Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle area

Perfect for this Trip

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Price, pool/hot tub, room size and amendments.
Cons: Some repair work in the pool: ceiling, water fountain, hot tub breaker
Location: OPur interest was fishing and this is idea to fish the Potholes Reservoir and Moses Lake. Tri-State Outfitters also has an extensive suppoy of gear at
My friends (5) and I had planned a 5 day fishing trip to Moses Lake/Potholes Reservoir and having stayed at this hotel in the past I recommended it to them. The 6 of us rented 3 rooms for 2-4 nights and afterward they all reported complete satisfaction with the accommodations for the price. We all intend to return in the fall for the same purpose, and hopefully will have another 1 or 2 along for the experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend this hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: This hotel was located in Moses Lake, WA I would never stay there again and there's nothing to do in town.
Having booked 2 rooms we thought maybe it was just our room that was unacceptable, we were wrong. Advertised having free wifi in every room we discovered that was not true, wifi was unavailable in all rooms both days. After the first night we asked to move rooms since the tv did not work and the phones did not work in room 2... We also came back to our room to find housekeeping did not clean or replenish our towels and smelled as if someone sat in our room and smoked a cigarette. (These are all non-smoking rooms) After moving 10 doors down we discovered our "new" room had a tv that was even older than the first room and what a surprise...it did not work either! AND no wifi in either of the 2 new rooms! I checked the date on the back of the tv, it said 1989 what does that tell you? I would never stay here again and the hotel could use a major overhaul!!! Disappointed will not recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom graham wa

Great with traveling pets

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Nice clean area to walk dogs Great for anyone traveling with pets Restaurant close with good food
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Convenient location on a budget

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The convenient location plus indoor pool.
Cons: The pullout sofa mattress was quite thin - but then again what do you expect from a pullout sofa.
This hotel is conveniently located right off I-90. The facilities were a bit older but they were clean and well maintained. It had an indoor pool for the kids, a spa tub and sauna for the adults. Breakfast was included. There is a restaurant in the parking lot and a convenience store/gas station attached to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, We would like to thank you for choosing our Moses Lake Shilo Inn for your most recent accommodation needs. It is great news to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. We hope to see you again during your future travel to the area. Sincerely Araceli Tapia Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sammamish

Worked for one night

Posted Apr 9, 2015
The price was right and it works for one quick night. The rooms were clean and roomy but the pool tile was dirty looking, there were ceiling panels missing which just takes away from the experience. The carpets could use a good shampoo in my eyes. So good bones but sketchy on the edges. Convenient location right of the freeway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

breakfast

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Cons: Breakfast
The room was okay. I never went for breakfast but my husband did and he said it was a shame that they put stuff like that out to eat. He said he wasn't the only one that thought that. Several others that were there with him in the morning were grumbling about what kind of stuff is this for lack of a better word. Later he saw other people across the street at McDonalds getting breakfast there like he was. Our motto is; make it enjoyable and something to look forward to or forget it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest I would like to thank you for providing us with feedback on your most recent stay with us. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you may have been caused because of our breakfast. I thank you for choosing our Shilo Inn at Moses Lake for your accommodation needs and hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely Araceli Tapia Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

excellent comfort to price ratio.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
This a is much nicer hotel than others in this price range. It has a safe, secure, and comfortable feeling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, I would like to thank you for choosing our Shilo Inn at Moses Lake for your most recent accommodation needs. It is always great to hear feedback from our guests. It is wonderful to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. I hope to see you again when traveling by the Moses Lake area again. Sincerely Araceli Tapia Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Dirty room and wasn't serviced, had to use my own towel and TP. Pool was only bright spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you may have been caused during your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that your room was not to your expectations and that it was not serviced during your stay. We do service all our guestrooms unless you have placed a “Do not disturb” sign on your door. I will be sure to discuss this matter with my housekeeping staff immediately. I do hope you will give us another chance to accommodate you during your future travels to the Moses Lake area... Sincerely, Araceli Tapia Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albany, Or.

door could be a credit card

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: cheap rate
Cons: better breakfast doors fixed and toilet fixed told them at the desk about the brobles
Location: location was the reason we went to the hotel
door could be opened the the do not disturb sign and the Toilet made strange sounds when flushed it would wake the other person in the room up... there was only 2 wash cloths for 2 days in the room for 2 people . Breakfast was not up to standards
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear MaryAnna, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you may have been caused during your stay with us. I have already informed our maintenance about the situation with the door and the toilet so that he can fix these issues. Once again I am very sorry for the issues that you encountered during your stay with us. I hope you give us another chance to accommodate you during your future travels to the area. Sincerely, Araceli Tapia Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

decent place to stay 1-2 nights

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: staff! price!
Cons: room smell...new tv, new matresses.
not horrible, disappointed in the room, out of date, smelled slightly like old cat urine, bed was horrible and sunken in. other than that not too bad, staff was awesome! good price for big room but couldnt handle more than a night or two there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Shilo Inns, Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, Thank you for choosing our Moses Lake Shilo Inn for your most recent accommodation needs. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have been caused during your stay with us. We are gradually replacing the older TVs and mattresses. We do appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and we hope that you give us another chance to meet your accommodation needs when traveling in the area. Sincerely, Araceli Tapia Manager