Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cjcp from Calgary

Charming, convenient and clean.

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, location and staff were all great.
Cons: Open the rooftop as a place to have a beer (or a cigarette-the hotel was non-smoking so the only place was outside chatting to the security guard).
We chose the hotel based on reviews that emphasized its cleanliness, and were not disappointed. It was spotless and the rooms were cleaned daily. The staff were great and did not have their hands out for tips all the time. The concierge, Matthew, was excellent in everything from booking tours for us, to recommending places to eat. The breakfast was wonderful, and the restaurant (which many locals used) had excellent suppers and lunches as well. And you couldn't beat the location - just 2 short blocks from the Gateway to India. Previous reviewers complained about the noise of the nightclub, but it is no longer there, so the room was quiet. The room was charming, although not large (room sizes vary - friends had a larger one).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hargovind Bhavnani from Powai

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Location
3 out of 5
Recommended
by infinity@anotherworld from Mumbai

Great Location, Good Service, Poor Beds

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gordon House, we checked in for leisure, Fantastic Location has some finest of the bars that are stones throw away. Right at the beginning of Colaba Causeway the hotel has the location that steals the minus of it being pricey for a 3 Star Deluxe (6400 inclusive - rate of a 5 star if you do an advance purchase) Great Service, Good Food yes we liked all this about this place. What we didn't like is we had requested for a Mediterranean Room with a king Size Bed but we were offered the country style room with single beds that were attached together to make it look like a King Size Bed which makes your Bed experience a little too uncomfortable. No Gym within the Hotel for someone who is fitness conscious can turn you off. Anyway we were there for just a night so yes it wasn't a bad stay but yes the management can look into offering the basic preference like a king size Bed if it is an advance purchase.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Hunty14 from Newcastle, UK

Any good points ruined by owners. Awful.

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We cut short our stay, in fact I booked an alternative before even going to bed on the first night. The whole building was shaking until 0300 because of the nightclub on the first floor. Other guests complained and checked out early as well. I was told that despite many complaints, the owners would not alter the hours or volume of the club. I saw for myself that on a Friday night it was EMPTY except for staff. I complained directly but was refused a copy of my complaint- a management policy. I am awaiting a full refund from hotels dot com. Rooms are clean and nicely themed, staff on duty are polite and helpful but are powerless about the nightlub situation and could only be apologetic. Genuine plus points completely ruined by an awful experience arising from ignorant management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathleen from London, UK

Great little hotel in excellent location

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: The fantastic location. Unless you actually stay at the Taj, which is obviously vastly more expensive, it couldn't be better.
Cons: Night club noise on weekends if you stay on a lower floor.
Location: Gateway of India, Colaba and Marine Drive are all on your doorstep!
We spent 2 nights in this hotel. Excellently located 1 minute from the Gateway of India and approx 45 minute taxi ride from the airport. The room was clean and well equipped including wi-fi. The buffet style breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The only possible downside was the nightclub Polly Esters, located in he hotel basement. This could prove noisy in some rooms but we were well away from it on the 4th floor.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by peter from elmhurst il,usa

noise place

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stay there over sat night,downstairs disco play music till 2 am,and you can hearing this so loud on second floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D. Monson from California

nice butique hotel in great location

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
spent 4 nights, great location in the heart of Colaba, best area for tourist in Mumbai, helpful staff, clean room, AC. Only issue-occasional loud music coming from the downstairs restaurant. Pick-up from the airport despite 1AM arrival- no problems... Would recommend and would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Y.Warden from Chicago, IL USA

Great Location

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Convenient Location, comfortable space, but the cleanliness standards it seems almost anywhere in India can use improvement. There is definitely a late night dance club downstairs that me disturb some guests, but I wasn't phased. Intended to stay up late anyway. Service seemed good, though while I was in my room a staff member came by for seemingly no reason (saying he wanted to check the mini bar but I had been there all of 20 minutes), and since i saw the review about possible theft at this hotel it did make me feel somewhat suspicious . I was actually grateful that I was too tired that day from all my extensive traveling to actually leave the hotel. I wondered if I dodged a bullet, but it's hard to actually say if theft is an actual trend at this location or not. Otherwise, service was good. They arranged a car for me the next day. Communication was lacking from the concierge desk, to the door, to the driver (he wanted to charge me double the quoted rate - always make sure to get clear on rates, directly with the person you're paying, right off the bat - in India especially), but eventually we figured it out. Food at All Stir Fry was only OK in my opinion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Delhi

Good value for money hotel!

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Gordon house has an excellent location in the heart of south Mumbai's shopping & commercial district! Overall a good value for money option in South Mumbai!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Overall- Not bad

Posted Jun 7, 2013
The bathroom is quite small but the amenities are superb.