Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Devin from Arlington, VA

Modern Hotel with Bad Customer Service

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: It is near to everything you'd want to see in Central Munich. You are also right next to a major taxi stand. The beds are very comfortable.
Cons: The service and customer service skills need to be vastly improved. I've received better treatment at a Ramada Inn.
Location: You are centrally located in old-town Munich.
My main problem was when I was sick for a two day period of time and came back early around Noon of the 2nd day of my stay and put up the do-not-disturb sign for a couple of hours while I rested (I left again by 2 PM). Apparently the hotel staff saw this, and marked my room not to be cleaned. I was not notified of this. The next day I return to my room at 2:15 PM and notice that room has yet again not been cleaned. I call the front desk to complain that it has been two days since my room has been cleaned. They offer to clean it immediately but because I was sick wanted to nap (the reason why I returned early again). I asked if they could clean the room at 6 PM and they agreed. I then went to nap and received a knock on the door at ~2:25 PM. Hotel cleaning staff are there requesting to clean my room. I tell them the front desk agreed to have it cleaned at 6 PM. They leave and I return to my nap. I receive a phone call asking why I didn't want room cleaning and told them we agreed for a 6 PM cleaning. I then talk to a manager who blames me for putting the do-not-disturb sign up the day before (removed the day before at 2 PM). The hotel did take one minor charge off my bill to compensate upon checkout. Additionally, when I tried to use the mini-bar, one of the bottles I took and opened was entirely empty. I had to go downstairs to the service desk to tell them about this and they made sure this was not included in my bill. For a five-star hotel, I'm disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I found this hotel and was able to book at a reasonable price for a 5 star spa Hotel in such a central location in a big city. All I can say is my stay was first rate, the hotel was of a good standard and the staff were polite and always available to help. I would highly recommend to all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with a strange problem

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Clean and modern
Cons: False advertising should be fixed and the hotel needs to invest in king-size linen
I was very excited to be staying at the Sofitel as I have only had good experiences at other Sofitel locations. The hotel itself is lovely, staff are great and the facilities are very good however this hotel has a significant problem in it's false advertising. There is no "king" bed, we booked and paid for a room with a "king" bed and on the first night realised that they had shabbily shoved two single beds together which would still have been acceptable had they put one large sheet and perhaps some kind of padding across the mattress to bridge the hard connection, they did not do this, in fact we had two single beds, with two single sheets and even more outrageous, two single duvets! We thought they had made a mistake and given us a "twin" room accidentally but they confirmed that this was just how they set their rooms up. The next day we asked them to at least give us one sheet and duvet which they said they would do, however they did not and it took us over 2 hours that night to get somebody to conclude that there was not one king size duvet cover in the entire hotel, this was after we ended up with 4 single duvets in our room when all we wanted was one which covered the entire bed. For a 5 star hotel this is outrageous. Although the manager did try to make it up to us, it is an important point for guests to note when considering this hotel as no other hotel on my 6-stop round-the-world trip had that problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Cheshire

Outstanding 5* hotel in central location

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The spa was simply stunning. Service in the bar and at reception perfect.
Cons: Shuttle service into the old town would be useful as it is a good 15 minute walk.
Location: Walk into the old town and try the incredible Hofbrauhaus for an authentic German beer hall experience on a staggering scale.
Spent an excellent weekend in this luxurious, stylish and modern property. The room was large and comfortable, with every technological convenience. No bath but a large wet room with shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfection!

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Located by the station which is handy when coming in from the airport. Great beer hall nearby.
Fantastic stay in Munich - the hotel was in a great location, the staff were all extremely friendly and we had every facility we needed. Couldn't have asked for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good locAtion

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Every thing is good except the the bath room the door is very annoying and uncmfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with no faults at all.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
The hotel was excellent staff very helpful and friendly, so well looked after in terms of conditions and facilities. Everything was spotless and perfect. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Niya

Nice and convenience hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Nick and convenience hotel, just near the main train station. some room is small, but it's really comfortable. :-) I really like their breakfast buffet!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by helen

Fantastic hotel, very accessible to central Munich

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Lovely hotel with fabulous facilities, highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014