Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from North UK

Repeat Visit to Intercon Oman

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: General atmosphere of calm and business like operations in all departments. Staff in the Gulf play a major role in making any Hotel worth a visit.
Cons: Tiny problems but waste bins were not emptied in my 4 day stay.
Location: Great location close to all you would need for work and pleasure. Easy access by car and great welcome / parking / easy place to like!
First stayed this Hotel in mid 1970's when absolutely new, and very quiet, as Muscat was small at that time. Still impressive internally and externally, with excellent staff. Very busy during my visit period, and very business like throughout. Has a 'pub' but does not appear to have that element of the more modern 'glitz' that attracts the 'louder' Customers. Management on the ball and involved at just right level. Oman is a costly business venue, ( pint of beer about £10, Buffet Lunch about £40-60 depending on your 'add ons' ( bottle of reasonable Merlot at about £40) but this is typical of similar grade Hotels in the area. Location good for business meetings (Government etc) with most offices less than 10 minutes drive away. I wouldn't hesitate to re use this Hotel for further meetings and stays. A cool and collected Hotel of quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by Oliver, Hotel Management
Dear James, thank you for your fantastic feedback on expedia and your long standing loyalty with our hotel. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to contribute to a comfortable stay. Oman itself is certainly not a low cost destination, but offers a great mix of traditional middle eastern flair combined with modern attributes, which makes this city and country unique in this region. Surely that you recommend us is the biggest compliment and I hope to see you soon again. with kind regards Oliver Geyer Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Billybob from UK

excellent location.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location,very friendly staff,a great place to relax and enjoy the sun.
Cons: I believe this hotel is going to be rebuilt in the near future, I hope they do not loose the charm of the grounds..
Location: a walk or taxi drive to all attractions and the big red bus which takes you to see all of them which stops nearby.
Never judge a book by its cover,a little dated from the out side and the rooms, but they are clean very spacious and a very comfortable bed, the garden grounds, the pools and the location on the beach is excellent,cafes and restaurants in walking distance,all round a good place to stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geoff from Nottingham. UK

Clean and well situated hotel.

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Already mentioned.
Cons: Stop telling lies at reception and change your attitude to guests.
Location: Already mentioned
I have been staying in this hotel on business trips for the past 44 years. In fact since almost as soon as it opened. The exterior is perhaps not the best looking, but inside it is very nice and the gardens are beautiful. The location of the hotel suits me for our annual winter break from the UK as we like to play tennis, walk along the beach....which goes on for miles, and there is a nature reserve for my bird watching right next to the hotel. We are always very content here with the one exception. Why oh why? do they always try to give me a room over the main entrance. when I have clearly booked a room overlooking the mountains where you get the sunrise, and sunshine pretty well all day, making the rooms much lighter. We don`t arrive until nearly midnight, and it feels like the hotel has given our rooms away because we are a late check-in. This has happened on the last three winter breaks, and it is very annoying to then have to accept a room that you didn`t order. Because all the rooms are full you then have to wait until the next day to change rooms. This disrupts the holiday, and you spend precious time changing rooms when you should be just enjoying your holiday. I know the hotel like the back of my hand, so I know exactly what I have booked, but other less fortunate people who suffer the same injustice are perhaps not aware of the differences in room type. Honour your commitments InterContinental. Muscat. Prepaid customers should still be valued.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shona from Doha

Fabulous service/nice hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Fabulous staff, good food, great service, great location, great beach, pool, tennis courts. Just really fabulous. Buffet breakfast is unrivaled.
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: You can get on the Hop On/Hop Off bus nearby which takes you all over Muscat - great deal and recommended. There are some cute little restaurants near
We had a great visit to Muscat at the Intercontinental. Nice little private beach, close to some very reasonably priced restaurants. We bought the breakfast/happy hour for the 2 of us and this was great as we met with friends on the club floor every night. Staff are very, very friendly and helpful. Concierge a pleasure and efficient, arranging all of our tours for us. And the hotel gave us a late check out into late afternoon the day of our departure at no charge - one more day to lounge on the beach and soak up Omani hospitality. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We got it as part of an air/hotel package deal from Doha. Great longer weekend get away!! Thanks Intercon!! We will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced I'm afraid

Posted Jan 16, 2014
We stayed for 4 nights over New Year. Good location for our need to be near our friends house, nice pools, great jacuzzi, still a grand hotel in a slightly old fashioned way. Staff were helpful and the service was good except for Tomato beach restaurant where they just couldn't cope at the busy lunch period. But our room (club beach front) was a disappointment, especially the very outdated bathroom. Breakfast was not a good experience. Too many people, not shown to a table, nor offered anything like drinks, queues for egg chef, horrible coffee machine. Didn't quite realise how awful it was until we moved up tithe Shangri-la for our last 3 days. And it cost less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good quality stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good rooms, food and service. One of the best hotels in Muscat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dale from sydney

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: location and service
Location: all attractions and beaches
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Timroach

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
3 out of 5
by BK from NY, NY

It was Ok, not 5 star

Posted Jan 5, 2014
We had such a great hotel stay in Dubai that when we arrived at the inter contental in Oman it was a let down! It was advertised as a 5 star hotel...maybe aback in 1977 when it was built, but definitely not now, 3 star at best!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com