Ratings based on 1,024 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maryland

Great view of the beach

Posted May 2, 2015
Parking was across the street. Very inconvenient. The room doors slam so every day/night there was constant slamming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location on the beach was nice. Pool area was nice as was the pool bar.
I arrived late Wed night. I was given a room with a balcony overlooking the parking lot. I upgraded to a room with a balcony with a beach view. Definitely worth the $25 extra a night. Unfortunately a large group of college kids from Charleston arrived Friday afternoon. The fraternity was having a formal dance in Myrtle Beach Sat night. They were very loud throughout the night on Fri. I got very little sleep. Sat was even worse with a large beach party taking place around midnight outside our room and the police showing up on the beach at 12:45 am. This, of course, prompted alot yelling from the balconies. Things finally quieted down around 3am. Although, this is not the hotel's fault per se, I would have expected stricter enforcement about loud partying by hotel security and partying on the beach (clearly with alcohol which is supposedly forbidden).
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom mass

This is a hard one to write

Posted Apr 26, 2015
We had bought our six-day vacation through Expedia got a really great deal and I thought this will be fine it's a Westgate Hotel it was an amusement park new with figured so it's not an ocean view big deal oceans right outside we got to the room and we were highly disappointed the curtains were dirty and tattered the toilet didn't work right the shower drain Did not work right so when you took a shower the tub filled with water and our view of that we could see the amusement park we also had a really great view of a dilapidated sort of roof with the DirecTV antenna bolted to something and held down by cinderblocks it was just ridiculous. So we went downstairsAnd spoke with the front desk and just Basically told them that we weren't happy when we looked at the wrong picture it looked like a nice room but that wasn't the case we didn't go yelling or screaming or anything like that we just were very even keel then just said either we need a refund for the rest of our stay we need to stay somewhere else this isn't good enough or what can they do. The front desk person was so nice and he was really appreciative of the way we went about our discontent he spoke with the manager and they upgraded us to a oceanfront room the room was the same type but as soon as we got there you could just feel the sense of being on vacation now we are ones go looking for anything for free but you pay money and you just expect a decent room to hang your hat in the end that all worked out the stastaff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed there my son was doing a college visit ccu

Posted Apr 25, 2015
20 minute drive ( 10 miles) to Coastal Carolina University. Hotel was good for a quick stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wilson, NC

Awesome hotel. Perfect Location!!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The location was awesome. Room was very spacious. Will return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old property

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Staff wasn't friendly They pay more attention to time share
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winston-Salem, NC

Extremely nice resort, convenient to everything.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: The room was outstanding, and very comfortable. The hot tub was amazing! The different pools, and the easy access to the beach and Family Kingdom.
Cons: NOTHING at all.
Location: Family Kingdom and easy access to food places on Kings Hwy.
The experience of a lifetime! It was my first time booking my own hotel and I made the best choice. I am student and mother so we needed a great away. The room was perfect, and I could have stayed in there and relaxed without even enjoying the beach and activities. From the room, to everything the hotel had to offer...this was a stay to remember. Thank You!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by westgate_customercare, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We’re beyond thrilled you enjoyed everything we have to offer. It’s great you found the room to be perfect and felt relaxed during your stay. We hope you come back and visit us again soon! Sincerely, Idalise
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible customer service.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
I will not or refer anyone to the resort. Location was nice but there was not anything else to recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by westgate_customercare, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We regret to hear you had a less than desirable stay with us. On a positive note, we glad you enjoyed our location. We hope you allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations and wish you the best on your future travels! Sincerely, Idalise
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Not a 3 star hotel, more like 1 star.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing!!! Okay, maybe the proximity to the beach, park, and restaurants.
Cons: Front desk needs customer service training. Housekeeping needs a better schedule. Manager needs to be on duty and available for customers.
Location: Location to beach is great. Small amusement park nearby. Good restaurants are within walking distance.
Paid for 2 double beds with ocean front view but was offered a "free upgrade". Should have known something was up when the front desk said that since our kids were so well behaved they would do us a favor and give us the upgrade. Checked into a dirty room that smelled of urine, had no pillows and no mattress on the pullout. Informed the front desk clerk and her attitude said it all - she could care less. No apologies just take this other room which had a view of the parking lot. At least it was clean. Wanted to discuss the situation with a manager and was informed no manager was on duty. Only 2 towels were in the room so we requested a couple of additional sets with wash clothes and they arrived around 1030PM. Housekeeping only came by after we requested them and they left the dirty towels in the room. Had to park 2 blocks away. Anyone that gives this more than a 3 star or better has never stayed in a 3 star or better hotel. This was supposed to be a 3 star hotel - more like 1 star. Truly disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NORTH CAROLINA

FIRST EXPERIENCE

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: NEW AND LOCATION
Cons: 1) SHOULD INSTALL EXHAUST FAN ON BATHROOM 2) SHOULD INSTALL INDOOR HEATED POOL 3) SHOULD HAVE HOTEL DIRECTORY IN ROOM
Location: ITS LOCATION IS PERFECT, CLOSE TO RESTAURANT, LEISURE PARK AND MAIN HIGHWAY
NICE HOTEL STAFF & FRIENDLY, PERFECT LOCATION, VERY CLEAN HOTEL ESPECIALLY ITS ROOM , NICE RESTAURANT BUT IT SURPRISED US THAT NO EXHAUST FAN ON BATHROOM & NO HOTEL DIRECTORY IN ROOM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by westgate_customercare, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed everything from our friendly staff to our convenient location. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as a way to provide a more relaxing stay for our guests and owners. We hope to see you again soon!