Ratings based on 1,749 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Never Again

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: On the plus side the bar by the pool made great drinks and the food at pool was amazing.
Cons: The Front Desk Rep. at the front desk was rude and disrespectful. The hotel needs to increase their standards of quality when selecting employees.
Location: Location was great, right on the beach. The Live band by the pool was entertaining. Hotel was not far from malls and outlet shopping centers.
We call the hotel (the actual hotel not the operating office) early to see if we could check in early. They stated this was not possible, then I asked if I can leave my bags so we can enjoy the hotel amenities and local sites they stated they could. I get to the hotel and the hotel stated they will not hold my bag and that no one there spoke to me and that I must have call the wrong hotel. I had show them proof of my call on my cell phone. Then they were willing to hold the bags an hour later. When we checked in they would let us get our own bags we had to wait for someone to help us. We waited 2 hours in the hotel lobby. I requested a non-smoking room and the non smoking room given to us was toxic. I man carrying our bags was nice enough to go back down and get us another room. We were not in our room until 8pm. We could not enjoy most of the hotel. The hotel will not provide you with a beach towel after 8pm unless you pay a $12 dollar charge each towel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, VA

Stay was nice, need to upgrade carpets in hallways

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Room was nice, view was nice.
Cons: Carpets need to be replaced in hallways and elevators
Breakfast buffet was excellent. Carpets in hallways and elevators need to be relplaced. We got lost on the way and could not reach anyone at the hotel desk. Very frustrating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Rooms were very run down and heavily depreciated.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: replace the worn carpet fix the bathrooms
for the money I just fiqured it would be a little nicer,but the staff was very helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from From Atlanta Ga

Posted Jul 15, 2014
I had a decent time! Until after I left I was charged an $100 debit ! I called to ask what was the charge for and the manager told me that I left the toilet stopped up! In which I wasn't aware of! They threaten me saying it should have been more after I asked can I get refunded my money since my hotel wAs paid in full before I arrived! He was very nasty and rude! Then he hung up on my face! By this point I was on the road so I was very upset! Because I couldn't turn around! But I was very displeased with the attitude and the unauthorized charge to my account! The hotel was out dated and needed a lot of repairs! But for me to be charged an additional $100 on too of the $398 that I was already charges wasn't worth it! And I wouldn't recommend no one stay here until theeie management is more courteous and they renovated there hotels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Not what I expected

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Staff was fine. Check in and out was fine. Parking was crazy. Hotel room smelled like fish and the carpet was sticky when walked on with bare feet. Ceiling had moldy, damp, dark looking patches throughout. Beds, furniture and tv were from the dinosaur age. The hotel itself: I was very shocked at the lack of updates and cleaniness. Everything looked dirty and I felt like I needed to take a shower every time I walked out of the building. Every floor in the hotel seem to have its own unique nasty smell, including front foyer / welcoming area. Sorry, I really hoped to be able to give this one a good review but management and/or the owners don't seem to care about the upkeep. If you take away Ocean Annie's from the rear of the building, it's just another old rundown hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spartanburg, SC

Awesome hotel on the beach!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
We loved our stay at ocean sands! We have found our new place to stay during our summer trips to the beach! Everything you need is right there. Once you get there you don't have to leave! Awesome place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Fun hotel for young adults

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We had a great time at the Ocean Annie's bar and watching fireworks for Fourth of July. The hotel is right on the beach which is really nice. Had some issues with the people staying in the neighboring room but that was the only issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: the room was very big and spacious and the view was amazing
The worst check in service ever!!! i waited outside for 45 for someone to bring a cart and ended up having to carry all my bags anyways because they kept helping people that were there after me. Parking was a joke it was absolutely the worst experience i have ever had in a hotel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A from I

Great location

Posted Jun 23, 2014
The hotel room was a little smaller than I expected for two adults and three kids. The location was excellent with direct beach access and a couple of pools. The location of the hotel with respect to restaurants and shops was really good too.