Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palmyra, PA

Posted May 17, 2015
Very helpful staff. Some parts of the motel still under renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Location and Quiet
Cons: They are remodeling here but it is kept neat. I would add elevator for second floor. Also since no elevator need to abel to request floor when book.
We had a nice stay and the room was of good value and roomy. Nice breakfast too. Good coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando

Don't go until they finish restoration.

Posted May 13, 2015
The toilet seat and toilet were loose. There were no soap dishes in shower. The mirror was turned sideways and unable to see myself while standing. The door frames and wall corners were dirty. The toilet seat in the public restroom was also loose. The bed was comfortable and the clerk was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room, in regards to the toilet and toilet seat, mirror, and door frames. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, exceeded my expectations!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Very clean. Free Wifi and breakfast
Location: Close to the highway, 25 min from Nashville
The hotel was very clean, they were finishing remodeling. The staff was very friendly. Enjoyed the free Wifi and breakfast!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Two nights, nice location, Close to everything clean room, staff excellent and I would stay their again if I were to come to Murfreesboro again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Hotel is in a major remodel. Doors have been replaced, but don't have numbers. Bathrooms have been redone. Quite a bit of carpet has been replaced. That being said, it is not quite up to Carlson standards at this time, but is getting there. My room was missing some electrical plates and the curtains were torn. Bed was good. Not knowing where they are in the renovation, it is hard to give it a better than average rating. It has great potential but is hard to find how to get to where it is.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

problems with the heat...

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: staff was great
Cons: obvious heat problems
They are remodeling...looks like it will be really nice when finished. But there was something wrong with the heater in my room. It was like a sauna in there. I could not regulate it at all, it was either full blown hot or else turn it off, which is what I did. Maybe this has something to do with the remodeling, I am not sure. When the hotel is finished, it will really be nice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dennisfrom Milwaukee, WI

Don't stay here

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
When we checked in the hotel staff was very pleasant. However, our room was very outdated. The carpet, chair pads were filthy. There was no hot water and it was not fixed by the time we left the following morning. We tried to get a credit for our room (since there was no hot water) and the hotel clerk told us there was nothing he could do since we booked with hotel.com/expedia. So we had no bargaining chip. Breakfast was terrible - only ate the fruit and cereal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room, including the carpet, chair pads, and lack of hot water. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites standards. Also, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure we are offering fresh food and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Under renovations, messy and strong chemical smell

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Nothing, this is false advertising
This property is undergoing renovations, may be nice once complete but not now. Manager Jackie refused to give a refund, there was no note on Expeida that this hotel was under renovation, lost $100 and had to go to another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
We thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. While we understand your hesitancy, we hope to be able to invite you back to the hotel at a later date so you may be able to enjoy the luxury of some of these renovation efforts! Again, we appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that we can exceed your expectations the next time you visit.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nightmare under construction

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
This property was being remodeled. It should not be open at this time. It was a disaster. I left and stayed at another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Ashley, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise especially during construction. We take every precaution to make sure that all guests are affected as little as possible. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.