Ratings based on 1,814 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice but troublesome

Posted Aug 19, 2014
4 elevators and only 2 worked, they took our dirty towels and we had to ask 6 times for more clean ones, and the gym equipment was all broke except the tredmill, but other than that a nice hotel right on the beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nc

hotel hell

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: employees were not rude ever
Cons: address should be correct when put into the gps not one half hour away. also mgmt. should keep supplies for task that employees are expected to use.
Location: address that is the only complaint. everything else about the location was fantastic
the parking deck is separate from the hotel. as close as the parking deck it should connect to the building without having to go all the way down to the lobby and getting on a different elevator to go to your room. a key card system could fix that problem with some renovations. the hotel is extremely old and needs a lot of attention. the bed was hard and extremely uncomfortable. there was not any (NO) soap in the room. i have never been to a hotel that did not have soap in the room. i asked for some at the front desk and she handed me a half full bottle of shampoo. i looked at it weard and handed it back to her. she saw it was only half full and gave me a full bottle. i tried washing my hands with the shampoo and it was so watered down it would not even sud up. for a room that costed $197.00 for one night i did not think i needed to bring my own soap. the address given from expedia after booking the room is also the same address to another hotel a half hour away. in order for the gps to find the correct hotel you had to put in the hotel beside it in order to get to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello L, I am sad that your experience was not satisfactory. I will submit your comment on the lack of supplies in the bathroom to the housekeeping department so that this concern is corrected and addressed accordingly. We appreciate your time in bringing your concern about the direction of our hotel in Expedia so that this is also corrected. I am sorry that our parking area is not to your preference. Thank you for giving us your detailed feedback, this will be used as reference as we continue to strive for excellence. Thank you for your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Angier,NC

Hotel was located beach front.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Had a great time just had long waits on elevators,cause by the many people that was there also had an elevator to stop working. Overall it was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello Mr. Mark, I apologize for the inconvenience on the issue with the elevator during your stay and thank you for bearing with us. It is fulfilling to know however that you were comfortable and enjoyed your vacation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from greensboro, nc

Super outdated pool.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The pool was one of the worst things at this hotel. There was only one outdoor pool & it was super outdated & small. The room was okay. If you're not a big fan of pool then its okay for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello Miss Annie, I regret that our pool did not meet your preference. We appreciate your candid comments, we will use this as future reference as we strive to provide improved services to our guests. Thank you for letting us know you were satisfied on the room assigned to you. Allow us to accommodated you better on your next vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Room wasn't , house keeping came once during our 3 night stay and didn't make beds. TV was fuzzy and couldn't get cable channels, phone wouldn't work, pool is very small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello, Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings in ensuring the amenities were in good working condition in your room. We appreciate your time in letting us know of the problems you faced and trust that this concern will not be disregarded. I have submitted your feedback about the housekeeping service and I assure you our management will do their best to resolve this problem. We value your business and we strive to give our guests excellent, value accommodation. Thank you very much for your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
After we arrived and checkin. Open door to room and the beds had not been made. Had to have house keeping return to the room to complete. On another day house keeping did not even change out the dirty towels for clean one's. We had to go down to the front desk to ask for them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello, Please know that your concerns were submitted to our management for evaluation. I apologize for the uncomfortable experience you faced during your stay and I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future. We will make certain to provide you better services.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Never again!!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Right on beach. Good view of beach and ocean.
Booked blind at last moment so kids could see ocean. Two rooms. Carpet dirty. Curtains and balcony door track dirty. One room, the tub had black stuff on bottom, couldn't/wouldn't use. Appeared that housekeeping staff just didn't care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello JB, We sincerely appreciate your time in bringing your concerns on the quality of clean in the room assigned to you as well as your observation on the behavior of our housekeeping staff. I will submit your concerns to our management so that this is elevated to avoid further inconvenience. Thank you for your business and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience your family faced during your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Not bad for the price

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Could use some TLC but not too bad for the price and being right on the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello Genny, Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. I will share your thoughts to our team so together, we could work on improvements to make your next stay more comfortable and great experience. Thank you for your business. We look forward to your next stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, va

Nothing to brag about

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Cons: I would improve the staff and the room comfort. I would suggest that the room is equipped with everything that the guest need. Like a shower curtain!
When we arrived at our door, it was opened. It appeared clean, but when my husband went to take a shower, there was no shower curtain! So I called down to the front desk and they sent some one up immediately, but he acted like it was the last thing he wanted to do. No smile, as a matter of fact he looked like he had an attitude. Then we went to go iron our clothes, but there was no iron or ironing board. We decided to go to the pool, but on the way a lady and her son told us that they wouldn't recommend that we use it. Which was disappointing b/c it was raining outside and we could not go the beach. We only stayed one day, and I don't think I would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello S, Thank you for your candid comment about the pool, I am sorry you were not able to enjoy during your stay. I will submit your comment about the lack of iron and ironing board when you wanted to iron your clothes. I apologize for this unfortunate oversight as well as the manner you were attended by the housekeeping staff when you requested for shower curtain to put on. We will do our best to rectify this shortcomings and provide you better accommodation should you accord us another chance to serve you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to touristy things to do

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Stayed for one night and would go back again...staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean, had an awesome view of the ocean, and beds were semi comfortable. And just as a heads up for future travelers, if you want to walk on a pier you have to pay the "troll" a dollar...no joke...we got up early to watch the sunrise on the beach and wanted to walk on the pier and when we got all the way over there the lady said it costs a dollar and who keeps money in their swimsuit!? But anyways just a heads up
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by RP, Hotel Management
Hello, We appreciate your time in letting us know you were comfortable during your stay with us and satisfied of our services. Thank you for bringing to our attention your thoughts about the bed. I will submit this to our management so that this is addressed accordingly. I will accelerate your shared experience on the pier about the dollar fee, appreciate your observation on how your dollar was kept by the lady there. Indeed this is kind of strange.