Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Old, comfortable but with friendly staff.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Reasonable value for the price.
Cons: All the facilities were closed.
Location: 20 mins walk to Red Square
OK for the price, but better alternatives available and closer to Red Square.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2014 by Svetlana Khardikova, Hotel Management
Dear guest! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We value and appreciate that you have chosen our hotel, and we look forward to the next opportunity to serve you. Best regards, Svetlana Khardikova
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Old style soviet hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location; room size
Cons: Coffee machine in the room
Nicely located; front desk staff was very pleasing, helpful and professional. Breakfast was just right; not a big selection. Very spacious rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by Svetlana Khardikova, Hotel Management
Dear guest! We thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Budapest hotel. We are delighted to read that you have appreciated our location, the service and the staff attention. We very much appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Svetlana Khardikova
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from London

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a nice hotel but the hotel staff seemed very precious about milk for tea!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Would definitely stay here again

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location, style albeit perhaps in a little need of updating, service and value.
Location: Close to Bolshoi, bars and restaurants and certainly walking distance to the Kremlin and other sites around Red Square.
Situated in a nice part of town, stone's throw from the Bolshoi, restaurants, bars etc. Hotel staff very helpful and exceptionally friendly particularly by Russian standards. We arrived a little early but they managed to get us into a room so we could get on with enjoying the sites of the city. The room itself was large; good double bed, dressing table, desk with chair and a further two chairs around a coffee table. Perhaps not the most modern of hotels, but certainly a sense of old fashioned quality with a sufficient breakfast too. Wifi available in the room too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Svetlana Khardikova, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us. We have worked very hard over the years in order to receive positive comments like yours. We very much appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Svetlana Khardikova
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hind from Iraq

Great!

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Exactly what we needed. A clean suite. Nice people. And the location was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic and affordable hotel close to attractions.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent and the ability of staff to speak very good English was a big positive.
Cons: The d├ęcor, but then that would obviously mean an increase in price so I would say keep it as it is but recognise that the price should drop over time.
Location: 5 minute walk to Kremlin, Red Square, Bolshoi Theatre and other theatres. Also close to pedestrian streets full of trendy cafes and upmarket shops.
My stay was very pleasant and the location of the hotel was perfect for seeing the main attractions. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and the breakfast in the morning was brilliant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well situated.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Soap/toiletries to be replaced everyday. Tea/milk in room to be supplied everyday.
Location: Excellent - Red Square, Kremlin other sites all easily walkable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Budapest. Location, staff and food all very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Yvette from London

Good location

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't believe how well situated it was. 10 minutes or less and you are in Red Square! Hotel itself was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was substantial and varied and the staff were very helpful and polite.
2 out of 5
by Dima from Boston

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: location only.
Cons: i don't think so...full renovation only!
Location: perfect location...
perfect location....nothing more....outdated rooms....not sure when was the lat time they have cleaned carpet in the rooms.breakfast is OK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matthew Battle from International

Almost great

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The property is in a fantastic location. The building is a historical jewel and a pleasure to experience. Staff are inexperienced and their insecurity makes them appear austere and defensive. He rooms are a solid three star international rating, with the exception of the air conditioning system which only works after May!! The street outside is noisy, thus open windows for coolness are not an option at night. Breakfast is sad with possibly the worst coffee in Eurasia. If the management strives to improve, the hotel could be a prime property.