Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel ist direkt neben Churchgate Station

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Zimmer war sauber
Cons: Freundlichkeit, Personal, Service
Location: Churchgate, Sehenswürdigkeiten
Liegt in Colaba und Sehenswürdigkeiten sind zu Fuß ereichbar (Gateway of India, Taj Mahal Hotel, Marine Drive). Zimmer sind sauber, Essen in Ordnung. Personal sehr komisch und machte teilweise einen unmotivierten Eindruck. Wünsche beim Frühstück wurden erfüllt, nachdem man einen wiederwilligen Blick des Personals begegnet ist. Beim Check In fand ich mich verloren und habe mich nicht als Gast gefühlt. Insgesamt ok, würde evtl nach einem anderen Hotel das nächste mal suchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by shobsfrom London, UK

Great value, clean, comfy & feels luxurious!

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Brilliant location in the heart of Colaba, but on a street that's not hectic or noisy. Lovely comfy beds and a great power shower. Rooms are nice and clean. Staff are helpful and always on hand - not necessarily the smiliest but definitely willing to help and efficient. Some work was going on around the hotel but it generally felt pretty lux. Also a good breakfast! I think it's a great value hotel and would definitely recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

a five star service from a 3 star hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Great Location Very helpful staff Comfortable Room
Location: Great location. Churchgate Station, Flora Fountain., Law Courts, Clock Tower, Mumbai Oval, Shopping Street are and easy 5-10 minutes walk
This was my first visit to India. I had two free days in Mumbai after a business trip in the north of the state. I looked for a hotel with a good location and reasonable reviews.I eventually settled for the Astoria. I arrived at around 10.00pm and was informed that my room had been upgraded. A great start. The room was a very spacious and comfortable suite with all the usual amenities including a very comfortable bed and great pillows. The wi-fi connection is reliable and good.The location is excellent and there are several "must see" heritage sights within minutes walking distance from the hotel.Even the Gateway to India is a comfortable 15-20 minute walk. The hotel staff are very quick to respond if anything is wrong. I thought that I had a problem with the TV and air conditioning. On both occasions a member of staff came immediately. On both occasions I had simply not used the correct switch!! I ate in the hotel restaurant on two of my three evenings. I tried the buffet which was reasonably priced and although the choice was more limited than in higher grade hotels, the food was very good. I also tried the Goan fish curry off the a la carte menu which was excellent. Staff in the restaurant are efficient,courteous and friendly. I cannot speak too highly of the reception staff. They were very professional and helpful throughout my stay. On my last day they ordered me a taxi for the airport. I left the hotel at 7.00am to get my flight at 9.45am. When I arrived at the airport,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mohit Batrafrom New Delhi

Great location and hotel staff is cooperative

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Next business trip I'll come again and stay...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley, CA

Perfectly fine boutique hotel in Mumbai

Posted Dec 2, 2011
Location: Churchgate, where this hotel is, is a good starting point. Mumbai has never been a favorite city of mine, but there are good things to see. Nearby, off the Gatweay to India, near the Taj Hotel, are caves with ancient paintings. that can be reached in small boats. Near there is the Prince of Wales museum with a fine collection of miniature paintings, and a pleasant cafe, where many artistic types hang out. Mumbai stands out for its large Parsi community. Interesting people who have managed to preserve their own customs, but have taken a tremendous interest in the best of western culture as well - e.g. Zubin Mehta. Check newspapers for cultural events. Try to get out and meet real Indians, the heart of the country.I do recommend Lonely Planet as a starting point. Learn patience, because you will need it. But just chill and watch people when you get held up in things.
This hotel is in an old building, restored with some vestige of former decrepitude evident. Charming. Really! Updated decor is in good taste, and the lobby is very contemporary and comfortable. Food is reasonably priced and good. Includes great buffet breakfast. Try chicken fried rice or veggie noodles when you need a break from spice. Free Yfi in the lobby. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location with access to major points of interest. I am an old India-hand, and staying in this slightly upscale place was a new thing for me but I was with a group from Europe. I liked it, and it held up, way above the following experience in a 5-star place in Delhi that was obscene in the add-ons and absurd pseudo-luxuries. I look for human scale in a hotel, and i found it here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Solid Stay in good location

Posted Nov 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
Pros: Clean well kept rooms, helpful staff and a very central location. The hotel is a very short under 5 minute walk from Churchgate station. Security guys arranged a good car to airport. Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of Indian food and some Western choices. Laptop in lobby for guest use also very useful. Very good value for money in Mumbai. Cons: No Channel 10 Cricket on the cable, strange for a hotel in India.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Nov 15, 2011
Stayed at Astoria hotel for 4 nights, overall experience good. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Safe for women travellers. The quality of food is below average, I would suggest eating out. Close to Churchgate train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey, USA

Astoria Hotel in Mumbai - convenient, location

Posted Nov 12, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel appears newly renovated, but room was not finished - missing trim, unpainted bathroom door and lack of attention to detail. Found living roach crawling around room. Courteous staff. Limited selection breakfasts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom India

Astoria Mumbai

Posted May 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is a great hotel in many ways. Good location and well maintained but the thing that lets it down is the staff. They are not bad but they just dont have the polish that the rest of the hotel does have. They would be more comfortable in a one star up a side lane.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom München, Deutschland

Das Astoria liegt im Zentrum Mumbai's - ca. 1,5 km zum Gate of India

Posted Jan 31, 2011
Das Astoria liegt im Zentrum Mumbai's ca. 1,5 km zum Gate of India Personal ist sehr zuvorkommend und hilfsbereit. Pickup Service vom und zum Airport wurde organisiert (Hotel hat eigentlich keinen Tourist service). Zimmer und Bad war sauber. Badausstattung hätte bei dem Preis besser sein können.