Ratings based on 1,832 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Not bad for the price

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Could use some TLC but not too bad for the price and being right on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello Genny, Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. I will share your thoughts to our team so together, we could work on improvements to make your next stay more comfortable and great experience. Thank you for your business. We look forward to your next stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, va

Nothing to brag about

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Cons: I would improve the staff and the room comfort. I would suggest that the room is equipped with everything that the guest need. Like a shower curtain!
When we arrived at our door, it was opened. It appeared clean, but when my husband went to take a shower, there was no shower curtain! So I called down to the front desk and they sent some one up immediately, but he acted like it was the last thing he wanted to do. No smile, as a matter of fact he looked like he had an attitude. Then we went to go iron our clothes, but there was no iron or ironing board. We decided to go to the pool, but on the way a lady and her son told us that they wouldn't recommend that we use it. Which was disappointing b/c it was raining outside and we could not go the beach. We only stayed one day, and I don't think I would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello S, Thank you for your candid comment about the pool, I am sorry you were not able to enjoy during your stay. I will submit your comment about the lack of iron and ironing board when you wanted to iron your clothes. I apologize for this unfortunate oversight as well as the manner you were attended by the housekeeping staff when you requested for shower curtain to put on. We will do our best to rectify this shortcomings and provide you better accommodation should you accord us another chance to serve you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to touristy things to do

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Stayed for one night and would go back again...staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean, had an awesome view of the ocean, and beds were semi comfortable. And just as a heads up for future travelers, if you want to walk on a pier you have to pay the "troll" a dollar...no joke...we got up early to watch the sunrise on the beach and wanted to walk on the pier and when we got all the way over there the lady said it costs a dollar and who keeps money in their swimsuit!? But anyways just a heads up
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello, We appreciate your time in letting us know you were comfortable during your stay with us and satisfied of our services. Thank you for bringing to our attention your thoughts about the bed. I will submit this to our management so that this is addressed accordingly. I will accelerate your shared experience on the pier about the dollar fee, appreciate your observation on how your dollar was kept by the lady there. Indeed this is kind of strange.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roanoke VA

Oceanfront

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Hotel was ok no free breakfast not close to shopping or food it was clean but no couch fridge wasnt defrosted on 11th floor had to go to 9th floor for ice the good thing is they allowed us too check in 1 hr and a half early
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello Miss Donna, I regret that our housekeeping staff overlooked cleaning the fridge in the room assigned to you. I appreciate that you brought this matter to our attention, I will share your feedback to the housekeeping manager so this is taken care of and handled accordingly. Allow us to serve you better on your next vacation, please do not hesitate to call the attention of our front desk clerk should you have concerns during your stay. they will be glad to assist you. We look forward to have you with us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2014
It was a nice place, the bar was lacking and bar staff was unfriendly but other staff was exceptional!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello, We appreciate your time in bringing to our attention your feedback on the services of the bar staff. I will bring this matter to our general manager for evaluation as we are oriented to provide exceptional services to our guests. Thank you for taking note of the efficiency of other staff. We will make sure you will be more comfortable and will enjoy your next vacation with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond va

Coffee

Posted Aug 11, 2014
There was no place on Sunday morning to get a fresh cup of coffee, the attended on duty said I would have to go down the street to McDonald to get a cup of coffee.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte nc

Very Nasty Place!!!!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: We did not like anything all all about this nasty place!!!'
Cons: Mr clean could not help that nasty places!!!!!
Location: Getting away from that place was the only good thing about the whole trip!!!!'
This was the nastiest place we have ever stay in!!! The bedding had stains all over it the Bathrooms was nasties so bad I would not walk on there floors or even take a shower with out our shoes!!!!! Did not have maid service at all had to go ask for towels and would only give you 2!!!! The windows was so Dirtiest windows you could not see out them!!!!The smell of cigarettes would take your breath and mold!!!!!!!!!! It was suppose to be a non smoking room that's what we payed For!!!!!!! They Play LOUD MUSIC ALL NIGHT LONG!!!!! I could go on and on about this place that's how Bad it was!!!! I would not Recommend this place to no body!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Dirty room

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Checked in to a room that had not been cleaned, the beds was horrible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london ontario

Very bad

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Cleaning services are very bad. Room is not clean and very bad smell.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Sun & Sand is about outside, not the hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Had good sunshine and sand.
Cons: Pressure washer would do a world of good.
Location: Close enough to get to all you wanted to do.
I have used expedia for all my trips. Never have I been disappointed till this trip. Tried to check in at l:00 was not able to did not know if we would be able to by 4:00. There was no remote, but they brought one quickly. Hair dryer was falling off the wall. Bathroom sink if you went to wash your hands splashed you. It was either wide open or no water at all. We received one bar of soap for 3 days of stay. One small bar of soap. There was not a table and chairs if you wanted to sit, or eat in the room. The furniture looked like plywood that had been painted black. Room was dark and there was no sheer so that you could leave the curtain open and have a little privacy, but still get sunshine. Called before I left to see if everything was o.k., since I paid for this stay 30 days in advance, was told if didn't return the keys to the front desk would be charged $2.00 per key, then saw this note card on the desk, said if anything was missing they would charge $25.00 for coffee pot, I had to call and ask for coffee for the second morning cause they didn't leave any. Windows in lobby were dirty, fingerprints everywhere, would be a good crime scene, plenty of prints. Would not stay again, would rather sleep in the car.