Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

A massive let down

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: see comments
Cons: see comments
Location: see comments
Stayed at the Marriott for one night and I must say this is, by a long mile, the worst hotel experience I’ve had to date. The check-in staff could hardly make an effort to be nice. They make you feel as if they are doing you a favour by letting you stay there. In general I found the staff very condescending and extremely unfriendly. The hotel itself is situated in a rather dodgy and, to say the least, very grotty area. The hotel amenities are poor - towels are threadbare, toiletries are cheap and basic, wifi isn’t free, no minibar (at least there was nothing in the fridge. Why have a minibar if it’s not stocked?). The room was noisy. I could hear everyone in the adjacent rooms, the toilets being flushed, wardrobes being closed etc. In the morning I was woken up by a constant thud as other guests moved around their rooms. Avoid this hotel at all costs but if you choose to stay there, I’m sure you’d enjoy the proximity to the central train station, shops etc. But there are dozens of hotels in the centre (albeit cheaper) and I’m sure many of them offer a better overall experience than the Marriott. To sum my experience up in one word: nightmare!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Helpful

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The helpful staff and the location
Cons: no nothing
Location: close to the main station and all the sites
The staff couldn't have done more for us while we stayed there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan Aus Melb from Melbourne AUS

Australia to Germany for only two nights.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Excellent bed and bathroom. Clean and well presented. Friendly staff.
Cons: Maybe more staff on front desk
Location: Easy walk to Marienplatz for business.
Stayed for two nights only on business. All the way from AUS so a good hotel was necessary. This one fit the bill perfectly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near train station

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: close to train station
About a 5 minute walk, close enough to the Munich train station we were able to walk with our baggage. The desk help was mostly helpful except for one who gave us terribly inaccurate help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Khalifa from Bahrain

Close to the cerntral train station

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: covenient location
Cons: room size is small especially for family
Location: near to train station and maria platz
location is good close to the train station and to the attractions at the Marina Platz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from London

Very comfortable hotel

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Good location. Good room size.
Cons: More fruit at breakfast. Internet available in the room and not just on the ground floor.
Location: Good location for old town , shopping and train station.
Very good hotel a short walk from the main shopping street and old town. Also, a short walk from the railway station which was good as we arrived and departed by train. Very much up to the expected Marriott standard. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice although lacking in fruit variety. A small fitness facility was adequate for a short stay. We had a room at the back which was quiet but I guess that rooms at the front would be overlooking a busy road.
1 out of 5
by paul from uk

When is a 3 person room not a 3 person room.

Posted May 2, 2014
Booked on the internet a 3 person room for my wife and I and our daughter. Pictures showed 3 beds. Billed and charged as a 3 person room. What we got was a smallish room with a double bed and an armchair. A bed could be added, well wedged in actually for an extra 15 euro per night. A surcharge on arrival. Bit of a cheap trick in my opinion. Where do they expect the 3rd person is going to sleep without a bed -in a drawer?? It was a bit to late on arrival to go elsewhere. Not an issue to spoil our day but my verdict: Cheap trick, cheap hotel. (Although actually it wasn't in £'s particularly cheap). Incidentally I had booked several other hotels in Austria and Germany on this tour and nowhere else was it an issue with 3 persons rooms. I hope cheesy Marriott aren't setting a new trend.........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victor from Monterrey, Mexico

Very nice stay

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Very comfortable Hotel and excellent ubication, easy access to the train station and parking facility
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel short cab ride to city center

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Wonderful staff
Cons: Breakfast buffet was limited in its selection
Location: Close to fest grounds and a short taxi ride from Marianplatz, Hofbrauhaus and other sites.
Great location just a few minutes away via taxi from much of the historical sites in Munich.
2 out of 5
by Thomas from Scotland

Over Priced, Over Priced, Over Priced

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The fitness room was pretty good, if you are interested in figuring out a routine then you can get a half descent work out.
Cons: Location.., VFM, Sauna, and any number of other listed issues with the hotel. The fact that you have too use your room key for access to everything.
Location: The location is pretty low brow due to the surroundings, however a ten minute walk and you can be right in the heart of the over priced dirty concrete
The hotel is in a pretty seedy area, with low end budget shops, strip bars, sex shops and generally filthy conditions conveniently placed right on your door step. The hotel room was average, the bathrooms are dated but clean. The room was extremely expensive for the standard it attains. They even try to sell basic TV choices, typically only channels available in English were 24hr news.. There is no WiFi in your room unless you pay a daily tarrif, the free WiFi in the lobby is pathetic. At over £200 per night (a busy week in Munich) I don't think having breakfast included isn't too much to ask??? In general or an international hotel chain completely underwhelmed..