Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Great hotel

Posted May 28, 2015
Very nice hotel. Many pools, restaurants, lazy river, etc. Very clean rooms and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bahrain

Beautiful property in a great country.

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: The staff was great. The private pool at Al Husn and the private beach. The cocktail reception. The fitness center and spa. Happy Hour Specials.
Cons: Better advertisement of the specials going on at the different restaurants/bars at the hotels like happy hours at Long Bar and the Piano Bar.
Location: I didn't leave the resort except to go to the mall to pick something up. But the hotel arranged the taxi.
I stayed at the Al Husn hotel on this property and I chose it because it was the most private and did not allow any children. The entire staff, from reception, dining, pool, fitness, lobby, to grounds keepers were all just very attentive and friendly. I had the breakfast included in my rate and I can't say enough about the breakfast. It was fantastic. Rooms were big and the free mini bar in the room was a nice touch (4 beers). Also the 1 hour cocktail reception on the terrace was great as well. I never had to ask to get a new drink they were continually refilling and walking around. Many of the staff work in multiple locations so you see them a lot and they couldn't have been more nice. I spent every morning at the fitness center and I attended the morning stretching class with Mark. He would also throw in some ab work and TRX work. He was so nice and it was really nice to see him everyday. He went above and beyond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Week-end with family

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Location, facilities, dive center.
Cons: There are different hotels and on our booking confirmation, there was no indication in which hotel we were booked
Location: Dolphin watch, snorkeling, diving and in season wadi trip
Excellent location and facilities. Wonderful sea and ideal for water sport and diving. Excellent service and staff. We had a wonderful week-end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saudi Arabia

Great hotel,

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Great choice of restaurants
Location: Diving is very good, but a bit of a lottery on visibility
3rd time staying at this hotel. On previous occassions stayed in Al-Bandar but this time stayed in Al-Waha. If you don't have children stay in Bandar as the pool are in Waha is very much for familys. My only real complaint is I left a rather expensive piece of dive equipment in my room on check out, once I arrived back in Saudi Arabia I noticed what had happended so I emailed the hotel and advised what I had left. Unfortunaetly the dive computer was not handed in and this has left a bit of a sour taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

Very good hotel with great staff

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: The staff, the chilled atmosphere, the swimming pools. The local nature with the turtles and the dolphins. Proximity to Muscat so you see real Oman
Cons: some less expensive restaurants on site More communication on what is happening
Location: Keep in contact with the Turtle Ranger for turtles hatching, must go to the Muscat Opera House and see whatever is on, Great Mosque, Dolphin boat trip
Stayed at the hotel on our honeymoon and really enjoyed the hotel and Oman. On our first night we had a honeymoon cake and champagne delivered by the hotel, which was a complete surprise. The staff are really good but this reflects the friendly nature of the Oman people. It certainly has the feel of a top hotel and you can either just chill on site or also take some trips into Muscat which is not far away and certainly recommended. If you stay at the hotel complex the food is pricey so you need to watch where you eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dubai

Awesome, we passed very good time, thx

Posted May 16, 2015
Very nice hotel, wonderfully experience, relax, and quite atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom KSA

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Shower cold water always hot
Great hotel. Went there for a two-day diving trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

alles tadellos ....

Posted May 2, 2015
alles wunderbar , Zimmer , Strand , Frühstück , und abends die verschiedenen Restaurants ..... alles tipptopp auf hohem Niveau .....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Guernsey, Channel Islands

A superb experience every time we stay.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: The Shangri-la is one of the really exceptual hotels. The location is stunning and peaceful. Good to have a choice of different types of hotel.
Cons: Didn't rate the colour of the bedroom carpet at both Al Bandar or Al Waha!
Location: Quite far out of Muscat but the location worth it. The Mutrah Souk a must-see. Also Visits to Wadi's. Golf available in Muscat.
We frequently visit Muscat and were there for only 3 nights thjis time , my husband on business. Disappointed with the view of the room that we were allocated. We always stay at the Shangri-la if we can get a room. We have experienced the best view at Al Waha, right over the beach. Al Bandar rooms are more spacious and the breakfast room is quieter as there are fewer children than at Al Waha..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom paris

hotel magnifique

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: le cadre , le personnel
Cons: c'est un peu cher
nous avons passé 9 jours dans ce hotel magnifique niché dans la montagne au bord de la mer aves mes 3 enfants et ma femme Paysage féerique, crique , desert, palace et et pas de building tout est autenthique