Ratings based on 835 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place to be

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The hotel was nice and clean and the staff was excellent.
Location: The Family Amusement Park was just across the street as well as Friendly's Restuarant which we chose to go to for late night snacks.
I have been to Myrtle Beach several times, but when I have chosen to stay on the beach, the hotels have been nasty and did not look like anything like the pictures on the Internet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockland, NY

Nice hotel with a great location.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Overall we enjoyed staying at Westgate Beach Resort, the resort was on the beach and across the street from Family Kingdom and Spalshes water park, if you are traveling with kids that is a plus! However, Westgate is a resort which means that many people own a timeshare in the renovated unit, the overall mission is to get people to invest in a timeshare, I was not a part of any promotion however was told about the meeting that takes place where they tell you about the things going on in the hotel, this meeting took 4 hours of my vacation, it was nothing about activities going on in the hotel and more of a promo to buy a timeshare at the resort!! So please decline the meeting if offered by a staff member and explain that you paid for your stay through Expedia, meaning no timeshare for you because you will loose precious hours from your vacation!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Ok hotel, on the beach

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: We did enjoy the lazy river when unattended children weren't disrupting our "laziness" in our floating tubes. Beach access, pool bar.
Cons: Customer service
Location: The hotel is located across the street from a family fun carnival, down the street from a water park and beach attractions ie: jet skis, banana boats.
We were extremely disapointed with this hotel. We had booked one room with a king size bed overlooking the ocean on Expedia. When we checked in, we were told the hotel doesn't book ocean view rooms or king size rooms through Expedia. Very disappointing. All pictures of the resort on line are of the new wing of the building which consist of mostly time share rooms. We had asked the night before our checkout if we could have an hour extension on our check out and we were told yes, just to call down and confirm in the morning. I did as I was told and called the front desk in the morning asking for a 1 hour extention to our checkout. We were told no, checkout is at 10am, no exceptions (not even after they messed up our room).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Cleanliness of room

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: CLEANLINESS!!
Location: there's a family amusement park right across the street with several mini golf courses in walking distance. More of a family area
We are not timeshare owners at this resort, but we decided to choose the "Resort Choice" room. Although the price is reasonable, the room was located in the older portion of the hotel. As soon as we arrived in our room I noticed there was still used soap in the shower, what looked like pubic hair along the backside of the toilet, and mold spores on the ceiling in the bathroom. It made me wonder what else was not cleaned prior to our arrival. I thought maybe when the cleaning staff arrived the next day they would notice and clean up the bathroom. No dice. The soap and hair stayed ALL WEEK! I didn't notify the front desk to exchange our room because I don't think any other room would have been much cleaner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester MA

Close to the beach but not nice

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I had a good time in the city because there are a lot of things to do. However my hotel experience was not pleasant. There are hidden fees that you find out when you are there and there isn't anything you could do but pay them. Also everything in the hotel is about the time share holders. You dont have parking in the hotel parking you don't have sun umbrellas sits etc. provided for you. You will have to pay $35.00 per day for two beach chairs and one umbrella. This is also not disclosed because I called the hotel before my vacations and they didn't say you needed to pay. Any time you ask for something they ask you back " are you a timeshare holder?" If your answer is no their answer is also no. You feel uncomfortable and unwanted despite the fact that you paid. The other is that your room doesn't get cleaned until 4 pm because the timeshare holders room are done first. I am not sure why they have you go there! I will not go back and also not recommend it to anyone. Rooms and balconies look like haven't been cleaned in years.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Beachfront but loud and rundown

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: beachfront access
Cons: Hallways need renovating, and doors need to be replaced and get better locks
Location: Family Kingdom amusement park is next door, and it is beachfront. 2nd Avenue Pier is about a mile up the beach
As far as beach access, you cannot get any closer. However I wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel for just anybody. This is a place for families that are looking not to spend too much on vacation but still have decent accommodations. It's very loud both in the rooms and in the common areas with kids running around and screaming, and the unfortunate family bickering. Walking through the hallways leaves a lot to be desired, especially when the cleaning service is going through. They just throw dirty towels and linens in the middle of the hallway in the middle of the day and leave them until a cart comes by to pick them up. The visual appeal of the hallway is poor. I was really nervous walking through the hallway as to what the state of the room would be. The doors need to either be replaced or at the very least get new locks. But the rooms were fairly clean, bed was comfortable, and the air conditioning worked well. The bathrooms need some improvement. Showers are small and short, and the drains all needed to be cleaned out. This hotel offers a lot of activities for families with children, so that's a huge plus. But this is not the place for someone needed a quiet, relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Very nice, loved my view, loved the room service.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
I had a wonderful time, i loved how fast the elevators were. The view was awsome, i felt relaxed and welcomed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking a moment to review the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. It pleases us when our guests trully enjoy their family vacation time. What a better place than the nice Myrtle beach with our gorgeous view and accommodating units. We’re glad you chose us and hope you will visit again! M.B
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Not a top choice...

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I do a lot of travel for work and have stayed at hotels ranging from gorgeous to hopeless. Unfortunately, this hotel was closer to the latter. It is in need of a good cleaning and major updates. It was obvious that the hotel is a feeder for the timeshare business and that the hotel is a distant second.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review on the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. Our owners and guests are equally valuable to us, that is why we welcome all types of reservations and treat them the same way; we are sorry to hear this might have not been your experience. We do thank you for bringing some issues to our attention, as it gives us the opportunity to better ourselves in what is required. Furthermore, we expect that you addressed your concerns with management for proper assistance. We appreciate this opportunity to improve, and will work to exceed your expectations on your next visit! Micky
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very close to all things we wanted in Myrtle beach

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The closeness to the beach was the best assett
Cons: Everything was perfect for our stay
Location: Perfect location for all our needs
Nice hotel lots of facilities. Very near the amusement park. Lots of nearby restaurants and lovely boardwalk by the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your input. It is lovely to know that you enjoyed the facilities, location and the nice boardwalk. The next time you’re in town; we would love to exceed your expectations once again! Micky
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

As expected

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Had no problems at all. Staff was good to work with and hotel was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. It is exciting to know that you had a positive time in all aspects. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and hope you provide us with the pleasure again in the future! Mika