Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Harry from SE PA

The Gestapo GMgr

Posted Mar 23, 2014
1. Gen. Mgr (Barry) acted like a bully towards me. He invited me to leave on my first day, after I had insisted on having my room's toilet properly fixed, and made an observation about the indoor pool location. Staff was required to report every comment to him. At checkout, when I asked for a release of the (excessive) $100 incidental hold, he was telephoned by clerk, and incredibly had the nerve to simply threaten to call police if I wasn't off premises in five minutes. 2. The policies were very penny pinching, including provision of low quality towels. When I asked for more, received even less- a set of one in each size my next to last day. Barry himself, on watching the toilet repair, disdainfully commented that my four towel set was an "abundance". 3. The advertised "hot breakfast" was simply frozen sandwiches which after microwaving, didn't even approach McDonald's quality. Otherwise, instant oatmeal packets, donuts and white bread for toast.
2 out of 5
by Gretch from Cape Cod

A one star hotel...

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Terrific front desk - Alexa (hope that's right) - juggling every hat in the place!
Cons: Complete update, more staff
Location: Mohegan Sun, 15 minutes.
We just wanted a quick and close place to stay for a night after an evening at Mohegan Sun. Even though we didn't have high expectations for the Clarion, we were really disappointed when we arrived. They had one gal on the front desk, managing check-ins, phone calls, questions and handling the demands of a couple large events. She was great, but overrun with guests. This is a Days Inn quality hotel, tiny bathroom, old TV, beaten hallways, vending machines unplugged, and a place I would expect to pay half what we did. Its a joint to pull off after 12 hours of driving for a place to crash and go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not too shabby

Posted Mar 10, 2014
The room was nice, the staff was friendly and the free breakfast and wifi were a nice added part. For the price, I'd say I was happy overall. The only part I was disappointed about was that the hot tub was broken. The pool was usable though so I guess it worked out in the end. I would probably go again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by d from long island

close to highway, resturants

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: free breakfast, computor room
Cons: heat in pool, leaky ceiling in pool
Location: chucky chese, mall, movies and casino
I agree with other people who have reviewed that it could be hard to find the entrance. Yes they need to heat the pool and hot tub. free breakfast excelent, room with two computors exelent, staff excelent. If i want perfection i gues i need to pay more. since i can't this hotel is great for the price. my family and i hope to be staying here again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mar from new london

great place to stay

Posted Feb 19, 2014
staff were very friendly. rooms were clean. will be be staying there again. I have pain much more for rooms that weren,t nearly as nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by BW from CT

Low cost

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Seems to need some updating and fixing up.
Location: Convenient to Connecticut College, Coast Guard Academy, Crystal Mall, and a short drive to Mystic.
This hotel was a low cost and convenient location for our quick overnight stay. Was clean and comfortable enough, with friendly staff, but the place could certainly use some updating and fixing up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kristen from Connecticut

Nice place

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Location: The hotel is close to both Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods casinos. It offers shuttle rides to both. Mystic is also nearby.
We chose this hotel because it was close to Mohegan Sun and less expensive than some of the other hotels in the area. We were pleasantly surprised to hear that they had a shuttle to the casino that cost $10 per person for a round trip, not something we had anticipated. Our room was nice, although the bathroom could have been updated. Also, the vending machine near our room wasn't working, and the little store by the front desk charged almost twice as much for a bottle of soda.
1 out of 5
by rick from p

Would never stay there again

Posted Jan 2, 2014
We were lied to many many times The shower pressure the wasn't any got treated horrible would never ever go to use again this is the one the places that you have
3 out of 5
by Jeff from Boston, MA

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Cons: Coffee for guests in the lobby. Back up reception desk person to help when the one who is there is attending other guests. Our checkout took a while
It would have been lovely if we could have had a cup of coffee or juice in the morning. The bar/meeting area is completely barren as if the portion of the building is about to be shut down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2013