Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sita

Inconvenient Location

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
There is very little information provided by the hotel staff and the website about how to reach the hotel from its nearest metro Kitai Gord, particularly when you arrive from another part of Russia with luggage. The walking distance between the hotel and Metro station is at least about 10 mins and the Red Sq another 10-15 mins hike. The information provided in the hotel website are inaccurate as far as convenience of the distance is concerned. The hotel room is bit tired the mattress of the double bed is sagging. Bathroom of my room was clean and the room had abundant natural light. The general info about the surroundings is bit hard to come from the hotel staff, they could be more friendly particularly to those who are not familiar with Cyrillic alphabets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jimmy b

Great location

Posted Jul 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Decent place. Great value and good location. Only 15 minute walk to red square. Shared bathrooms was a drawback. Moscow is a really cool place to visit. Hotel attendant poke good English. More like a high end hostel. I would recommend to anyone that doesn't mind a shared bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David

Better than expected

Posted Jun 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
After reading the reviews I was expecting a right old dive. But the rooms were clean (we had a private) and the location was a 10min walk to town. quiet streets so not too much noise at night. bathrooms need a refurb but the price is cheap. staff were friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gelungen

Posted Apr 23, 2012
Pros: deutsch sprechendes Personal
Location: ca. 10 bis 15 min. zu Fuß von der nähesten U-Bahnstation
Nettes Personal, sehr einfache aber ausreichende Ausstattung. Küche gut ausgestattet, Bad könnte sauberer sein - geht aber. Hausschuhe nicht vergessen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Basilica Hostel

Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
Naam op website (Sweet Moscow Hostel) klopt niet, moet zijn Basilica Hostel. Prima en schoon hostel, met gedeelde badkamer/WC's. Op loopafstand van het Rode Plein en Kremlin, nog dichterbij Kitay Gorod (het oude stadscentrum). Bij KG ook de metro. Blij verrast met het gratis WiFi. Ook mogelijk om voor geringe kosten een ontbijt op de kamer te laten bezorgen. Prijs/Kwaliteitverhouding erg gunstig, aanrader voor korte vakanties in Moskou
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands, UK.

Basic but good, great location!

Posted Aug 28, 2011
Basic, not for people who enjoy pampering. Very helpful friendly staff. Communal bathroom but not a problem at all, it was kept very clean always. Self catering in communal kitchen, which can get busy, living room with tele and PC. Cheap accomodation with a really great location, Red Square is a short walk away, Metro also not too far, supermarket 5 minute walk. Very helpful information/welcome pack in the room giving tips on travel, resturants, clubs etc. There were mainly young people staying so it had a great atmosphere but not a problem for older people either. We are a family of 4 with teenagers, so it was great for us. Artwork from local artists adorn the walls and sculpture on show in the outside. Gazebo was nice to just sit in and chill. I would definately recomend this but don't expect 5 star.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

logement

Posted Jun 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
Situé dans un endroit sinistre. Cet auberge est très ancien. Le service reste à désirer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Sweet Moscow Hostel is actually Basilicum Hostel

Posted May 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
The name Sweet Moscow Hostel is wrong! The actual name is Basilicum Hostel, the best way to come is to take metro to Kitai-gorod station and then follow Solyanka str, you may also take tram nr 39 from f ex Chistiye Prudy metro station. Quite comfortable room, clean and even fresh, while shower is quite dirty, seems to be unhygienic and feels very uncomfortable. Take some shower flippflops/shoes with you! Anyway, if you stay just for some days, it`s OK, because the hostel is so good located in the center, easy way to the Red Square. Receptionists are pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Sweden

Sweet Moscow, now known as Basilica

Posted Apr 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
Our taxi driver from the airport had problems finding the hostel and after driving around for 30 minutes we found out that the name of the hostel was actually Basilica Hostel and not Sweet Moscow hostel. A bit confusing. Our room was tidy, cheap and the receptionist spoke decent english (which for russia is excellent!). The shared toilets and showers were clean, fresh and the hostel felt safe. It took us about 10-15 minutes to walk to the red square and on our way we passed a few cosy bars and restaurants so the location seems OK. 4/5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Juan les Pins,France

basilica hotel = appartement communautaire

Posted Jan 25, 2011
Tout est a partager ....... salles de douches, toilettes, mais il y a un salon TV et une cuisine toute equipee ou on peut preparer le petit-dejeuner et les repas. Attention : l'entree est tellement discrete qu'il n'y a aucune indication : se reperer a l'eglise qui est tout a cote, et viser le digi code de la porte.