Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

bad way to start a vacation

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: close to town everything with in walking distance
Cons: have updated think
Location: close to everything
checking in our room is on the second floor. my husband and I have to carry all our bags up the stairs because the elevator does not go to our side if the floor. the air unit would freeze up and did not blow cold air. the front case of the unit fell off, and no refrigerator, no microwave, the drain in the sink would not drain water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel with best price, accepts pets

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: We needed a pet friendly hotel. This one was fine, good location, clean, no problems. Front desk was helpful with any questions. Parking was tight.
Cons: Normal things for motels in this price range: more comfortable beds (ours was okay), hair shampoo, more towels.
Location: Located in downtown Hill City, close to restaurants. Crazy horse monument, Custer state park & Rushmore.
We expected a no-frills motel experience, and received same. It was fine.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Thought I was getting a non smoking room and at check in was told I was getting a smoking room and couldn't move me.....really who has smoking rooms anymore. Room smelled like ashtray.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Fine last minute hotel. Halls are stinky, but room was pleasant. Very nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice super 8

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pet friendly but not a lot of space to walk your dog. Nice pool!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay on road trip

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Locations, nice manager.
Cons: Open for late arrivals or indicate on their web page or expedia they won't be open for late arrivals. Did neither but we're not open at 9:45pm.
Location: Alpine inn, Custer state park, wind cave national park, Mount Rushmore.
Came to check in at 9:45pm and no one was present and the front door was locked. We looked inside and the gate was drawn around the front desk and all lights were off. Called the number from our reservation for thirty minutes no one responded. Then we used the phone by the door indicating it would get us to someone at the front desk and no one was there. Called super 8 customer service and they said their was nothing they could do. Finally went down the road to another hotel. Following morning went back and manager apologized, didn't charge us and gave us a comp coupon for a few nights. He was very nice but situation was frustrating as we booked the room months in advance.
3 out of 5
by MaeTravels from Minneapolis

Last minute trip to Black Hills

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: Location, price, pleasant accommodating staff.
Cons: This is an inexpensive place to stay but do the beds have to be that hard to be inexpensive?
Location: Centrally located to Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse, Spearfish, Deadwood, caves, all the scenic drives and tons more.
This is a decent place to stay and the staff was very accommodating to us and wanting to make things work for us so we would stay. And we did stay. But the beds we tried were so unbelievably hard that we ended our stay a day early because we couldn't stand it one more night. So if you like incredibly hard beds you're gonna love it.
2 out of 5
by Ann from Texas

Mattress like a rock!

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: You could walk to everything in town.
Cons: How about a bedspread that has been washed in the last year??
Location: Lots of cute stores in town; townspeople very friendly. Don't eat at the Mexican place across from the Super 8; they charged $7 for a single burrito.
The mattress was like a rock; several outlets did not work; the breakfast room was filthy and poorly stocked. Disgusting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CDN from Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Not bad

Posted Aug 3, 2013
No staff at night time, no coffee available in the kitchen before 06H30 morning, quite noisy we could hear every steps from the floor above our room
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barb from Saskatchewan, Canada

Basic no frills stay

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Really basic breakfast
Location: Very central to black hills
I found the hotel was some what run down. It could use a Reno. However the stay was o k Air conditioner very noisy. Breakfast was very disappointing. Very basic compared to other super 8's I've stayed at.