Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading and over priced

Posted Oct 7, 2013
The ad i read when I picked this hotel made it look like I would practically be at the foot of Mr. Rushmore. Truth is you could see Mt. Rushmore on a clear day if you had a telescope. I was also disappointed that they were advertizing rooms for $50.00 when we got there. We prepaid almost $90.00. Thanks expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by elizabeth from scotland

Retirement trip

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Easy access to mt Rushmore. The hot tub.
Cons: Golf buggy could be made available for a trip back up the hill - we were motorcycling and walked down to the main part of town - a big walk back up.
Location: Good location but most places started closing at 8.30-9pm so it was a rush to get food. Good music in the Red Garter.
The bedding is dated. The room is certainly smaller than what we were used to. The pool was a little cold but the hot tub was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Thunder Bay

Nice hotel, clean, rooms a little on small side.

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Location: It is very close to everything. Just a short drive to Mount Rushmore, and the town is right at the bottom of the hotel.
I found the rooms to be clean and the overall hotel to be clean and bright as well. Although the rooms ate a little on the small side. It was up on a hill which was good for the view but not so good if you wanted to walk down to the tourist areas. Fortunately we found parking down in the area more than adequate so it was really a non issue, unless you would really have rather walked.
2 out of 5
by Don from Denver

Needs update, old dirty carpet in room

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Close to attraction
Cons: room cleanliness, old, dirty carpet with cigarette holes in carpet.
Location: minutes from My Rushmore
Close to small town, but badly in need of updates to rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mt. Rushmore

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: I booked a room with 2 full sized beds. When I checked in I asked for a upgrade to a handicapped accessible room and one was available.
Cons: Room was very dated. It was a nice large room but looked very old.
Location: Great location
Room was very large and the handicapped bathroom was very nice. Since I was traveling with 2 handicapped individuals the bathroom made the stay for them much better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: It had a great view of the town.
Cons: lower prices, put coffee pots in room, provide a continental breakfast and a path down to the town....maybe steps, a better parking lot.
The only great thing about this hotel is the appearance from the outside. The parking area on the side where we stayed was horrible, there was not a coffee pot in the room, no continental breakfast, the room had a musty smell, no walkway down to the town. Overall, very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Imagine a small mountain lodge.

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Hotel is within a 5 minute walking distance to all of Keystone's tourist shops and restaurants. The drive to Mt Rushmore is quick and scenic.
Cons: Encourage staff to smile more and take a moment to interact with guests.
Our family of four planned an overnight near Mt Rushmore at the end of a 10 day vacation. We realized it was Bike Week in Sturgis, so finding a room in the area was a challenge. We booked the last room available at this 'resort' in desperation and then read the reviews. I was expecting the worst and prepared my family for what we might encounter. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Though the front desk staff were efficient, they were not friendly. The hallways were narrow and rooms on 1st and 2nd floor tiny. But everything was clean and well maintained. It reminded me of staying in a 'Mom and Pop' hotel/lodge in Colorado ski country. Just the basics and adequate for one night. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Overall, a good value for the $$, nothing fancy. My recommendation: skip the suitcase and use an overnight bag in the room. Get a room on the 3rd floor. The extra cost is worth the doubled space and excellent views.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with a view

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: The walls were quite soundproof.
Location: Keystone had many fun activities...1880's train, alpine slide, people watching the many bikers for the rally.
The President's View Hotel was pleasant, not fancy or pretentious, but adequate for our needs. The rooms were a nice size. Hotel staff was pleasant, and the rooms were always cleaned when we returned at the end of the day. The hotel was situated midway between many activities so it was a good base camp.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very out dated decor.

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Needs some updating. The fake flowers, the borders on the walls. etc. The 80's are over.
2 out of 5
by Christian

Bad Place.

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Cons: Claen The rooms
It StArted At The Front DESK. Guy Was Surfing His Phone For Other Dudes Photos. Room StUnk Like Greasy Food And There Was Food On The Floor.Nasty Trap!