Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Spiker from Manchester UK

Excellent

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Handy location for the city centre/old town area. Staff very helpful. Rooms were very clean as was the whole hotel. Mini bar very handy. Beds excellent.Would certainly visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marnie

Great Location / Hotel Mildly Pleasing

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: Hotel is well located and in a quiet area.
Cons: The only window looked out on a wall and the furniture was not particularly comfortable.
Location: Great location for walking to and/or accessing public transportation to all the major sites in Munich.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lys

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lee Wilson from Texas USA

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was selected for its location. Hereafter, it will be selected for its ...well, everything albeit I never tried its dining room! My room was spacious, well appointed, and meticulously clean. The staff couldn't be nicer, especially Julia and Klara at Reception. Do yourself a favor; stay at the Excelsior the next time you're in Muenchen! I certainly will!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great location in Munich

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We spent one night here after we arrived in Germany, and the location was very great. It was close to an area with lots of restaurants and shops, and across the street from the train station. The bar was very small, but quite full due to Oktoberfest. The staff was very welcoming and service was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We traveled to Munich during Oktoberfest so most of the centrally located hotels were severely overpriced. We found the Hotel Excelsior to be one of the better ones within the cheaper range. Conveniently located within 15 min walk to Marionplatz and just minutes a way from the main train station, we found the hotel to be very nice and clean. Our room although a bit small was recently refurbished and proved to be very comfortable. Staff was also very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AA from ldn

Great location but noisy

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Very conventionally located. Rooms are small but comfortable. Very noisy from street and internal doors being open/closed. Hotel staff generally politely . Girls on reception desk are not efficient. Amazing hotel bar
Comment from
Jan 19, 2014
Dear AA, Thank you for staying with us. With pleasure we read your positive review about our location, rooms and bar. We apologize that you have been disturbed by noise during your stay. Due to our central location noise from outside is sometimes not avoidable. We hope very much to welcome you back to our hotel and would like to recommend for your next stay our more quite rooms on a higher floor facing the inner court of our property. With best regards form Munich. Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Comment from
Jan 19, 2014
Dear Etienne, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us. Thank you for your kind words on our staff. Happily and with great pleasure I have passed your compliments on to them. We can ensure you that spotless cleanliness is our highest priority. Therefore please accept our apology if we could not convey this impression to you. Due to our central location directly in the city centre, noise from outside is sometimes not avoidable. However we feel very sorry that you have been disturbed during your stay. We recommend our more quite rooms facing the pedestrian precinct or the inner court of our property . You have stayed with us during the most requested period of the year, the Oktoberfest. Due to the high demand our rates at that time are higher than for other dates. We would be pleased to get a chance to convince entirely of our hotel during your next stay. Warmest regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the Hotel Excelsior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Oktoberfest in Munich

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Excelsior. The staff spoke excellent English and were a great help with anything we needed. The only downside to our stay was that the price of the room was much higher than it typically would be. I suppose that is typical of all of the properties in that are during Oktoberfest.