Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Great view and nice beach

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Great experience but had an issue with wifi in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi, UAE

Luxurious resort

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Excellent and attentive staff and service, lovely rooms, stunning grounds/scenery, great food and wine
Cons: For drivers: availability of directions to the resort! Name (for GPS) is actually Shangri-La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa
Location: Not far from Mutrah Souk and Old Muscat, but beware of limited daytime opening hours
Be aware that Shangri-La is a resort of 3 separate hotels: Al Husn ("The Castle") is quiet, exclusive, adults. Al Bandar ("The a Town") is dominated by a fun and large pool. Al Waha ("The Oasis") is for family getaways. Book accordingly! We didn't know that information and booked Al Waha even though we were looking for a quiet couple's getaway. The excellent staff switched our reservation swiftly and efficiently and we loved Al Husn so much that we didn't want to leave. The price there includes extensive breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, and cocktail hour. Be sure to have cash on hand if you're driving at all since we couldn't find a gas station that accepts credit cards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

An excellent environment for all tastes.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: It's homely atmospher and pleasantness.
Cons: Provide more choices of menue and consider extending the happy hours with more options & choices. Otherwise, excellent.
Location: The location is a paradise. However, the greener the better.
A well maintained and managed facilty which provided me and my family a total piece of mind with complete relaxations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from abu dhabi

Stunning Setting

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: We had a nice room with a beautiful sea view with close proximity to the beach. The setting of the hotel is very unique.
Cons: The decor of the room could be upgraded. However, the bathroom was very nice.
Location: The setting is spectacular. We enjoyed the restaurants of the hotel, snorkelling near by and the souk that we visited by the hotel bus.
We enjoyed our stay at the Shangri-la immensely. The staff were excellent, very hospitable and knowledgeable. The seafood restaurant was exceptional and the staff went out of their way by decorating the table with rosé petals for our wedding anniversary. We dined outside, listening to the waves beside us. We are looking forward to a return visit very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

A short break with peace and quality.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Lovely self contained resort. Easy connect from airport. Clean, peaceful, relaxing with a range of low end to high end food. Not your Resort for high energy outbound activities, but great for a medium term break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect escape

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Amazing hotel and great food ..the free afternoon tea and pre dinner drink were nice..very friendly staff..I would recommend shahrazad resturant in alhusn..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great resort -- room, service, dining and location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Physical location, service, the option of staying at an "adult only" hotel/beach -- the other two hotels on the property cater to families.
Location: While I never got there, I had planned on taking a side-trip to the Wadi Sinkhole and visiting some of the mountainous region.
Set in an unbelievably dramatic location, where the sandstone mountains of Oman meet the sea, this resort offers it all. I stayed in the Al Husn property (there are three hotels in the compound), and couldn't be happier with the experience. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food at the Sultanah restaurant in the hotel was amazing -- I had thought I'd try out other restaurants on the property but the menu which changes daily and high food quality/presentation kept me coming back every night. The room was more than I had expected. The service at the private beach was great, too, with complimentary towels, umbrella/chairs, and coolers of water/juice/ice. There was a lunch restaurant/beach bar feet from the beach that made staying at the beach all day very easy. The concierge organized a snorkelling and sea-kayak trip for me. My only regret was that the resort was so nice, I never did end up taking any trips to see the rest of Oman! I guess I'll have to go back to see the rest of the country.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Cons: the staff in Tanoor restaurant they are not friendly
we went to Oman for holidays with my children to enjoy between the mountain and good weather
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Good view

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Not great Staff. Don't know how to give directions. In room dining sucks. No sense of punctuality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

One of the best Hotel inWorld

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Room, swimming pools, restaurants, best scene, staff
Cons: Parking
Location: Everything was close
Fantastic view and best swimming pools with excentent facilities. All staff was so good and given great hospitality.. Room was very much comfortable, with big toilet. Really everything was excellent including all restaurants.