Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEBRASKA

very good.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: EASY TO GET TO DOWN TOWN,AND PLACES TO EAT.
Cons: THE PARKING LOT.
Location: THE TRAIN WAS GREAT.
HAD A GOOD TIME,MANY,GOOD PLACES TO EAT.,AND SHOPS.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

over-priced for what you get

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: not much other than pillows were super comfy.
Cons: Lots!! breakfast especially & coffee; and updating of rooms especially in basement. Firmer beds, newer TV's and so on.
Location: location is good if you want to be right on Main st in Hill City. was fairly quiet after 10.
Initially we were given a basement suite which looked very old, was kinda musky and small. window screen had been tampered with by someone from outside it looked like. we asked to be moved and had to wait one day then was moved to second floor which was somewhat better but still way below expectations for the cost of the room. Breakfast was CRAPPY! coffee was super weak and terrible!! Muffins and all breads etc were not fresh. I did not eat there and went for a paid breakfast at a nearby restaurant which was so much better! would not stay there again! I have stayed at other Super 8 's and was satisfied but those were in Canada and were way better ( probably much newer as well). Beds were too soft and my husband had a sore back the next day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pool was cold and dirty. Files where flying around the breakfast food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dover, OH

Price Is Right

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Located in Hill City right in the Black Hills
Cons: Update lobby and all carpet.
Location: Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Jewel & Wind Cave Natl Parks. Hotel in the town of Hill City.
Hotel needs updated with new lobby and carpet. Ice machine was broken but hotel did provide a cooler full of ice for guests. Continental breakfast was not edible; coffee was OK.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

bad way to start a vacation

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: close to town everything with in walking distance
Cons: have updated think
Location: close to everything
checking in our room is on the second floor. my husband and I have to carry all our bags up the stairs because the elevator does not go to our side if the floor. the air unit would freeze up and did not blow cold air. the front case of the unit fell off, and no refrigerator, no microwave, the drain in the sink would not drain water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel with best price, accepts pets

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: We needed a pet friendly hotel. This one was fine, good location, clean, no problems. Front desk was helpful with any questions. Parking was tight.
Cons: Normal things for motels in this price range: more comfortable beds (ours was okay), hair shampoo, more towels.
Location: Located in downtown Hill City, close to restaurants. Crazy horse monument, Custer state park & Rushmore.
We expected a no-frills motel experience, and received same. It was fine.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Thought I was getting a non smoking room and at check in was told I was getting a smoking room and couldn't move me.....really who has smoking rooms anymore. Room smelled like ashtray.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Fine last minute hotel. Halls are stinky, but room was pleasant. Very nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice super 8

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pet friendly but not a lot of space to walk your dog. Nice pool!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay on road trip

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Locations, nice manager.
Cons: Open for late arrivals or indicate on their web page or expedia they won't be open for late arrivals. Did neither but we're not open at 9:45pm.
Location: Alpine inn, Custer state park, wind cave national park, Mount Rushmore.
Came to check in at 9:45pm and no one was present and the front door was locked. We looked inside and the gate was drawn around the front desk and all lights were off. Called the number from our reservation for thirty minutes no one responded. Then we used the phone by the door indicating it would get us to someone at the front desk and no one was there. Called super 8 customer service and they said their was nothing they could do. Finally went down the road to another hotel. Following morning went back and manager apologized, didn't charge us and gave us a comp coupon for a few nights. He was very nice but situation was frustrating as we booked the room months in advance.