Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from isle of man

dreadful and not as described

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
a very poor hotel with limited access 10 yds from automatic railway crossing.we were eventually put in a better room next door but only as a mistake by the owners non English speakimg father.frspite the better room we only had one towel each and only cold water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by Giuseppe, Hotel Management
Dear Sir. If you did not stay in Villa Franca I do not think you are able to write a review.....I remember that the late chek in, after mid-night it is not possible.... we save for you a room in the closer hotel even if your booking was cancelled for the late chek in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pool, great location and great food

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Great food, location, pool, kind and helpful staff
Cons: Needs renovations.
Location: Close to the train station in Pompéi and close to the ruins.
The hotel is a bit old and needs renovation but it is really well located (5 minutes from the ruins of Pompéi). The train station is also close. The pool is really appeciated after the ruins. The food is just awesome at this place and really afordable. Dominic is a great chef. Don't go there for the room but go there for the food, the staff and the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Donna from Canadian

Convenient location; culinary delight

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Villa Franca is a small, family establishment that offers clean, safe accommodations. We easily walked, with luggage, to the Villa from the Pompeii-Scavi train station. Some guests were concerned about noise from the tracks but the trains do not run at night. After a long day climbing Mt Vesuvius and investigating the Pompeii ruins, it was a pleasure to soak in the courtyard pool. The owner is charming, multi-lingual and an excellent cook! A multi-course dinner cost a mere 15 Euros and included a delicious assortment of vegetables, meat and fruit – healthy ingredients not always present in our other experiences of Italian cuisine! Be sure to ask for a wine list to determine choice and prices. All in all, we highly recommend Villa Franca.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andrew D from UK

Wonderful family run hotel, great location for us.

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked 5 nights at the Villa Franca for our holiday visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum. We chose it because of its location and low price with good reviews, and we were totally satisfied. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the Pompeii Scavi train station and the entrance to the ruins, so it was ideally located. The hotel is small and family run; we were made very welcome when we arrived from Naples airport at 11.00 in the morning, and were well looked after throughout our stay. We chose to eat with the family and enjoyed wonderful food every evening, with the opportunity to talk to other guests in a very friendly environment. The room, which had an en-suite bathroom, was comfortable and clean, and looked out on to the outside swimming pool area. Overall it was terrific value - and we are looking forward to going back to the Villa Franca next year!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JIG from West Midlands

Ideal location

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Villa Franca is at an ideal location to visit Pompeii, Vesuvius and Herculaneum. You can catch the bus to Vesuvius at the local railway station which is 10 minutes' walk from the hotel. Pompeii ruins are very close to the hotel too. The local Circumvesuvian railway takes you the relatively short journey to Herculaneum. The hotel is far from being luxurious. It is clean but simple, furnished with a mishmash of furniture; Our shower room was narrow and required an upgrade; The supply of hot water for a shower was intermittent; However, the hosts were very helpful and friendly. On our arrival, we had help to make the most of our time there which meant we could use our time efficiently. Breakfast was the same each day. It comprised of croissants, orange juice, tea/coffee and small home made pizzas. Although tasty, it would have been nice to have had some variety.What made our stay most pleasant was the evening meal. Each evening, we were offered generous portions of home cooked food which was delicious. This was offered at a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marc from Netherlands

great hospitality and meals

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by M.Davies from South East

Lovely family run business. great location.

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We felt very welcome at Villa Franca. The family running it are really lovely. They provide a substantial and very reasonably priced evening meal. Between them they speak english french and spanish. Accommodation is clean. Its very laid back and run so well.You feel part of a big family there!! We would not hesitate to stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan from Norfolk

Great place to stay to see Pompei

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We took a local bus from Naples airport to Pompei and then it was a short walk - 15 minutes to the hotel. We didn't spot it at first, its on a narrow plot between the museum and the railway line. It was behind a big ornate gate and inside it was really clean and friendly. Shower was hot although I found it difficult to get out of. We had everything we needed in our room, a pool view, mosquito screens and shutters and a double bed with bunk beds as well. We were near to the station for trips to Herculaneum and Sorrento, and to the Pompei site and transport for Vesuvius, so for a 3 night sightseeing stop it was great. The pool was clean. The evening meal was 1 choice, several very Italian courses, all very interesting and a good price of 12e.You could buy beer, wine, water. Breakfast included yoghurt, coffee and pastries, all meals served by the pool. We usually stay in big hotels, but would recommend this one, small and friendly. Guiseppe speaks good English and his dad speaks good French, and they were very helpful. We returned to the airport via the train thinking of a few hours in Naples, but we found Naples too busy for us, so legged it to the airport on the aribus and had a good meal there in the mozarella bar. We found it all very easy to manage and everyone very friendly, and the sites were amazing. April was good because it was very warm but not too hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family run hotel !

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Great family run hotel, very central walking distance to town and the Pompei ruins. Home cooked meals in the evening at a reasonable price. Really enjoyed our stay, hope to be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alida from Huntington Beach CA

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owners of this quaint property go above and beyond to make your stay a pleasurable one. Home cooked dinner that was fantastic and they were exceptionally kind to my 11 year old son. If you are planning a visit to Pompeii and plan to spend the night, staying at this hotel IS A MUST! We will absolutely stay there again.