Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

1 bedroom condo, oceanview

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Overall, Sandy Beach Resort is a nice resort. At first glance, it looks clean & updated, but when you really look at it, there are some improvements that could be made. The pool area has lots of shaded areas at different times of the day due to it being directly against the building. The pictures make it look like there is a pool area on the side of the building, but that is not the case.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Not revved up about this place.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Rented a two bedroom partial city partial oceanview room. Room was large and nicely appointed. However, dishwasher was broken and was never fixed. Women were lining up at 8 AM to reserve chairs by pool. My daughter asked the front desk about bus service and they were clueless. The biggest reason to avoid this hotel is the street noise. There is hurricane glass on the windows yet the engine revving competition could be heard loud and clear until about 2 am. It is against city ordinance but it is not enforced. Stay away from Myrtle Beach and spend your tourist dollars elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Nice location, good size rooms. For the price we paid and them being a resort, the hotel have questionable standards. The DONT clean bathrooms daily, rather replace the toiletries and towels only. They change sheets every 3 days! Kitchen has plates, cups, silverware and Pyrexes, but not a single pot or pan! All the hotels in the U.S. Have coffee machines with coffee, tea bags and suger that are filled daily, this hotel has a coffee machine only and you are to go buy coffee, tea and anything else you need !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Memorial Week Vacation

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Location on the beach and in the mix of everything.
Cons: None.
Location: You are right in the heart of Myrtle Beach SC and perfectly located to find anything you need to be entertained.
Location was great, parking was right outside of hotel and rooms were large and comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Binghamton, NY

Very Nice Place

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: On top of the beach with private balcony. Very nice suite.
Cons: Enforcing of the must be at least 25 to book a room rule.
Location: Location is next to amusement park and on top of the beach and close to everything.
Had a 1 bedroom suite with ocean front view. The room was really nice and had full kitchen, whirlpool tub, awesome private balcony with incredible views. It even had a retractable clothesline over the tub to dry beach towels or swim suit. Even had a washer and dryer in the room! Only complaints and this is nit picking, was that they advertise they only rent rooms to people over 25 yet the whole hotel was full of teenagers and early 20 year olds with nobody older with them at all. Also the one kiddie pool was broken the 2 days I was there and the pools in general are small and get monopolized by kids all day. The bedroom is next to the hallway and mine was right next to the elevator so getting sleep was kind of tough. The room had a coffee maker but no coffee so I had to buy some. You have to park at next block over and leaving your car overnight there doesn't feel safe. Can be hectic and loud with it's location and all the 20 year olds everywhere so a quiet romantic getaway maybe not. Overall a really nice place with nice front desk staff and I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Akron,Ohio

the Sandy Beach Hotel in Mrytle Beach

Posted Aug 2, 2011 on Hotels
I would highly recommend this hotel to families. Lots to do in the immediate area within walking distance for all ages. Go out and about up the strip and explore what's there and make sure to watch the fireworks from the balcony of the hotel from pier on 2nd street. Did not like all the smokers on the beach but other than that I would go again at this time year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, CT

Maintenance Nightmare!!

Posted Nov 24, 2010
The hotel itself is extremely nice... it's in a great spot, and I had stayed here previously with friends in 2008. However, when we arrived, the front desk said they were "winterizing" 3 of their pools (their words). This included jackhammers, concrete saws, shovels, etc. from 7am through 8pm. No chance to sleep in with our room 30 feet from the pool. I asked the front desk if they could start later, they said no. When we tried to enjoy the open pool/hot tubs, large clouds of dust, the noise of the jackhammer and the concrete saws were just too much. This was not my idea of relaxation... we decided to spend our days away from the hotel. Also, the towels we had to pay extra to use were the smallest and most abrasive towels I've ever seen. Felt like sandpaper when drying off. Three of the five jets in our jacuzzi tub were broken. Overall, I was very dissatisfied with the hotel. I will NOT be returning...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Florida

A Bit Noisy

Posted Nov 19, 2010 on Hotels
Overall this hotel was very clean. A bit noisy unfortunately and the beds weren't all that comfortable. Ok location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

LOVE LOVE LOVE this hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2010 on Hotels
I loved this hotel. I had a one bedroom suite with an angle view. The pictures matched the room. The location is great. There aren't a bunch of hotels around just this one and the sister hotel Ocean One. There was a lot of conveniences nearby. Loading & unloading was a little tight. That's my only complaint. Can't wait to bring my kids. next time
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oxford NC

Great spot, Great hotel in Myrtle Beach SC

Posted Oct 8, 2010 on Hotels
This was our first stay at the resort and our 25th wedding anniversary. The location was as advertised, on the beach and within walking distance of most places you may want or need to go. On the down side most of the attractions were closer to the hotel than the parking spaces. The housekeeping staff was both friendly and efficient. I had booked a King - Jacuzzi suite but was placed in a Standard King suite. There was not an available King - Jacuzzi suite, but after some time on the phone with the hotels.com staff a cost adjustment was arranged that satisfied us. The room was extremely clean and modern, the furnishings were in excellent condition,the bathroom was clean and large, beds comfortable, and the inside areas of the resort were quiet and clean. I would recommend this resort to anyone without a doubt. As a travel note: try to check out the schedule of activities in the surrounding area from a local information source. This area is a hub for motorcycle gatherings and biker rallies. I would prefer to visit during a time when the motorcycle riders were somewhere else. As long as we were in our room, on the beach, or by the pools it was OK. but when we went out on Ocean Blvd. ear plugs would have been a good investment