Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEWARE!!! READ ABOUT THE ATTITUDES OF THE STAFF--IT'S TRUE!!

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Arriving
Location: It's actually far away from the main strip in Myrtle Beach
Refused to allow me and my family to check in because they said they didn't take Discover for room incidentals--the same card we had used to book the hotel. I gave them a VISA and they said they couldn't get it to run. I found out later from my VISA card bank that they had made multiple authorizations on my card even though they said they could not get any to run. I asked for a refund on the room then so my family and I could find something else. They refused. I pointed out that my wife and kids and I were being stranded and they threatened to call the police if I didn't leave. We ended up paying extra for another room. STILL trying to get reimbursed. BEWARE. All the bad reviews about rude staff are REAL! Stay elsewhere...it's not worth the risk!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jamie from Raleigh, NC

Mediocre compared to others

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is my first time staying at Tilghman and while the resort is very clean and kept well, I found they lacked in places that others excelled. Our complimentary toiletries and kitchen supplies were pretty much non existent. We arrived to one very small sized bar of soap in each bathroom, a small tube of shampoo and one thing of coffee in the kitchen. At other places, especially in this price range, you get plenty of soap, shampoo, lotion, dish soap, washing powder etc...not too much of a deal for me because I bring all of my own; with exception to paper towels which I pick up locally along with groceries. Second thing is they do not provide separate towels for pool usage and they won't give you any more room towels either! No ice maker on site....what? I will say that the poolside cafe was reasonably priced, had excellent food and the couple working there were extremely pleasant and friendly. Another person worth mentioning is the young lady that ran the Saturday night "Dive in movie". I forget her name, but she was very nice. My son, being the helper that he is, helped her gather all the chairs at the end of the movie and she was very kind to acknowledge his effort by rewarding him and his cousin not only verbally, but also giving them a special gift. I would stay at this property again, but only if the other two properties I usually frequent have no vacancy...which is how we ended up at Tilghman in the first place :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location. Nice looking hotel. To bad service is not consistent and as good quality as the look of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mrs. Rodman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by April from Ohio

Disappointed.

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: The pool area was clean.
Cons: Staff's attitude, condition of rooms, have a cleaning staff that knows how to truely clean.
Location: The location was good, not real busy.
The room size was perfect. But, the cleaniness of the room & the condition of the furniture was poor. There were crayons under a chair in the sitting area from previous peolpe that had stayed in that room.There were hand prints on the side of the fabric covered couch that I was able to remove with a little cold water. The room was very dusty & several bulbs were burnt out. I actually had to go to Walmart & get cleaning supplies to clean before I felt comfortable letting my family reside in this unit. I have stayed in N Mytle Beach many times & one thing I have always enjoyed at every place I have stayed is the friendly staff. The front desk girls were aweful. They made you feel like you were stupid for asking anything. The only friendly staff member we encountered was the gentleman that over saw the pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by patti tanking

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tiffany from alabama

The ocean view was amazing!!!

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: The ocean view!!!!
Cons: Hair dryers should be in every room.
Location: It wasn't really in walking distance of a lot of places. We had to drive basically everywhere with the exception of the beach!!
The room was spacious and very clean! The balcony was huge and so was the kitchen. Very quick walk to the beach. Staff was nice and the parking deck is attached to the hotel and bot across the street which was a plus! I would definitely stay here again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rod from Pa

Myrtle wknd at Tilghman

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Pool area and free movie rental
Cons: Furniture and front desk attitude. Not bad but just seemed a little put off that i was not a condo owner but, lord forbid, a paying weekend guest
Location: great location. Cherry Grove just up street with small beach atmosphere and Fishing pier. Also close to Barefoot Landing.
Have stayed at the Tilghman several times over the past 5 years. It seems to be that perfect blend of Condo quietness with Resort amenities. Also close to beach but not that beachfront price. This year we booked a short 3 night stay on our way home from Charleston SC and were put in a 3 bedroom on 14th floor. Said they were under new ownership and had an agent on site. The problem was that bed was worst i ever slept in and living room furniture terrible. Not like we had come to expect from the Tilghman.Looks like maybe it was Hotel owned condo unit. If they have these they chould spend at least what i gave them for a 3 night stay and buy new mattress and furniture. The bed pretty much ruined my wknd I was so stiff. Probably not going to stay there next time thru to give it break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Phillip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2012 on Hotels.com