Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Massena, New York

A week in Myrtle Beach

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The pool was accessible and there were always chairs available and it was clean. The rooms were taken care of
Cons: The towels ran out at the pool on many occasions. The toilet paper was extremely poor quality for people such as ourselves that stayed a whole week.
Location: The location is excellent. Right on the beach and within 10-20 miles at most of major attractions. There are many things to do within walking distance
My wife and I booked a room through Expedia for a week in Myrtle Beach. The resort is right on the main strip within walking distance of many attractions and just steps from the beach. The pool is excellent and well maintained. The rooms themselves were kept clean and supplied. We were very satisfied with the location of the resort. Overall this was a very good experience and no problems at the resort. We enjoyed ourselves and would surely return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Exeter,UK

A tired hotel desparately in need of an update.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Avoid , lots of better hotels for the price.
Cons: As stated.
Location: Fantastic beach and Broadway has to be experienced.
A really disappointing hotel that promised so much that turned out to be a real let down. Lobby was manic with sandy wet people walking right in off the beach. All areas appeared to be in need of redecoration. First time I have stayed in a hotel where only one of you can log onto the wifi at a time, more then one would have to pay.Given the quality or rather lack of wifi connectivity this would have been disgusting. The additional charges for use of the facilities was also poor and presented the hotel in a poor-money grabbing light. America is blessed with some great hotels and even ones on a budget,sadly this isn't one and should be avoided.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The only thing I would have to complain about is the the ice maker on the floor we stayed on leaked water so the hallway was always wet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. We apologize for the water in the hallway due to the ice machine. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention, we will make sure that the issue has been resolved. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise and will return in the future. Sincerely, Katrina
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnsburg, IL

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: It was on the ocean and close to nightlife.
Cons: Microwaves in the rooms would be nice.
We came to this hotel for our granddaughters birthday. It was right on the beach, except our room was on the other side facing the amusement park. It was still a nice view we just wished it was on the ocean side. We enjoyed our stay.i
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy to know that you and your family were able to enjoy your granddaughter’s birthday at our ideal location. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Sincerely, Katrina
2 out of 5
by Chino from MD

Not as expected

Posted Jul 16, 2014
a bit dated of a hotel in need of repairs. for the price payed, felt it should have been a lot more amenities and rooms need TLC. if you are not an owner, most amenities like parking on site or getting beach umbrella and chair is not available yet you pay resort fee. this should be obvious at the hotel website. the closeness to the beach and having the amusement park close by for kids is probably the only positive I have. expected a lot better facility from pictures on the website. Front desk clerk and cleaning staff were nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking a moment to write a review about your stay at Myrtle Beach. We understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. We appreciate this opportunity to improve, and will work to exceed your expectations on what we hope will be your next visit. Sincerely, Anja
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brookyn, NY

Hotel on the beach which was a plus

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The staff was great. The fact that it is close to beach is good. The pool was ok.
Location: The location is good ot is across from amusement park and water park ( very small) you neeed a car to get around.
Our room was not completely checked the tub mat was pulled up and there was glue in the tub. We called the front desk they fixed it but it should have been corrected before we checked in. The sink and tub drained very slowly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience. We are sorry to hear of the condition of your tub upon your arrival but relieved that our staff was able to resolve the problem for you. We hope to have another chance at providing you with a wonderful stay! Sincerely, Katrina
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't get the room I thought..

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Room smelled like mold, frig was leaking, bugs in room and hall, hall had no air and dirty, Carpet was soaked due to ice maker leaking and stunk.. staff was not friendly at counter and didn't seem to care.. would not go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking a moment to write a review concerning your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. Based on your review we see that these issues need to be brought to the immediate attention of the resort management staff and we will be doing just that. Our objective is to provide all guests with superior service and accommodations. Again, please accept our apologies and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Anja
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort but staff ignores you

Posted Jul 15, 2014
View was great. Staff didnt really communicate with us. Cleaning staff constantly argued in the hall. Was constantly hassalled about a timeshare
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing with us the highs and lows of your recent visit the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. Feedback like yours allows us to see things from our guests’ point of view, and take note areas if any, that are in need of attention. We value your business and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Katrina
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The hotel listed on the website is the new building, however when you get there they put you in the older building which is very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do apologize if you were not happy with your most recent stay. We do have a resort side and a hotel side. You can always request to be on the resort side; however it is based off of available inventory. We hope this will not keep you from visiting us again. Brittany
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How not to satisfy your customers

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing!!
Cons: It is obvious that the hotel needs to hire a professional hotel manager that can secure customer satisfaction and insure that customers will return.
Location: Location is good!
When we first got we were told there system was down, this pushed check-in time back by 1 hour. Check in clerk did not smile during the check in process and I did not get the sense that she was feeling our discomfort. Once we got into the room there were no face towels or bath towels we had to send for them. We were told maintenance was on there way to the room because the dining table leg was broken, maintenance got and said he could not find the problem. He said this kind of mix-up happens all of the time!l We were promised an oceanview but it was a very, very tiny view of the ocean. After the third day we wanted the room redone so I called the front desk, left a $10.00 tip for housekeeping and what we got was the sheets changed and fresh towels nothing else was touched in the room and the sweeper was never run!