Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Nice, clean, comfortable hotel. Great staff. Perfect location to Rushmore and an easy walk to resturants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laramie, WY

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location, good breakfast, pleasant hotel staff
Cons: Add some outlets or USB charging ports to nightstands in rooms
Location: Downtown with restaurants and tourist-geared shopping within walking distance. The 1880 Train is a must-do, and also nearby.
We spent 2 nights here on a trip to the Mount Rushmore area, and would definitely stay here again! Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and had pleasant decor. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, and the kids especially loved the waffle makers. This is one of the few places we've been where they've had 2 waffle makers, so there wasn't a long line for waffles in the mornings! The hotel staff we encountered were all very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in walking distance of the downtown area in Hill City, so it's easy to get to restaurants and shops. It appears to be a quieter area than Keystone, too, which was a plus for our family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver co

Good central location to attractions

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Very high $ for two star hotel. Very good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Great location to area attractions.
Cons: This motel does not have an elevator which made it somewhat difficult to haul our bags up the steps. It sure would be nice to have a lift.
Location: Its located on the Main street through Hill City. Several restaurants and tourist attraction are very close, within walking distance for most people.
We had a very nice stay here. The motel is very conveniently located close to the downtown area. The room was very clean. The beds were a little firm. I really liked that the windows slide open to let in fresh air! The breakfast room was clean and well-kept!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Basic comfort

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The hotel was clean and easy to access. The front desk staff was nice. However, the beds were very uncomfortable, the hot tub jets didn't work and it was one of the worst hot breakfasts we've had. We don't expect a lot from your standard complimentary hot breakfast but this was really bad. The eggs were an odd texture, the biscuits were tough and the gravy was flavorless. The waffles were tough and gummy, though they looked nice, and the coffee was like flavored water. They clearly spared every expense possible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traveling in South Dakota

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Cons: Different pillows.
Location: The Alpine Valley Inn has a great filet mignon meal that is inexpensive...just get there early.
The hotel was clean, decent beds, pillows were odd, little square pillows not what you would expect at a hotel. Hot Breakfast was good and a nice pool\hot tub. Good places to eat within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to all the sights.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: The close proximity to everything we wanted to see, the motel itself, and the staff.
Cons: Better pillows. More seating for the continental breakfast which was very good. An elevator.
The hotel and staff were fantastic. Wish they had an elevator. The only complaint is that the pillows on the bed were too too soft. It was close to Mt. Rushmore, the Crazy Horse monument, and both Custer State Park and Cave of the Winds National Park. We would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Front desk very helpful. Great directions so we could a place to eat. The breakfast buffet was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jesenia from denver, co

Great, can't wait to come back!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Great, can't wait to come back! My family and I had a great time. We have recommended this place to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jessica from New York

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great breakfast. Clean. Friendly staff. Would stay again.