Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by dietmar from germany

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice and clean, near the gate to the Kruger Park
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Woody from Myrtle Beach, SC USA

Big Game Hunt

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous facility. Incredible location.
Cons: Have room ready at check in time, especially when walk-ins were given the same room set up immediately.
Location: Booked a game drive thru hotel. All as promised, unfortunately game was scarce that day.
We spent New Years 2014 here. Nice accommodations. Wait staff on deck outside main restaurant wasn't as good as we have grown accustomed to in South Africa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although we stayed for only 1 night, we would have liked to have stayed longer. Our room was large and very comfortable. Included was an amazing buffet dinner and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elaine from Hampshire, UK

Friendly hotel very close to Kruger National Park

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff, the clean and comfortable rooms and the outdoor seating and viewing areas and bar overlooking the river and KNP.
Cons: The quality of the food served in the evenings.
Location: Less than 5 minutes drive to Kruger National Park. Drakensberg Mountains, Mholoholo Wildlife Centre, Jane Goodall Chimp Institute make good days out.
We've stayed at the hotel several times during the last 7 years because it's within 5 minutes drive of Paul Kruger Gate (entrance to Kruger National Park) and therefore ideal if, like us, you love self driving in KNP and entering it when it opens at dawn, as that's the best time for viewing animals. The hotel is large and suited to couples, families and as a conference venue. The rooms are fairly spacious, very clean and have comfy beds and good sized bathrooms. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and if you're going to miss breakfast because of an early start to the day they will make up a substantial brunch box fresh and ready for collection from 5.30 am. Breakfast in the hotel is fairly good too, with plenty of choices, but unfortunately evening meals are a let down. There's plenty of buffet style hot and cold food and lots of choice, so you won't go hungry. But the quality of the food is somewhat disappointing and some supposedly hot dishes are cold because they haven't been kept hot adequately. Meat and veg. are quite well prepared and cooked. The cold buffet style starters and desserts are hit and miss. Some are OK and some awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Gloucester UK

Nice and close to the Park Gatr

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: The hotel is well sited at the entrance to the park and is ideal if you want a nice comfortable stay
Cons: Wifi is restricted to the Bar and lobby. Would be excellent if it was available in the rooms
Location: Kruger National park
A nice and clean and friendly hotel close to the Kruger park gates. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay, using it as a base for trips into the park. The hotel is well sited at the entrance to the park and is ideal if you don't want to pay the high prices of the game lodges in Sabi Sands etc and want a bit more luxury than than the SANs park rest camps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dennis L from Malaysia

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for visiting Kruger

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: Location & environment
Cons: Reception
Location: Excellent
Excellent location for visiting Kruger. Food was good but reception & restaurant staff not as efficient as one would wish
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Highly recommend this hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2013
The food was abundant and delicious, so many choices. The location was beautiful. I highly recommend talking a walk on the grounds. We saw beautiful zebras at night from the deck. The hotel is just outside of the gate to the park so we could get into the park early in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location

Posted May 15, 2013
Pros: Lapa - dinner under the stars!
Cons: Viewing deck to far from the game fence.
Location: Superb
This is a wonderfully located hotel, close to the entrance of the park. Modern, comfortable rooms. The hotel is a fraction of the price of a Game Lodge, and yet you still feel like you get a great African experience. Staff are helpful and friendly. The evenings in the Lapa for dinner are a wonderful experience under the stars, with a great selection of food (buffet), and very tasty too. The hotel itself is beautiful - wooden decking area, furniture, reception lobby area, bar and lounge decoration has been carefully thought out. I'm a seasoned travel who likes my luxury, and this hotel definitely ticks all the boxes. The only negative thing I would say, is I was a little dissapointed that the viewing deck was so far from the game fence. This said - we were still lucky to see an elephant and a hippo come up to the fence during the stay. I hope you like monkeys as they are bound to be jumping from tree to tree above you over the decking area! There were also signs to beware of a leopard as one had been seen in the hotel grounds!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris from Sydney

At the doorstep of the Kruger Park

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We chose the Kruger gate hotel because we wanted to be as close as possible to the Kruger park and we were not disappointed. The hotel was beautiful, the service was good and the game drives were wonderful. I really recommend this hotel to anyone.