Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Rochester, Kent

Excellent value for money

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: Cost - very cheap but excellent value for money. The Staff - very friendly and helpful. Clean room and facilities.
Cons: The entrance and approach to the Loft itself. However, this is a minor issue.
Location: The Location was excellent. You could not be more central to all the tourist attractions such as Red Square, GUM and all the lovely parks.
When we arrived at the Petrovka Loft we were a little dubious but all our concerns were unfounded. The hotel was small but clean and had everything we needed. We were not intending spending much time in the hotel because we only had four days to explore Moscow and we want to take in the tourist attractions both day and night. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke reasonably good English. Our room was basic but had clean bedding and the bed was made for us daily. The toilets and showers were always clean and there was plenty of hot water. We never experienced any problem with the sharing of the facilities and never had to wait for a toilet or shower to become free. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends but I would say it is what it is - a cheap, clean, warm, safe place to sleep. It's location is the biggest selling point. It is so central to Red Square and all the main tourist attractions. We certainly intend to return to this hotel next time we stay in Moscow. It is not luxury but, if like us, you intend to make the most of beautiful Moscow, you will not be wanting to waste time in a hotel. We would like to say a big thank you to all the young staff at the hotel who made us welcome and were there to make our stay a comfortable and enjoyable one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rina from NYC

Great Location and Nice Staff

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Great Location and Nice Staff - very convenient and close to everything. Wish they freshened up, although the rooms are clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Tunbridge Wells, UK

Great location and price.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The location and price are by far and away the best things about this hotel. If your main priority is a place to sleep then this hotel is for you.
Cons: Soundproofing between the rooms?
Location: The location is great. Bolshoi Theatre is 5 mins walk away, as is the nearest Metro station. Red Square/Kremlin about 10/15 mins walk.
The best thing about this hotel is without doubt the location and the price. Plenty of previous reviews have referred to this. It is 5 minutes from the Bolshoi theatre and 10/15 minutes from Red Square/Kremlin etc. I don't agree with previous reviews that the hotel is hard to find. It is easily located, down a side road from Petrovka Street, which is one of the main streets in Moscow. The hotel is on the fourth floor of a building and there isn't a lift, so you have to heave your luggage up the stairs. Your first impressions of the hotel are likely to be "what the heck I have booked?" but don't let this put your off. The actual hotel is very clean, and the rooms have a TV, DVD, safety deposit box and minibar/fridge. There aren't any tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but you can order these from the reception. Obviously there are shared bathroom facilities in this hotel - that is made quite clear, but I never had to wait to use the toilets or showers, and these facilities were very clean. The walls in the rooms are paper thin, so you can hear everything that goes on in the rooms next door, so if you want a decent nights sleep I would recommend you take earplugs. The mattress was very thin, so the bed was a little uncomfortable. Also, I wasn't able to turn down the heater so it was a like a sauna. Great, if you like that heat, but I don't, so I had to open the window at night which meant having to get up in the middle of the night to close it when it got too cold!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Petrovka Loft

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: The staff were beyond helpful and incredibly friendly.
Cons: Less stairs... but then I suppose the clue is in the title!!
Location: Perfect location, everything was within walking distance.
Not quite what we were expecting as I wouldn't have booked it had I known about the shared bathrooms however, actually it wasn't too bad at all... I fact I would happily recommend it. The location is absolutely perfect, couldn't believe just how central we were. The hotel itself was very clean and the shared facilities always immaculate!
2 out of 5
by arline from LONDON

A STRANGE PLACE.

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: THE LOCATION.. IT WAS VERY CLOSE TO RED SQUARE AND THE KREMLIN. WE DID NOT HAVE TO TRAVEL THE ROOMS WERE CLEAN BUT VERY SMALL.
Cons: THE AGE OF THE BUILDING. IT WAS EXTREMELY OLD. ONE WOULD WONDER IF IT WOULD HOLD UP AND NOT COLLAPSE.
Location: THE LOCATION WAS EXCELLENT. CLOSE TO RED SQUARE AND THE KREMLIN. BOTH IN WALKING DISTANCE TO THE HOTEL
THE HOTEL WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO FIND. SINCE WE ARRIVED LATE, WE HAD TO ASK MANY PEOPLE WHERE THIS HOTEL WAS. NOBODY SEEMED TO KNOW. FINALLY, WENT TO A MARRIOTT HOTEL AND THE PERSON KNEW JUST WHERE IT WAS. THE BUILDING WAS EXTREMELY OLD AND DILAPIDATED AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN CONDEMNED. WALKED UP FOUR FLIGHTS AND IT WAS A PLEASANT SURPRISE TO SEE A CLEAN AND MODERN HOTEL
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Alex from Manchester, England

Needs a Stannah

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is ok once inside but a nightmare to find and looks rough from the outside. You have to get buzzed in by reception and then climb about 5 flights of stairs to reach the hotel. Rooms are spot on, only other downside is waiting for a shower in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Beth

Don't think of it as a hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not a hotel really, but a pension. Shared bathrooms. 4th floor walkup. But a great location and nice and friendly staff. Hard to find at first- you have to go down the alley...
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J from United Kingdom

Not recommended

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not only this hostel was more expensive than the others, the staff did not speak English or barely, the sheets were dirty and full of holes and there were strange odors coming from the toilet area. The ad says it was recently refurbished, it is true, but the job was done very poorly and there is water infiltration in every ceiling. The hostel is extremely difficult to find, there is a very small sign on a door or a back road. The neighborhood is very high end, therefore it is difficult to find anything cheap restaurant wise (except one called My-My). Great location subway-wise and for touristic attractions. A less touristic attraction, but that is worth it if you are in the area is Vysokopetrovsky monastery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sebastian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com