Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking. All the parking in front of hotel was for employees only as a result of some city ordinance...In the end, not far just a slight inconvienence
My wife and children were taking summer vacation and driving across America and therefore trying to budget the trip accordingly. I stay at Holiday Inn whenever I can and am usually not disappointed. That being said, this particular Hotel was fantastic all the way around! Great location, (two miles from Mt Rushmore and close to shops and restaurants) price and amenities! I would definitely stay here again! P.S. we ate lunch at Cruizzers and was not disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Mount Rushmore

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Bedding, price.
Location: Best things to see are the Badlands and Custer National Park.
We stayed here four nights, and used it as a base to see Mount Rushmore, Custer National Park, the Badlands. The room layout was good, plenty of space, but our room was dark and the decor was dark. I thought the bed was comfortable enough, but my companion complained about the mattress. We agreed that the sheets seemed worn and of low quality. The front desk staff was excellent--room ready on time, gave good driving directions and advice about routes, good meal recommendations. The breakfast was OK, and the breakfast staff worked hard to keep items replenished and tables cleaned. We did pay quite a bit more for our room than nearby hotels were advertising--not sure whether the quality was the same.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Cassie General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We are centrally located in the Black Hills for all your attractions. We apologize if your room was too dark, and it varies depending on which side of the hotel you are on. The street side does get more sun exposure. We have been going threw our linens with our laundry staff and will continue to do so and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our new breakfast bar staff really hustles when it gets busy, and are on top of everything. We do apologize if any part of your stay did not meet your expectations. We hope this won't deter you from visiting us again, and we appreciate all the feedback you and your family have provided.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel for visiting Mount Rushmore.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Close to downtown.
We were only in town own night and this hotel suited our needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The room had a bad smell which was somewhat masked by scent spray.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Cassie General Manager, Hotel Management
We do apologize about the odor in the room. We have targeted the problem and have taken every step necessary to eliminate the odor. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused for you and your family during your stay. We hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us in the future. Thank you for your review. It has been most helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great

Posted Jul 25, 2014
We enjoyed are stay an the staff was awesome very helpful thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Cassie General Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we were pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for the compliment about our awesome staff, and we look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim from Fort Collins, CO

it was ok

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room furniture was dated and the bathroom fixtures and paint needed an update. Carpet was dirty and stunk a bit. I did not expect this in $200/night place. On the positive note, the breakfast was good and the pool and hot tub were clean. The linen was nice and we got clean towels each day. We cannot complain about the staff; however, the place was old and had a musty smell. I would try to find something newer next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel and good location, close to the main street but far enough to be quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by traveler from WI

Mount Rushmore and Black Hills Trip

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Courteous staff. Great location. Breakfast was included.
Location: Mount Rushmore. Custer State Park. 1880's Train. We also ate at Barlee's (Bar/Restaurant next to hotel) and the burgers and chips were excellent.
Stayed 2 nights and was completely satisfied. Hotel staff was very courteous and hotel location was very close to Mount Rushmore.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2014 by Cassie General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to hear that our staff was courteous and our location was so conveinient for you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Raphael from Norfolk MA

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review for our hotel. We were very pleased to hear that you folks enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you as guests again in the future. Again thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Awesome

Posted May 4, 2014
The rooms were very clean. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. As we were there during off-season, the hotel was the only place open in Keystone. I might recommend staying at Hill City during off-season. Over-all.... 5/5
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2014 by Cassie General Manager, Hotel Management
We were so happy to hear that you folks enjoyed your stay with us. We strive for cleanliness and a freindly staff. We were pleased that you enjoyed our hot continental breakfast, and that the staff was helpful in pointing you in the right direction. Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and hopefully we will have you as our guests again in the future.