Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tel Aviv

Great Location in a Great City

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: All
Cons: Not really... we enjoyed our stay.
Location: Located very near the Red Square and the Kremlin
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The hotel is very well located and has a nice restaurant for lunches and dinners. Breakfast Buffet is amazing... Very rich Buffet with big choice. We shall certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and those visiting Moscow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Classy old money hotel in moscow with a great location and stunning breakfast room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Japan and US

Perfect historic accomadations

Posted Jan 11, 2015
I have stayed here many times and the service and staff are consistently excellent. Everyone has a good command of English if you do not speak Russian. The concierge desk is fantastic with great ideas to make your stay interesting. The hotel is historic...do not let some reviews that mistake this for "old" steer you away. The rooms are filled with antique furnishings, high ornate ceilings and awesome views. In the halls are wonderful artwork as well as photos of the famous that have frequented the fine place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

heritage

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Metropol is an amazing place to experience heritage and admire architectural miracles of the era. Few hotels in the world can possibly be compared in offering this level of experience of old-school tourism and hospitality. The above blended with history and location, immediately place Metropol in these rare gems that a thoughtful traveler could be looking for. A careful update of some amenities, and perhaps some additional training for staff, could make this place even more perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Muenchen

Hotel direkt am Kreml.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Die alte Dame mit viel Geschichte und Renommee. Etwas in die Jahre gekommen aber nett und einmalig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Location+price+convenience+glamour = perfection

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The location, the convenience, the fascilities, the housekeeping
Cons: The hotel could benefit from a better breakfast options.
Location: The Red Square, the Kremlin, the Bolshoi Theater, the Manezhnaia and GUM shopping centers, subway stations, etc. etc. etc.
The hotel is worth every praise. Everything in the hotel description is true. The location is exceptional, the condition and the fin-de-siècle atmosphere are top-notch. Can't beat the view to the Bolshoi Theater from your room window! Beware of the lack of an affordable breakfast in the hotel (there is only an overpriced breakfast buffet). Luckily, there is a hotpot in the room and a choice of cafes nearby. All in all I think Metripol is a great hotel, it would work equally great for either romantic or a business trip. I'd love to stay there again on my next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wien

Wunderschönes zentral gelegenes Jugendstilhotel

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Alles, vor allem der Super Service!
Cons: nein
Location: Zwischen Bolschoi Theater und Kreml, Kaufhaus GUM, Metro ganz nah, Hopon-Hopoff-Bus ganz nah, alle Sehenswürdigkeiten im Kreml und rotem Platz nahe
Sehr zuvorkommendes und freundliches Personal verwöhnt den Gast auf Schritt und Tritt. Das Frühstück ist ein einziger Traum in einem wunderschönen Speisesaal mit Life Harfenmusik Begleitung, von Sekt und Kaviar, über viel frisches Obst, Lachs, Hering, bis zu vielen warmen Speisen wird alles angeboten, was man sich nur vorstellen kann. Im Zimmer ist alles vorhanden, Safe, Bademantel, Kaffee und Tee zu selber kochen, beim Aufdecken des Bettes für den Abend wird sogar ein Tuch vor das Bett auf den Teppich gelegt. Metro Station Theaterplatz gleich vor der Tür, daher auch angenehme Anreise mit Öffis zum Hotel. Das Hotel liegt total zentral zwischen Bolschoi Theater und Kreml. Absolut empfehelnswert!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

This is the place to stay!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The location, the service, the people, the atmosphere
Cons: more space for the gym and the pool
Location: the best location, Kremlin and GUM and Bolshoi theater and TSUM around- you cannot dream of more
Great room, very spacious and tasteful interior! The staff was very helpful and professional!Great service and food in the restaurant and room service! And of course you cannot beat the location, a perfect one! Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boro

The Hotel Metropol Moscow.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The decor, and feeling that the management and staff valued your custom, nothing was to much trouble, and the location was second to none.
Cons: Any improvement would spoil the general feel of the hotel, if you want ultra modern go elswhere, if you want a hotel with character stay here.
Location: The location can't be bettered for the full Moscow experience, we went in December and the winter wonderland feel was magical.
The hotel although a little dated still retains it's charm and allure with hints of the past oppulance and splendour of the old Russian Empire. The location could not be beat anywhere in Moscow, with the Bolshoi next door and Red Square (Kremlin, GUM Dept Store, History Museum etc) a short amble from the Hotels main door. The staff were helpful and courteous especially the concierge and free maps and directions were available, the breakfast was something else and diverse, from a good old English fry-up to Champagne and caviar and at £20 great value, the dining hall is something else for lovers of fine turn of the century noveau/deco tastes, with the fountain in the middle and the lady harpist entertaining you with classical and modern to assist your digestion. The pool in the basement was a little small and freeeezing, but welcome after scorching in the steam room for half an hour, and half an hour using the facilities before breakfast was a great start to the day, for people of a more healthy outlook, i'd suggest and recommend the smothies especially the redberry one. Our room which was middle tarrif was spacious and well planned out, the bed was huge and comfortable, and although it was baltic weather outside (-3 to -5) the room and hotel in general was warm and cosy. When venturing out the hotel has a limousine service which is great value, its a set price and we went to a music concert in the heart of town so hired the car/driver for £30 one way, a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Istanbul

Best location in Moscow!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Cons: Don't change anything. It is good!
Only 5 minutes from, Bolshoy Theatre , red square just the center of city. Good price good quality. Excelent for couples and families.