Ratings based on 524 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge, England

Poor service in the restaurant.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: It is centrally located and very convenient for Marienplatz and all forms of public transport. The problem with my washbasin was fixed promptly.
Cons: The level of staffing in the dining room. The bedding (pillows).
Location: We went mainly to see the Christmas Market and the hotel is very well placed for this (10 minute walk). Also convenient for the larger shops.
On the first night, we opted for dinner in the dining room. We both chose the table d'hote and it took the Staff almost 2 hours to serve us. There were not even any serviettes on our table and we had booked the table on arrival, some 2 hours before. They clearly did not have enough Staff on duty and it put us off having a meal there another evening. However, the food was well cooked and nicely presented. Also, the pillows in my room were the worst I have encountered in any hotel in Europe or the USA. As a result, I slept badly every night. As I had flown to Munich, I was unable to take my own pillow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LONDON

Convenient hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
The hotel was situated close to the railway station and a short walk from the City Centre. Whilst the restaurant did not offer a wide choice of meals those that were offered were well presented and of excellent quality at a reasonable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

The only good thing is the location.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Location, close all major attractions.
Cons: Clean the bathroom, remove mold, fill it up the soap bottles.
Location: Near the rail station (5 min. walk), 15 walk minutes walk to Marienplatz.
Very noisy rooms - they have shutters but it is difficult to have a sleep because of the constant traffic on the street. The bathroom is simply horrible - mold on the walls which nobody even tries to remove. I have never seen so much of mold anywhere in the world. For 2 days, the liquid soap bottle was not refilled. During the check out, the clerk tried to charge us for 33 euro for the breakfast which we never had. It was very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Québec

Munich stay / business

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Convenient location near main train station. 20 minute walk to old quarter.
Cons: Some street side noise should be expected.
Decent experience. 4 night business stay during the Electronica convention, 35 minute direct U-line connection. S-bahn to and from airport very convenient also. No need for taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
This Hotel has a good location. I recommend to everyone because it is clean, quiet and close to city center. You can get everywhere easy, by walk, by car, by U-, or S-bahn. Try it! You will not be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Cons: Carpet was older.
Location: Train Station, Marienplatz, museums, tours
Close to the trains, subway, and other public transportation. Clean and basic rooms were decent but not elaborate. The staff was friendly and helpful. Good central location to most activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, Illinois

Review of Hotel Cristal

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Cons: Customer service
Location: The location is good.
Overall, the location of the hotel and two of the younger female employees were very good and helpful. The disappointing part of my stay, which will now be the first thing that comes to mind when I think of this hotel, came on the second to the last day of my stay. On this morning, around 9:45 AM, I was the only person standing in the lobby and since no one was there, I waited patiently. At around 10:00, an employee finally came up to the desk and I informed him that I extended my stay by one day and asked if everything was ok. The employee checked the computer and no reservation located. I showed the employee the receipt that I did indeed pay, but as the time to check out came closer, a line of people formed and I was asked to step aside. I waited for over 30 minutes as the line of customers grew to checkout. Since when is it ok to ask a paying customer to step aside while other paying customers receive service after me? In the end, I was told there was a reservation for me, but there was a mix up with the name, without an apology or anything. I would never stay here again, nor do I recommend this hotel based on the way I was treated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Toller Kurzurlaub mit meinem Sohn!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Top Lage, sehr zentral ! Freundliches Personal!
Location: Direkt am Bahnhof!
Unser vier tägiger Aufenthalt im "Hotel Cristal München" waren top.Die Lage genial. Das Hotel war sauber und hatte einen sehr netten, freundlichen Empfang. Die Zimmer waren sehr nett eingerichtet. Wir erkundeten die Stadt und buchten unter anderem auch bei der BMW-Welt die "Prämien-Tour "- war wirklich klasse und sehr interessant, kann ich nur empfehlen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Die 4 Sterne erfüllt das Hotel nicht

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Mit dem Positiven angefangen: Mein Zimmer war sehr geräumig und es war alles da, was ich brauchte. Zur Sauberkeit: In meinem Zimmer wurde nicht gründlich gesaugt. Der Teppich in den Aufzügen ist auch im Laufe des Tages sehr schnell verdreckt gewesen und sah schmuddelig aus. Die Qualität der Speisen war befriedigend, der Service wenig professionell, ich würde sagen eher "bemüht". Ich leitete ein Seminar im obersten Stockwerk - auch hier wurde über Nacht nicht wirklich sauber gemacht .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hull, England

Central Hotel, right in the mix

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Location & staff
Cons: We had out of date milk in our room. Lifts are a bit small. 4 people max.
Location: 10 min walk to the main shopping area (Marineplatz). 5 min walk to the central station. Plenty of restaurants nearby.
Great location. Staff were helpful. Room was a decent size. Overall a nice place.