Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marijkefrom Melbourne, Australia

Grand hotel, very imposing position on hill.

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: It's an experience to stay in a palace. one certainly feels grand. thought the newer rooms overlooking the pool were much lighter than the old.
Cons: inside needs an upgrade, tired.
Location: good location, little out of Mysore, but easy transport into city. Loys of ashtanga yoga, seeing the old city, a delightful place to explore.
beautiful old hotel, but the rooms and interior are generally tired. Lovely gardens with amazing views over Mysore. The staff were helpful, as room I booked was basic, and they gave me a lovely poolside room with balcony. unfortunately they were setting up for a large conference by the pool so there was alot of activity there. Not so conducive to relaxing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Krisfrom India

Amazing palace

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms need better upkeep. Restaurants are ok
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by echbeirfrom Belgium

Great Palace, Horrible Rooms

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
One word of advice: don't go there. The Palace is nice to see, really good architecture of the early 1920s, but not well maintained. It's so sad that the state of the palace is degraded. As for the rooms, they are sooo horrible: old furniture, bad smells, worse bed sheets ever seen in my life, bathroom towels not clean,... breakfast awful. Guests are allowed to visit the palace, so you don't need to stay there.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kanika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by From Mysorefrom Ocean City NJ USA

Highly priced, low value

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
There are better hotels in Mysore with lower rates with superior service. Only reason i stayed was because it was previously a palace and since has been made a hotel. Furnitures are creeky and upkeep required.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Madhufrom New Jersey

Feels special

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Staff were not as sharp as in big cities but went way beyond the call of duty to serve!
Great stay in a luxurious palace where some parts of the old royal environment are retained while some are upgraded for modern comfort! Watch out for the hotel being booked/taken over for movie shootings or weddings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meenafrom New York, USA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: The royal interiors of the hotel.
Cons: The hotel should get taxis for its guests that charge the normal rate. Just because we stay at Lalit Mahal doesn't mean we have to pay more.
Location: Excellent location.
The hotel was beautiful. The room and the decor were excellent . I felt like royalty. The quality of the food and service were very good. The computer room was always kept locked and so had to get someone to open it when I wanted to check my emails. That was inconvenient. Also the taxi arranged by the reception is very expensive. A very short ride to the bus station - maybe a mile or so- costed us Rs.500/-. This is a total rip off. If we had walked to the gate and hailed a taxi it would not have costed us more than Rs. 100/- . Maybe even less than that. I am not sure why this difference. The hotel should not get a taxi service that charges so much. Also it reflects very poorly on us with foreign tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bangalore

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Remains as heritage hotel but service n food has to be improved a bit. It's good to visit once, to stay in palace at very affordable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by sherb19from CT, USA

Classic Indian Heritage

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The palace is a slice of Mysore history. We had a lovely stay and found the staff very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are massive. They could benefit from new drapery and bedspreads (sheets were just fine). Otherwise, they were just fine. The food was pretty good and reasonable priced for a such a hotel. (As someone who frequents Mysore, I prefer to eat at some of my favorite, inexpensive dives such at Mylari Hotel and Green Leaf.) Awesome bar with classic snicker table at palace... also nice to sit by the pool, not sure if I'd go swimming in it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfy beds

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Palace is a nice place, however needs minor upkeep like the aquarium near Banquet Hall or Restaurant. I don't mind going back again.