Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Under Renovation

Posted Jun 18, 2014
The location is excellent. One block from Glockenspeil and Marienplatz. However the hotel is under major renovation on the rear building. We stayed in the front building so the noise was not an issue. Overall, a pleasant experience. Hotel staff was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the old city

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Great Location, welcoming staff.
Cons: Would have liked a safe in the room. And the walls could use a coat of fresh paint, but the hotel is being renovated so maybe that is coming.
Location: Great restaurant "Marktwirt" around the corner - the best weiner schnitzel I had in my travels!
I had read the reviews about the noise on the street facing rooms, and so asked about about a courtyard facing room; none was available due to renovations at the hotel, but I was offered a choice of a discounted upgrade to a junior suite or keeping our street facing room. Given the street facing room had air conditioning and it was 35 degrees celsius, we opted to keep the air-con!! Although small (which I expect in Europe), the room was clean. The hotel is going through renovations, so we had a completely new bathroom, new carpet, air conditioning. There was no safe, but we had a mini bar which we used to chill our own water. The hotel is in the middle of the old part of the city, sandwiched between two fast food restaurants, which didn't bother us at all. You are steps away from the market with its fresh fruit & veggie stands, and beer gardens. It was a great location if you want to be in the old part of the city. The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. They have carafes of water and coffee available in the lobby all day; and the included breakfast encompassed everything from freshly baked pretzels to hard boiled eggs, sausages, and fruit and yogurt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to the historic center of the city

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Location: All of historic city easy to reach
Convenient A lot of street noise Wifi service is spotty
2 out of 5
by R from Surrey

Great breakfast but disappointing otherwise

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, location.
Cons: WiFi. Description of street view rooms - gives a floor area but difficult to work out how cramped room is from that.
Location: A minutes walk from centre of Munich
We had booked a street view room knowing it might be noisy and so had taken earplugs but actually only needed these on the Saturday night as the noise was from people sitting at the street cafe's outside until the early hours. The room was so small it was difficult for two people to move round the bed, find anywhere for their luggage etc. The WiFi both in the room and in public areas was extremely intermittent - we managed to connect to it for a minority of the time and even then it was very slow. The reception staff were not unhelpful but it wasn't friendly service either. We certainly didn't feel as if our custom was valued. The breakfast was, however, extremely good. Central, convenient location as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Phoenix, AZ

Nice, updated hotel in the heart of Marienplatz

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Location: Marienplaztz, Hofbrauhaus, St. Peter's, anything in Munich within minutes on the u-bahn (subway).
This is a great place to stay in Munich. The Marienplatz and subway/train station is less than 200 yards away, and it's within minutes walking to many, many things to do. The only downside was that the church bells ring loudly during the day, right behind the hotel. So, if you are coming in from the U.S. and plan on sleeping during the day, it won't be easy. The room was small, but nicely upgraded with modern bathroom and furnishings. The single bed was fine for me, and I am 6'4" tall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzanne from Toronto Canada

fabulous location

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: I would have liked there to be a space for just sitting, like a lobby or sitting room - sometimes wanted to read, but didn't want to sit in my room.
Location: Very close to the Glockenspiel and Residenz, City tour bus picks up right across the street, great shopping nearby. I loved it
Location could not have been better, in the heart of Marienplatz. Walked to everything. Good restaurants nearby. Wifi a bit spotty the first day but problems settled and had good connection. Breakfast was very good, lots of selection, fresh fruit available in the lobby. Single room small but compact, didn't need anything more. Staff very helpful, spoke English. I would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran from Seaford, UK

Central to Marienplatz

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Perfectly located for our city break. Excellent value for money and a lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location!

Posted Aug 25, 2013
About a 1 minute walk from the nearest metro station, directly across the street from Schneider Weisse, and maybe 3 minutes from Hofbrauhaus and Augustiner. Once my plane landed in the Munich airport, I was in my hotel room in about an hour. Extremely convenient. Not to mention a very clean room, friendly staff, and a wonderful breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lloyd from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Perfect location; street is noisy

Posted Nov 10, 2012
Pros: location, staff, breakfast
Cons: Street facing room was noisy
Location: Perfect. Just steps from the Marienplatz and all transport
Excellent location, wonderful staff, surprisingly good breakfast. Only downside is that it is quite noisy if you have a street-view room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel!

Posted Nov 3, 2012
This is a nice hotel, decent size room and bathroom for europe, great location, great breakfast buffet, excellent staff for booking sightseeing tours. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.