Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very small room

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Bad experience. Very small room, no space for moving.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by JP from San Francisco

Worst hotel I have ever stayed at!

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed in over 100 hotels of varying star ratings to qualify that I'm not over exaggerating. This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. They lied to the people checking in before me and then lie to me about room availability. They gave me a room with no bathroom and big holes in the walls. I asked for another room and they told me there would be one available in a few hours. I went back several times and kept pushing me off for longer and longer until it was very late at night. The sheets had hair and other matter on them. Hotels.com couldn't get a hold of the front desk even though I was right next to them hearing the phone ring. I luckily got my money back and transferred to Apollo Hotel which was fantastic down the street. As I was leaving they were pulling the same line with other guests checking in. Total scam!
1 out of 5
by DoesntLikeTouts from Finland

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Fine location, slightly down Colaba
Cons: The staff
The hotel is at a fine location, the quality is so/so, but otherwise reasonable. I would recommend but the staff makes it extremely difficult to have some peace of mind. Particularly after having to deal with the amount of scammers, beggars and noise outside, an amount of peace is an absolute minimum for a mid/range to budget style hotel. Upon entrance, we're given a tour through the tiny (but decent) room - offered assistance with unpacking (refused), but gave a rather large tip despite. He pouts, which turns out to be the beginning of a horrible relationship. Breakfasts are complimentary, but there's no area, so they are offered as roomservice. It is, however, tiny, takes about half an hour, and stone cold. First morning, I overtip, and he pouts, but goes away. Second morning, I overtip less, but give the value of about half the breakfast - which, would otherwise have been free - and he bluntly tells me "not enough". I disagree and nervously explain the breakfast should be free anyway. That evening, he suggests I will give an extortionate amount in the morning. Why? No, I check out tomorrow, I tell him - and indeed don't even consider asking for the free breakfast the next morning. After checking out, he insists on standing with us in the one person lift, tells me that he will never forget me, such wonderful generous people, with a certain buttery delivery. But then, after I refuse tipping, he follows us down the street! I say goodbye and suggest to perhaps clean the room sometimes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by pradeep from pachora

good staff

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by good from mumbai

comfortable

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
very good , first of all in the reception they provided common bath room, we are informed them we have booked attach bath and toilet, after 1 hour they agreed to provided for attach bath room .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rabi

Good for value

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value for money
1 out of 5
by Sheila from West Yorkshire, UK

Hotel from Hell

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: it was near an internet cafe
Cons: It was in an alleyway and hard to find
Location: It was near some cheap cafes, but not the tourist sights of Colaba
I arrived at 3.30 a.m., to be told, despite my booking, that the hotel was full. There was no apology, and I have learned since that they do this regularly. They counted this as my first night's stay, despite the fact that it was nearly 6 a.m. when I got a bed, and they had presumably been paid by whoever occupied my room that night. Eventually they showed me to a toilet, but I wasn't offered so much as a glass of water. They then woke me at 10.30 a.m. to return my passport. I wouldn't send my worst enemy to this hotel. I had been travelling for two days, and had got up at 5.15 a.m. on 8th January. As I am 69 years old, it takes me a little while longer to recover from such ordeals, and I prefer to avoid them. The hotel seems to be inhabited by an odd selection of people, and I did not feel very safe there.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by moodley

Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Terrible hotel definetly not a place for tourist to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hanna

Fine backpacker hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was a OK Backpacker hotel close enough to must-see sights. Small, but clean rooms with very helpful staff!
1 out of 5
by Elle from Australia

Beyond dissapointing

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: The sugar in the tea
Cons: Everything. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in, not just in India.
Location: Ok, but opposite the poor fisherman places.
I thought Everest would be a good mid range hotel, I was very dissapointed. Firstly they offer airport pickup - they said sorry they couldn't, took 5 phone calls, no call backs and me hanging up for them to say ok, they could pick me up/actually provide the service they offer. The hotel was very unclean and outdated. Upon arrival they gave me a small uncomfortable room that didnt even have a attatched bathroom - I think a few of their rooms are like this. Had to argue again to get room changed the next day. The staff were occassionally friendly, but not very helpful and half did not speak much english. The only convienient thing was being in Colaba, "near" the Indian Gate. Also a friend told me, after I complanined about the hotel that it was the kind of place where people with go "for a few hours of fun with someone" This made a lot of sense. I was so dissapointed with my stay at Everest, considering I paid the same price for some beautiful hotels I expected much, much more.