Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent buffet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mary from USA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Deena from Ny

Unpleasant experience

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel does not have wifi or tv. The woman at the front desk said there was no wifi for three months and management said it would be fixed that day. The rooms smelt very musty and mildewy. When we asked the staff to help us they were unfriendly and unhelpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Legadima from Detroit, Michigan

Casa do Sol

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: The quiet secluded location and landscaping.
Cons: Number one is internet access. Should have wireless internet in all the rooms.
Location: We visited the Kruger National Park and God's Window. Also visited the Elephant Sanctuary next door to the hotel
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were well-kept. Food in the restaurant was very good. Overall the 2 rooms we stayed in were comfortable except for the following: 1. no internet access in the rooms. We were told that we could get wireless internet access at the desk, but it was out of service when we were there 2. not enough electrical outlets in the rooms to recharge all the electronic gadgets that today's traveller brings along 3. cold tiled floors to chill your feet in the winter Overall I would still recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Dover, Kent, UK

a Splendid place to relax

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: The architecture made you think you were in a mediterranean village
Cons: A few mosquitoes about in the evening; there is malaria about, so you need long clothing and lots of repellant
Location: A very wild setting; large trees, lawns and dense jungly bush. We saw a huge snake in the road on the way out. There are also monkeys there
The hotel was well signposted; however the approach road was not in good condition due to the recent rains. The hotel is about a kilometre from the tar road; our four wheel drive vehicle coped admirably, but I would think small family cars would have had a bit of trouble. The hotel itself was a revelation - larger than I expected, and all in a Spanish colonial style. The setting was superb; acres of "jungle" all around, and with an elephant sanctuary right on the doorstep. We were made very welcome, and the rooms were well equipped and comfortable. Dining at the hotel was not a la carte; if you are a vegetarian, you could be in trouble! Highlights of our short stay were: watching a troupe of monkeys playing on the lawn near our room, and interacting with the elephants next door. We were there too short a time to take full advantage of the facilities - would have liked to go hiking in the grounds, and get a bit of pool time. Altogether a beautiful spot, with friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Feb 11, 2013
Really lovely place. The room was HUGE! It was bigger then some apartments I've lived in... I would have happily stayed there for a few days but we were only passing thru for a night on our way into Kruger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

very nice

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
If you have staid in this hotel in the past be surprised. Very nice fun place. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Prague

close to the Kruger park

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC area

Nice place

Posted Jan 30, 2012
Pros: Great room and shower, grounds and structures beautiful and clean. Lots of birds.
Cons: Some issues with room service. Tried to sell us excursions and not much help on issues.
Beautiful hotel and grounds. Very peaceful. Off the beaten path.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
Luxury! The hotel is beautiful with winding paths, gardens, and fountains. Trails for walking and running. Two pools and a spa on property. I needed 2 rooms -travelling with family. All the rooms were clean and had patios. The suite had a sitting area with small refrig and 2 patios. Fixed price dining- not great for a light meal. No internet. Security was wonderful. Location is great- near Kruger and next to an elephant park. They washed the car while it was parked overnight.