Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lincoln

close to newcastle

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Good food ,friendly staff, lovely setting.
Cons: The leisure facilities could be cleaner, the steam room didn't work propally, and the swimming pool was very cold on our first day.
overall very pleased with the hotel,but the room we were allocated was next to the leisure club,it was fine on the first night, but on the second night some sort of generator was going on and off all night waking my wife up on several occasions.The breakfast in the morning was excellent and the staff were very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathyfrom Devon

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel could do with a little tlc. The carpets need replacing. The breakfast was excellent. The outside of the hotel and the gardens are lovely. There were no dressing gowns or slippers in the room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Simonfrom Oxford

Beware of weddings.

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel OK. Totally unable to deal with weddings and hotel guests at the same time. Don't stay if they have a wedding, you'll be treated like second class citizens. I suggest you eat out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Great Stayfrom Tyne and Wear

Great Stay

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is set in lovely grounds with a great golf course (I played 9 holes whilst my wife was pampered in the spa and we both mutually enjoyed each experience). The rooms are nice enough although the bed was a tad uncomfortable but that did not detract from our stay. The staff were excellent and the restaurant food was top-drawer. I would thoroughly recommend it and would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by AMCfrom Yorkshire

Good Find

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall a relaxed and enjoyable stay at the hotel. Got a great rate on an Executive room which was a good size, clean and had everything in it that you would expect from a 4* hotel. Had a refreshing swim in the pool which though not huge is more than adequate and as it was fairly late on in the day, we had to ourselves!! We didn't fancy a formal meal so headed to the pub which is on site. Nice, relaxing environment and very popular. Whilst service was good, it was clear they were busy. The food is what you'd expect in an average pub - good chips though!! Well it was Easter and we all deserve a treat!! Breakfast was incredibly busy, we arrived at 09.15, clearly the same time as the rest of hotel had decided on to!! Might I suggest to the hotel that you maybe extend the breakfast opening times, especially on a weekend! We were placed in what felt like an over flow room on our own. Private dining for breakfast ....... Now that is a first in the many hotels I've visited. The good side is that breakfast was good and my boiled eggs runny ...... Though wrong size toast so couldn't make soldiers!!! Is that me being too demanding!! Would I stay there again ..... Of course but only if I got another fantastic Hotel.com deal - the staff are very helpful and it's a good spot to base yourself if you're traveling north/South.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Hazelfrom Morpeth

Good service

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only down side was pool and spa over booked, not enough beds in the pool area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by jdrfrom s e england

Bit disappointed

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were disappointed that the hotel did not appear to know we were bringing dogs even though I had indicated this on my booking form, The overnight charge was significantly cheaper than I had already paid through Hotels.com which was very surprising. We were also disappointed to learn that there was no room for us to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. Our bed was not particularly comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peterfrom Ashton under Lyne

Top class

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Could not fault this hotel. Staff were top notch. Bathroom mirror steams up, no problem, there is a heated panel that stays clear. Fed up with hotels that force you to make your own toast. Not here, this hotel provided an excellent service. What I would describe as "proper" service. Free WiFi that was actually working AND free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jofrom Merseyside

Spectacular Hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Couldn't fault the hotel - beautiful! Only issue was that the local taxi's charge you over £10 a mile so be prepared if you need one!