Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wardfrom Australia

Nice place to stay

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Bed was comfy, bathroom basic but OK & good heating.
Cons: No chairs in the room. People who can't park properly causing only 2 cars to fit in 3 spots.
Location: Walking distance to town centre & restaurants. The Brown Pub serves up a great baked dinner & the Old Post Office is an excellent restaurant.
Close to other facililities in Methven, staff very friendly & helpful, which is what you want.
2 out of 5
by Maryfrom Canterbury, NZ

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Centrally situated. Good kitchen facilities Very comfortable bed. Spacious living and dining room
Cons: The unfriendly attitude of the [male] proprietor when asked to help us get the television to work. The lighting in the lodge is abysmal. No heater.
We received a warm welcome from the female proprietor. The lodge is spacious, comfortable and clean (except for the windows). The lighting, except in the bathroom, is abysmal. There needs to be a small electric heater available for use in the sitting room on a cool summer's evening. We did not want nor need the heat of the log-burner for an hour of television watching.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice to have a spa, good sized rooms

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Great reception and help from hosts, Methven is a great little place and the skiing was FABULOUS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrewfrom Australia

Comming back and can't wait

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Large and well furnished Apartment
Location: Amazing location, 2 mins from centre of town and a 20 min drive to one of the best mountians in New Zealand.
The Aprtment was in great condition, Fireplace already lit. Staff were very helpful, very well mannared. i will look forward to staying here again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Aurelienfrom Sydney

Good value for the slopes

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good stay in a very simple room with basic amenities. Shared lounge has a nice fireplace and morning breakfast is very limited and not included - we found that out on checkout when charged extra per brekkie per person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Helen

Abisko Lodge motel rooms leave a lot to be desired

Posted Jan 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Dark, drab and dated would describe the decor of the motel room allocated to us for 2 nights, and the "guest kitchen and laundry" were in another building which serves the camping ground and caravan park and were extremely basic, so not at all what we expected. Fortunately we were able to upgrade to an apartment which was very well appointed and very comfortable, hence the "very satisfied" rating on those questions. Methven in summer was disappointing - we were hoping for a "Thredbo Village" type of experience but Mt Hutt is 15km away down a gravel road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Recommended for short stay

Posted Aug 9, 2012
Very clean, tidy and well equipped room. Helpful and friendly owners. Great location. However, our room was too cold, especially the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Marian

Posted Apr 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
The operators were very accommodating regarding our late arrival, and left the key out for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Gisborne, NZ

Clean and comfortable

Posted Feb 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
Basic requirements. Tea/coffee making/ fridge. Owner very helpful with interesting insights to local information. Very helpful. would stay again.