Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, SC

Go Oceanfront!

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: View, bed, restaurant
Cons: Could be more up to date
Location: Great spot right on the ocean...must go to Brookgreen Gardens, the largest sculpture gardens in the world!
The oceanfront rooms with the screen porches are delightful...as long as you realize that this is a 70's era hotel with some, but not a whole lot, of updates. There's everything you really need in the room and it's clean and well kept...just a bit dated. Bed was firm and comfortable and as a bonus, there's an unexpectedly top notch restaurant with fine dining on the second floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Durham, NC

Nice hotel, good price.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Cons: cleanliness of shower
Location: beachfront on the ocean, seafood at Murrell's inlet
Overall this was a good experience. The room was clean and comfortable. The room has tile floors, which makes a lot of sense at the beach. The only complaint is that the shower was a little dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville, NC

Not bad for the price

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Easy beach access, quiet area.
Cons: Facilities are outdated, no fitness equipment.
Location: The beach!
Room was okay not ocean view (thought I had booked an oceanview room but got a different one), bed was not comfortable and bathroom was tiny. No fitness room or equipment but hotel was inexpensive and easy beach access. Staff was friendly and restaurant, cafe and bar were decent. We'll likely stay there again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Litchfield Inn

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach.
Cons: DEFINITELY the room.. not "clean and fresh" at all.. very dated linens.
Location: Murrell's Inlet is just down the road and full of great seafood restaurants. Litchfield is very near famous spots like "The Original Hammock shop" .
We LOVE Litchfield Beach, and have a sentimental attachment to THE Litchfield Inn because our rehearsal party (1978) was there. The staff is always very friendly and the "ocean front" view is wonderful, but: the room itself was a disappointment!!! It smelled stale and somewhat like a urine-soaked diaper. The bed had NO TOP SHEET, only a spread! It did not seem freshly laundered. The television remote did not work. Overall, just did not feel clean and fresh at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sc

review

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: convenient to beach and clean pool.
Cons: more polite staff
went to check in at 3pm and the room was not ready. came back at 515pm and it was just completed for us to checkin. I advised the clerk we were to have a king size bed and the room given had a queen size. the tv did not work, had to plug it in and the reception was very poor. found pieces of carpet under the bed and fixtures in the bath still had tape on them from the last painting job. went to get ice and the machine was broken. had coffee on sat. and no fresh coffee left for sun..
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rock Hill, SC

Typical old beach motel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Convenience to Brookgreen Garden
Cons: Mirror for dressing in room.
Typical old beach motel with no elevators! Perfect place full of old beach memories...if this is what you want. Only mirror was in the bathroom over basin, but room was freshly painted & clean. Although motel was on beach there was no hope of beach view from little short windows. Something that needs to be noted is the lack of elevator service to get luggage to the second floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom SC

We liked it and had a great weekend

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Based upon reviews we requested a tower room and got what we asked for: a sixth-floor king bed room with unlimited views of the ocean. While it isn't outstanding, this is a very nice and more than adequate hotel with pleasant, helpful staff and good accommodations and amenities. Two pools (one for kiddies) provide fresh-water relaxation. A very nice, wide and miles long beach awaits beyond the dunes. Our room was pleasant and comfortable with everything we needed and expected. As other reviewers had said, breakfast was limited but adequate. Hey, the coffee was great! Parking is a battle, and you'll be amazed how stupidly some people park to be as close to their room as possible. Most of the parking is across the street, but there's close-in temporary parking to unload and reload. Nothing to criticize the hotel for. We enjoyed it all. Would stay again if able. Oh, I wouldn't call it "run down," except the elevator in the tower which needs a tune-up. ;-) Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, definitely ask for the tower above the 2nd floor. Worth the mark-up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

a trip down memory lane

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: See remarks above--I see no point in repeating myself.
Cons: See above
Location: There is a lot to do nearby, but we were mostly interested in resting at the hotel, walking on the beach, reading, and chilling out.
We hadn't been t Litchfield Beach in over thirty years, so it was a nostalgic trip for us. When we arrived at the hotel, the room we had been assigned was totally unacceptable--dark, dingy, and cramped. when we spoke with the staff at reception, they immediately gave us keys to select another room, at the same cost. After looking at four rooms we made our selection and were, for the most part, quite pleased with it. We did learn that each room is owned by individuals and therefore there is quite a lack of consistency throughout the inn. Also, the tub/shower plumbing is in need of repair, but upon request the staff made some quick repairs so that it was acceptable. Perhaps the most disappointing facet of the package was the continental breakfast. I guess we had expected more, but it reminded me of some of the breakfasts we had had in small pensions in Germany and Austria. On the other hand, the location of the inn on the beach is perfect, the hotel has two pools, two restaurants (we tried the more informal bar/cafe and found it very nice. And as I noted above the staff were most helpful, pleasant, and accommodating. The people at the desk, the cleaning staff, and the repairmen were all first-rate.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Spartanburg,SC

wet floors

Posted Oct 7, 2014
all 3 of us fell on slippery wet floor in bedroom, stale food for breakfast. We are not coming back. No sheets on bed on Sunday, and had to call room service 3 times