Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to subway

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Decent position, wasnt overpriced. For what i paid for i guess it was up to par. The wi-fi only worked in our room when we were next to the door which was quite annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from London, UK

Great room in a great city!

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: The reception staff and the rooms that were modernized.
Cons: The rooms that weren't modernized and the small elevator.
Location: The location was excellent with a train station and taxi rank less than 2 minutes away!
I was on a stag do, with 11 other friends, and I booked my room at a much later time than they had. I think this had a bearing on the type of room I got! When I checked into my room it was very modern looking and spacious so I was very pleased indeed. However my friends rooms weren't as modern looking as mine was but I guess that was due to the fact that any on going revamps of the hotel and rooms were still in progress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Very Suitable and a Bargain

Posted Sep 22, 2010
The Herzog worked very well for us. The Hotel is definately charming. The location is very convienient to the U-bahn, though somehow I always managed to get lost in Munich... The breakfast... you can do better for 9 Euro, and I only ate it once, but it is convienient. There is no air conditioning. This was no real issue for me staying in mid-september, but I would worry about staying in June or July. Overall, great experience, and I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Less than impressed

Posted Oct 23, 2008
Before the trip, I thought the previous guests' reviews were harsh; now I think they were too kind. What a dump -- this hotel is in need of serious renovation (our closet was once a shower and still has the showerhead to prove it!). To be fair, the staff bent over backward to accommodate needs and the breakfast buffet was bountiful. I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Amherstburg, Ontario

Oktoberfest!

Posted Oct 16, 2008
This hotel was OK, but it proximity to oktoberfest made up for its sub par rooms. Lets face it if you are in munich for oktoberfest you are to drunk to care what your room is like anyway right! If I was in munich anyother time of the year I would not stay here again but for oktoberfest its great for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Friendliness and helpfulness of staff makes up for any lack of amenities.

Posted Sep 10, 2008
Overall this hotel had many positive things: walking distance to Marienplatz, great breakfast buffet, a staff that went out of their way to help by making phone calls when the room phone did not work and comfortable beds. Bathroom was very small and difficult to manage with two people trying to get ready. Tissues would be nice. But a good value overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Torino

Non male ma un pò caro

Posted Sep 9, 2008 on Hotels.com
Hotel molto carino nelle parti comuni e anche la stanza in cui abbiamo soggiornato, con balcone sul cortile interno piuttosto silenzioso, peccato per il bagno micro e da ristrutturare. Ottima la colazione a buffet con ogni giorno dei piatti diversi, ottimo e cordialissimo il personale. Purtroppo in zona i parcheggi sono solo a pagamento e se decidete di usufruire del garage preparatevi a spendere 13 euro per notte.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Midhurst

A no frills hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2008
A good value basic hotel,in a good location. Breakfast more than adequate. Bedrooms facing the road are noisy - but after the first night, and a few beers, you get used to it. My only gripe, is that as an 'economy' hotel, they provide 'economy' liquid soap in the bathrooms. But on reflection, would rather save on the cost of a room and travel with my own luxury soap.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roma

Consigliato solo a chi vuole risparmiare

Posted Aug 17, 2008 on Hotels.com
Servizi hotel non all'altezza delle aspettative, ma ricco buffet colazione e buona posizione a 100 mt dalla metro e a 600 mt dalla zona centrale, parcheggio privato a prezzi doppi (13 euro/giorno) rispetto al parcheggio su strada (consigliato: 6 euro/giorno).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston

Will stay there again.

Posted Jul 10, 2008
Clean, neat, comfortable rooms, helpful staff, great location near the u-bahn and Hauptbahnhof or walk to Marienplatz. Great breakfast.