Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Arnaud

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Christiane from san francisco

Not a good experience

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
The restaurant was terrible, bad food, expensive, smoky room. I don't recommend it. The hotel was clean, but was expecting french chateaux style inside, it was very Deutch, instead. It should be indicated in the advertisment on the internet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoofddorp

The food was great, again!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Wonderfull and calm location.
I stayed here again for the second time while in the area for some family matters. Dinner was great again, and the staff was wonderfull. It was chilly outside which had some effect on the time it for the shower to get to a comfortable temperature. This was the only comment I can make.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Chateau with fantastic food and staff

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Chateau in a very peaceful part of the world. The staff are exceptional and always willing to help out. The food is fantastique!
Cons: Not enough staff on at breakfast or dinner so service slow at times. Whoever makes the beds needs some training!
We booked late but were still able to secure a room of ample size for a family of 4. The welcome we received was incredibly friendly and a glass of champagne on arrival certainly helped relax us after a long journey. We ate dinnner in the restaurant 3 times and the food and wine were stunning. The breakfasts are perfect. The grounds are beautiful and exactly what you expect of a chic hotel in the Dordogne. If you are an intermediate golfer looking for a challenging 9 hole golf course, this place is perfect. We walked the course one day and it is simply stunning, with a good mixture of challenging par 3's and 4's. There is little to fault this hotel but our one criticism is the lack of staff at breakfast and sometimes at dinner, meaning the service can be patchy from time to time. We don't often recommend hotels but loved this place. It is the perfect place to escape to in a beautiful part of the world. They are hugely hospitable to couples and families alike. I'm amazed anyone finds any real negatives with this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Great Hotel. Food was fabulous. Very relaxing. The staff was very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Stunning hotel in historic location

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Service, location, ambience, grounds.
Location: The wonderful town of Bayeux - and Normandy. The historic and memorable sites from June 1944 and memorials. Ideal for the Caen ferry.
A great way to finish a holiday. Returning via Caen, a couple of days in Normandy visiting the beaches and memorials of D Day and finishing in the historic town of Bayeaux - which offers more than just the Tapestry! The Chateau is within a few minutes of the town centre but equally well positioned for a quick get away to Caen. Check in was swift, the room was perfect, a busy day meant that room service was the preference - great food and presentation, delivered quickly. The grounds are just enough for a great 15 minute evening stroll. The staff ensured we had a quick get away to the ferry early next morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hood from Brighton

Oasis of relaxation

Posted Apr 28, 2014
We had possibly the warmest welcome ever received at Chateau Les Merles, checking in from a seated position without raising a finger, just a glass. The impeccable service continued throughout our stay with the staff being extremely friendly, helpful, and relaxed at all times. Nothing was too much trouble and was always met by a smile – Rainer and Charlie in particular went above and beyond what was expected and helped make our holiday a memorable one. The hotel is beautiful. The decor is a joy to be around and manages to balance style and comfort effortlessly. We loved the grounds, the tennis and walks around the area. It was little cold unfortunately for a swim but we're already thinking about returning, as a family, to stay in one of the private villas next time, so perhaps we'll get a swim in yet. Finally, we only usually eat at a hotel out of necessity but returned many times to the hotel's restaurant. Their tasting menu was beautifully cooked and presented ...as was the, supposedly, basic menu du jour ...which came out looking more like a michelin plate! Superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels