Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
GREATTTTTTT !!!!!!!!!! Will definitely recommend stay to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Beautiful hotel just steps from the beach !!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Food was a little expensive but very good ! Beautiful hotel !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clarksboro NJ

Nice resort, off the beaten path

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Hotel was nice, clean. Friendly staff. Great pool and beach. Glad we chose Grand Dunes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Feels like a resort in the Caribbean.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Very clean and highend feel to it.
Cons: Beds could be updated and the lobby carpet might need replacing soon.
Location: Lots of shopping and activities for the kids.
When we pulled up the hotel looked quite grand. It almost felt like we had landed in the Caribbean with the palm trees surrounding the hotel. The place just looked like a 5 star resort. The pool was nice but unfortunately it closed at 11pm. Would have been nice if we could swim a bit longer...we were in the pool with a bunch of others at 11:30 and were always kicked out by security. Beach was nice but you have to watch out for the jellyfish. I know lots of people including my son got stung. Nothing major. Breakfast at the hotel was quite good but fairly expensive considering there our lots of places just down the street that offer same at 1/2 the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Azeem Amir

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms are missing microwave, and kitchen corner. They are too small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Theresafrom Maryland

A place we keep going back to!

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our recent stay at this property was wonderful! We have stayed here in the past and we keep going back to this hotel. The customer service is always good. I rated it a 4 this time around because we encountered a front desk associate who appeared to be inadequately trained when we checked-in. Our experiences with the staff, aside from that, were all wonderful. The hotel is very clean. The rooms are very comfortable, including the bedding. We spent a lot of time at the pool. The pool area is large, there is a waterslide, an outdoor bar and grill, hammocks, and lounge chairs. The hammocks and chairs are free of charge. There is also an option to rent a cabana for the day or a set of two padded lounge chairs with an umbrella. We were concerned that we would not be able to get chairs at the pool (there were a couple of weddings and a convention being held there at the same time), so we opted for the chair/umbrella rental and it worked out well. The hotel provides towels for the pool. The hotel is located just off of Route 17. There are lots of restaurants, mini golf, the outlets, the Myrtle Beach boardwalk, Broadway at the Beach, Barefoot land, and plenty of stores just a short drive away. This hotel is one of our favorites, we will be going back there to stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathyfrom Bloomington, IN

not worth the price

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
the grounds, pools were very nice. We had cards for towels and on each day we were there there were never any towels available, frustrating. The room was ok but really overpriced for what you got, beds are tiny, but its was clean.. The lobby areas really need new carpet there were big rips/separations everywhere and the furniture in each section was dirty/stained especially the arm rests. I was kind of shocked that they left it out in that condition. Overall, I wouldn't pay that much to stay there again. It was just ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, all great.
Cons: needs to be updated a little.
Location: Great location easy to get to other things.
Food was OK. The resort is nice, the rooms are a little dated and the elevators are slow, but the beach is nice. It was pretty crowded, and one annoyance (not their fault, just in general) is the beach chairs are an extra expense. When you pay >300 for a room the stupid beach chairs should be included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great pool, ok room

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The pool area is great. It's beautiful and we went in August and wasn't even packed. Loved the pool. The room does not match the pool. Rooms are just ok, need a little love. The food is not good at all. We only ate there because we were so comfortable at the pool during the day that we didn't feel like leaving