhaps the only saving grace to move some of the grades to OK from terrible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Moses from Mexico City

Upgrade Denied

Posted Dec 9, 2013
When I arrived to the hotel, I asked if there was a Suite Available, they confirmed. Then I requested the upgrade without charge for being an Expedia Elite member, which is part of what they offer if there are suites available, it says right there on the Expedia web site... well they immediately denied the upgrade telling me that the suite wasn't available anymore. Then they tried to put me on a 2 bed room when I clearly reserved a King size bed... after making a very big fuzz they gave me a room with a King size bed. Every thing else in the hotel was fine, but what I went through is something that I believe is taking advantage of the guest, and its wrong.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Sumiya was beautiful but it was difficult to communicate with the hotel staff. They even sent us to the wrong wedding site. Everything else was fine the cleanliness of the room, and the food at the hotel was delicious.
2 out of 5
by Nad

Nice facilities but the room needs to be renewed.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The gardens.
Cons: The bath was not so clean. The check-out process could be faster. They could have an express line for those who don't have extra charges.
The buffet was normal, nothing extraordinary, but it's expensive. The hotel didn't give me the room that I'd reserved (one king bed). The check-out process took so long (about 25 minutes), there were about 15 persons before us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susana from Costa Rica

Beautiful Gardens / Great Service - Old Facilities

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The gardens and the service.
Cons: Facilities need to be renovated, as the hotel looks quite old.
Overall, stay was Ok. Service was great as the staff was helpful and really nice. The gardens are a great view - Very pleasing to see all that green and well-cared vegetation. Room was very clean, no complaints at all. Facilities are quite old and could use some renovation to really charge as they did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alejandro from Spain

GARDENS & GARDENS

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: zen style
Cons: the vip upgrade
Location: if you are here is only to enjoy the hotel not much to do outside i guess
Was a good experience the hotel is very unique oriental style decor , great place if you like zen style .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

beautiful landscaping, rooms and service just ok!

Posted Apr 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Didnt have our room ready when we arrived. Had to wait about 30 minutes so I went to the bar. I paid cash for my drinks and when I got in my room, they called me to tell me I have an open bar tab and need to come down and close it. They locked our phone down and it took a few people down the chain to get them to clear our bill. The room felt old and the bed was extremely hard. The views from the room were amazing and the hotels property is extremely well taken care of and amazing. The start playing loud music at the pool around 10 am. Most of there rooms face the pool. If your a late sleeper, you wont be here. All of the locals say this is the nicest and most expensive hotel in town and the Mexican President stays there when he comes in town. Be cautious of the cab drivers when you tell them what hotel you are going too. Some will try and jack the rates up since they think you are rich staying at the Sumiya. They should all charge the same. The town is fun on the weekends and the old castle museum downtown is fantastic. Have fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not too exciting.

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
For the price noWi Fi included, well not even a small bottle of water for free they even charge you for the coffee they have on site at the room. I guess they realized that having nothing around like restaurants ir convenience stores they can charge you for everything that nowadays is considered basic.