Ratings based on 470 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Disappointed

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Location and the building was clean.
Cons: Get some bed spreads and don't tuck the sheets in so tight. Do a better breakfast and clean your dispensers.
The staff was pleasant and friendly. The bedding was skimpy. There was a thin blanket on top of a sheet, both tucked in so tight it was hard to pull them out to get in bed. No bedspreads and no extra blankets. We had to turn the heat up to stay warm, which made the room too warm to sleep well. For some reason, we only had one washcloth each day for three people. Breakfast was skimpy also. The juice dispenser wasn't working on Saturday morning. Two kinds of cereal in plastic bins, tasted stale. The coffee was awful, tasted like it was made the day before and warmed over or made by someone who didn't drink coffee. No lids to fit the coffee cups there. Staff told one customer that they were "sent the wrong lids"; she did offer him another size cup (smaller than the little ones there) that the lids would probably fit. The waffle batter dispenser was so slow it took literally several minutes to fill one cup. There was no fruit except for a bowl of apples that looked like red delicious but turned out to be mushy. On a bright note, there were frozen breakfast items available for purchase.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by Teresa, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Although I am very happy that our staff was very kind to you, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your guestroom. Anytime you stay with us, you can always ask the front desk to send up extra towels and blankets. If we have them available we can bring them up to you! Free SuperStart Breakfast is standard at all Super 8 Hotels so although we would like to add items to the buffet we cannot. That is why we have the additional items like breakfast sandwiches available for purchase. Thank you for your input about our coffee cups. While guests do love the larger cups, we do not have lids for those and only have lids for the smaller Styrofoam to go cups. Again, I am sorry that your Super 8 experience was not as super as you had hoped, but I am glad that overall you did find value in your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gillesfrom Québec, Canada

H&G

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Facile de se rendre à une station de train:environ 10 mi. pour la Station Woodcrest. Environ 20 mi.pour le centre de Philadelphie. Ville intéressante. A voir: Parc Fairmont Waterwork à l'arrière du Philadelphia Museum of Art. Visite à pieds et en autobus "hop On Hop Off". Hôtel juste correct, besoin de rénovations, service moyen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Teresa, Hotel Management
We are glad that we were a super location for your train ride into Philadelphia! It sounds like you enjoyed the city via that Hop On, Hop Off bus tour! I'm glad that our hotel and our guest service were average, but to be honest, it is always our goal to exceed expected standards of guest service!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Huge burnholes in blankets

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although I asked for a smoking room, i didnt think it would smell soooo bad in the room. The bed covers both top & flannel underneath had visible burn holes bigger than the size of a quarter. Just because I smoke doesnt mean my room shouldnt smell nice or that I should have to sleep with blankets with burnholes in them. Super 8 staff shouldnt have to be told to throw away damaged blankets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Teresa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. I do understand your concerns regarding our smoking rooms. Our housekeeping team tries very hard to ionize the 4th floor smoking rooms to rid them of any odor. With smoke, however, this is very hard. I am very sorry that your guestroom was not a fresh as you would have liked it to be due to the smoke. Also, thank you for your concern about the blankets in your guestroom. We are replacing these a few rooms at a time. Thank you again for sharing your comments about our smoking rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good stay for one night, front desk was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Teresa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your super review, we hope you come back to visit soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Very pleasant and courteous staff.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: It's location.
Cons: The mattress on the bed and the variety of TV Stations.
Location: I wanted to go to NY and I simply walked 5 mins to Grey Hound Station. I was very happy for that.
I liked the hotel. It was in walking distance to the places I needed to go and I believe the members of Staff were very professional, courteous and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ALIfrom Canada

Excellent at this price

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good: Very clean, very well kept rooms, friendly staff, good free breakfast, free wifi and free parking, Highly recommended Bad: be careful of its big frame beds, internet speed was not satisfactory
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Teresa, Hotel Management
Ali, Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay. While the internet was not up to par, I am glad that our super staff and free amenities could make your stay an overall super one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dfrom SoCal

Clean, accessible, and great value!!

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The reviews don't lie; this hotel is a tremendous bargain for the cleanliness, comfort, ease-of-access, and service that the staff provide! Cleanliness: exceptionally clean, organized and spacious. Plenty of on-site parking. No funky smells or nasty stains anywhere in our room; wear-and-tear here and there are to be expected but this was kept at a minimum. Comfort: nice, large king bed comes standard; what more can you ask for? Ease-of-access: proximal to highways and turnpikes to get you where you need to go. Gas stations and fast-food spots aren't as close as I'd expect them to be (i.e. immediately off the premises); you'd have to drive a short distance for those. Service was attentive and friendly; no cold-shoulders or passive aggressiveness from staff (not saying that I was pest or anything). I witnessed one staff member calmly assist a guest with his request about getting delivery from an off-site eatery. All-in-all, I highly recommend this hotel for its value, cleanliness, and friendliness. See for yourself; they even have various awards and and recognitions posted from reputable sources in their hotel. Like I said, the reviews don't lie!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Teresa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind comments. I am so glad that your stay was super. Convenience is key to great hotel stays, and when that is paired with great cleanliness and service you really can't go wrong. It is our pleasure to always deliver those three promises. And you're right! We are proud to have lived up to our great reputation in accordance with our guest reviews.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com