Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Central, convenient, good rooms, great breakfast

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms, Expedia fare, breakfast
Cons: In room safe would have been nice...
Location: Central, very close to S-Bahn station.
We stayed one night with our kids. We got an exceptional rate through Expedia and got two rooms with a connecting door, practically for the price of one room. Breakfast was 12.5 Euros per adult, which might not be that cheap, but kids were free so we got a family breakfast, which was excellent and rich, for 25 Euros. Great deal for a family of five. The hotel is 5 minutes away from an S-Bahn station, which means you can easily get almost anywhere is Town, including taking the S8 directly to the airport. Overall - great stay (too short, unfortunately)...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Staff training for customer service, for the woman with very short bleached blond hair.
Location: We only stayed at the hotel for 12 hours, we were on our way home. There were no amenities open when we were there, hotel food was available.
The location of the hotel was good, driving area close to main roads and the Underground was right there. There was one hotel staff behind the counter who does not have good customer service, however there were 2 other hotel employees who made up for her lack of caring for customers. There is no free wifi in the the hotel, or lobby. The business centre only has 2 computers and one of them was not programmed correctly to print to the attached printer. None of the hotel staff knew how to fix this problem, the only back-up was to send the required printing documents to the main counter. When a big business conference is happening, this certainly does not live up to Canada's expectations. Otherwise the facilities were clean and the restaurant staff was very helpful. If we were traveling with our kids, we would have had to walk further distances for simple food options. Hotel food was not really meant for kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Franka Henke, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, dear Russ, thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay in our hotel. The feedback of our guests is very valuable as it gives us the opportunity to discover our weak points and to improve them. I will forward your comments about the computer - printer connection in our business corner and am sure this can be fixed shortly. Thank you for the hint! I am sorry that you experienced such discrepancies at our reception service. I have informed our Front Office Manager to ensure that she will recheck and give an appropriate training if necessary. We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your time in Munich and we hope that you will be back soon! It would be our pleasure to accommodate you in the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre again! Greetings from Munich, Franka Henke Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grobister from Whitley Bay

NIce hotel in a good location.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Breakfast was a bit pricey but there are plenty of places nearby to eat. The 5:30am wake-up call wasn't appreciated when I didn't order one - worse still, someone might have missed something important because they didn't get theirs. Other than that, we have no complaints. It's a really nice place in a beatiful city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Franka Henke, Hotel Management
Dear Grobister, we thank you for your valuable feedback. My apologies for the failed wake-up call. There must have been a mix-up in the room numbers. I will forward your comment to our reception and hope such mistakes can be avoided in the future. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre and would be pleased to welcome you soon again! Greetings from Munich, Franka Henke Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A student from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Short stay after leaving another incredibly hot hotel. Nice location, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Belinda from Bicester, UK

Well located and comfortable.

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Bar, pool, location.
Cons: More toiletries and face cloths.
Location: Deutsches Museum and everything in the centre within a 10 minute walk.
We had 3 nights at the hotel and were generally pleased. You can get directly to the hotel from the S Bahn and this should be made clearer on the website. Very handy when it's raining! Comfortable room, but would have liked some toiletries and face cloths in the room. Lovely to have the pool and very comfy loungers. Great atmosphere in the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2014 by Franka Henke, Hotel Management
Dear Belinda, thanks for sharing your experience in the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! You're feedback is very welcome, we take your comments very serious and hope that you allow us to welcome you soon again in Munich! Best regards, Franka Henke Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James K from UK

Location, location, location

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay in Munich!! Walk straight to the tube station without exiting to the main street, simply walk through the shopping mall. Great to get to centre of town and the Messe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from UK

Conveniently located hotel.

Posted May 3, 2014
Location: Marienplatz (take free City walking tour), Olympiapark, English Gardens, take the train to Prien & Aschau. Coach to Neuschwanstein & Linderhof castles
Booked a four night stay at this hotel. Transfer from the airport was simple using either the S1 or S8 train, took about 35 minutes, and the station was virtually below the hotel at Rosenheimer Platz (if using the S1 exit platform to the right, with the S8 exit to the left - there are signs to the Holiday Inn). Reception staff very pleasant and welcoming, room was bright, modern, clean and comfortable, and there was a small fridge. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice to suit everyone. Hotel has a swimming pool, but we can't comment as we didn't have time to use it. There was a supermarket right next door in the indoor shopping area which we used to stock up on snacks and water (the snacks provided in the room were very expensive).Getting around Munich was easy using the U and S Bahn system, and it was about a 15 minute walk to Marienplatz where it all happens!
1 out of 5
by Jase from Gloucester, England

No way to treat customers

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: The facilities are good.
Cons: Treatment of guests and speed at reception.
Having stayed at this hotel on many business trips, the few downsides (expensive internet and breakfast, always busy reception) were in my opinion outweighed by the hotel location and condition. However, after using the internet one day I returned to my room the next day to find my room key did not work. So on returning all the way to reception and waiting in another queue I found out they had deliberately cancelled my key so I would go to reception and pay for my internet use, even though I wasn't checking out for another 24 hours. In my opinion this is no way to treat return business customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Franka Henke, Hotel Management
Dear Jase, we thank you for your valuable feedback! I am sorry to hear that you left our hotel dissappointed. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced concerning your key card. This is indeed not the normal procedure and I can only assume that this was a misunderstanding. Unfortunately the key card can be deactivated when it is stored near to a mobile phone or any electrical device. Then it is necessary that our reception team activates it again. Me and the whole team of the Holiday Inn Munich - City Center would be grateful if you gave us a second chance. It would be our honour if you visit us again! Best regards, Franka Henke Guest Relations