Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: location, staff, pool
Cons: lobby, room being available upon my arrival at 4pm
Location: Marienplatz is an 8-10 minute walk, so close but not next door. There are many good restaurants between the hotel and town center. Good shopping!
This hotel is appropriately priced and fairly central, however it's about 8 blocks from the main (Marienplatz) square in old town Munich. I arrived at the hotel, quite jet-lagged, around 4pm and the room was not ready but hotel staff gave me a free drink and pastry at the bar while getting my room ready which took about a half-hour. The staff (front desk, maids, restaurant) are all very nice. Rooms are elegant and comfortable. The pool on the 6th floor is an extra perk if you want to swim labs away from crowds; and having swum in various sports club pools around the globe, this one is very nice! Also, of note the lobby was constantly packed with (all middle eastern for some reason) people during my stay, and it could be hard to get a table there if you want a coffee, drink, or pastry. I tried to make small talk a few times with these people without much luck ... Only other complaint would be the water/lighting switches in the room. These are touch-activated but don't readily respond every time… especially when the shower is being used and buttons are wet, not good if you want to change water temperature quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Was a wonderful experience filled with calm and comfort Everything was sponsored by the attention and accuracy I recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Laurencefrom London

Great hotel with great animities

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
All in all, wonderful hotel, great value, breakfast, location etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adamfrom St Louis

Central Location, Modern hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is centrally located in the City center of Munich. Excellent for walking to all the sites or utilizing the subway. Hotel is very clean and modern. Very high end. Hotel staff was very friendly, welcoming, and helped us with everything we needed. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Abelardofrom Cancun

Great Experience

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we travel through Europe we usually stay in the Kempinski chain and the Münche Kempinski was also a great experience, excelente service and you can't beat the location. The coffee and desserts at the lobby is a must.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Not fve stars

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Concierge
Location: Perfect location
We arrived at 2:30 pm and our room was not ready. Asked the concierge to upload our bags from the car and send then to our room. Went for lunch and some shopping and had to call to have our bags delivered to the room. IWhen we checked out, I asked if our bags could be taken from the room and loaded into our car so that when we returned from the museum, we could leave without delay. I was told they couldn't and that when we were ready to leave, we would put the bags in the car. Of course there was a delay when we were ready to go and to top it off the guy loading the bags into the car dropped an expensive bag on the wet road. Great location but we will not return
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Robfrom Toronto

Not Worth The Premium

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you NEED to show off how much cash you have to waste stay here - actually you would probably pick the new Mandarin. Hotel is on the fashionable strip - such as it is - in MUC. Room had been newly renovated but was really small. And some of the "new features" did not work properly ( eg there was a light that would NOT turn off necessitating a call to service). And the AC only works if window is closed AND locked properly ( again only discovered by calling service). Also while the hotel has a REAL pool you can swim laps in , the AC in the fitness room did not work - and since it has a west facing wall of glass windows afternoon workouts incorporated a simultaneous sauna. Reverting to the space issue- my wife and I combined weigh UNDER 290 lbs so imagine if WE found the room too cramped in which to comfortably move around. I know European hotels are smaller but at north of $500 a night you expect more. Brought to mind a stay at the similarly compact W in Manhattan 2 years ago - but A that was NYC not a secondary city like MUC and B it was much cheaper :) Live and learn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Karen THfrom los angeles

Amazing hotel, incredible staff

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Most amazing hotel located in great location in Munich, near the Opera House and Marianplatz. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgable. The concierge staff was particularly impressive. One of the best hotel experiences we have ever had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by L. Hardgravefrom Houston, TX USA

Excellent service & location

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Recently stayed at the Vier Jahrenszen for 5 nights. Our nicely appointed room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was welcoming and helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions to local sights. I will be staying at this hotel again the next time I visit Munich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Frankfrom London

Luxurious Lobby

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Walking into the lobby is a who's who. The staff are incredibly polite and helpful. Rooms very high tech.