Ratings based on 901 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Nice stay

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Clean, comfortable rooms, pleasant staff and a decent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the outskirts of Mystic.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Nice hotel on the outskirts of Mystic. Short drive to downtown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Last Stay After So Many Years

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Many previous stays.
Cons: Upgrade the facilities and hire customer service oriented managers.
We've stayed at the Comfort Inn Mystic for many years. It has always been a great location, offering easy access to the activities and attractions in area, as well as a good base for venturing out on day trips. The rooms were always comfortable and clean, and the staff helpful and friendly. We have fond memories of our dog, Casey, traveling with us and staying here, as it was a pet-friendly motel from early on. It's true the facilities have aged, the carpeting becoming worn, the wall paper faded, shower stalls water-stained, and the staff seemed to rotate more frequently, the faces becoming less familiar. I suppose we sensed our time staying at this motel was coming to an end, but we didn't expect that end to come so soon. On our last four-night stay the rooms were filthy: housekeeping staff was slow to respond, with a couple of housekeepers admitting they were understaffed for a number of weeks, which was evident from them working well into the early evenings, their carts overflowing with used sheets and towels. We arrived to nacho chips on the carpet, one tissue in the dispenser, the TV screen and refrigerator smeared with god knows what, crumbles on counters, a used towel on the bathroom door hook, and more. Management's response was they were unusually busy as the motel was full. Jumping forward, we came back to the room on our last day to find the room unmade--at 6:30 PM! The front desk offered no apology. What else can we say: Thanks for the memories. Bye.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa.

Nice, quiet hotel close to shops.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The hotel was clean and quiet along w/a very nice breakfast offering.
Cons: The eating service area was too small for the number of people it had to accommodate. We were elbow-to elbow. And too few tables..had to wait for one
Location: Plenty of shops and eateries were nearby in Olde Mystic Village. And the town of Mystic was only a pleasant 2 mile ride away.
Right from the check-in, we had a good experience. The clerk was very helpful from the start. We mentioned what we wanted to do and he was helpful w/a list of 'top spots'...including a savings of $10 per ticket to the Mystic Aquarium if purchased through the hotel. The hotel was nice and quiet...not traffic noise. Staff was very accommodating and polite. The only complaint would be the size of the breakfast area...it wasn't big enough to accommodate everyone after a certain time. We got to breakfast between 6am and 7am w/o any problem. We slept in to after 8 and had to wait for a table. The area was just too small to handle the number of guests using the facility. The hotel is w/i walking distance of a 60-shop 'village' which was quite nice. The variety of shops tended to 'something for everyone' while the prices were very reasonable. All in all, the hotel was a positive experience. I would have no problem w/staying at this hotel again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Good location in Mystic
Cons: There was no bathroom fan and the light switch was on the outside. We had 3 people staying in the room and it would have been nice to have more towels
The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Everything was satisfactory.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RI

Little Comfort at the Comfort Inn

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Fairly close to the areas in CT that I was visiting. Great restaurant in the adjacent parking lot.
Cons: They really need to re-think the whole breakfast arrangement. Should really warn guests when housekeeping will not be done till very late evening.
Location: Essex - Steam train and river boat cruise; Old Saybrook - Katherine Hepburn Theater; Guilford - Arts Festival the weekend I was there. Mystic Village
Began requesting an early check in time 2 days prior to my arrival. Was told I needed to call on the morning of my arrival as they could not be certain a room would be ready before 3:00 PM. Called repeatedly on the morning of my arrival and was finally told that the room would not be available before check in time. Not the biggest problem, but an inconvenience to my scheduled plans. Check in was easy - no issues in the process. Stairway and corridor leading to my room was very warm. Granted it was a warm couple of days in Mystic, but I expected some air conditioning in the hallways. Room was adequate. Window curtains did not close completely. I ended up having to paper clip the curtains together to keep them closed. Fortunately, I had a couple of paperclips with me. Bathroom had no fan for ventilation - so mirrors fogged after each shower and had to be cleared by hand. Room was not cleaned after our first night's stay until late in the evening. Housekeeping staff was very courteous, but told us that a couple of people quit and they were short staffed as a result. This could explain why we could not check in early. Not enough people to clean the rooms. Breakfast each morning left much to be desired. Food selection was adequate at best. The space designated for the breakfast area was totally inadequate for the number of guests seeking breakfast. Could hardly move within the space. Trash barrels overflowing. Staff not at all helpful - often in the way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great place close to Casino!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The cost was reasonable!
Cons: Better breakfast!
Location: Casino, aquarium and good diner!
Great price and close to casino! Beds were very comfortable! Pets were welcome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK CITY

HOTEL WAS WALKING DISTANT TO OLD MYSTIC VILLAGE.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: THE LOCATION WAS GREAT. THE STAFF ARE WONDERFUL. THE HOTEL WAS SO CLEAN AND THE POOL IS WELL KEPT. THE PRICE... G R E A T.
Cons: THE HOTEL CAN USE ANOTHER LUGGAGE CART.. THEY HAVE TWO...MY SISTER CANT CARRY OR LIFT. SO IT LEFT ME TO CARRY EVERYTHING. SO IT MEANT 3 TRIPS.
Location: THE MYSTIC VILLAGE IS NEAR IF YOU LIKE WALKING YOU CAN... THERE IS A DINER NEARBY. THERE ARE SO MANY RESTAURANTS YOU CAN DRIVE TO IN LESS THAN 10MINS
THE HOTEL STAFF WAS GREAT. ESPECIALLY THE LADIES WHO PUT OUT AND CLEAN AFTER THE BREAKFAST. MY SISTER AND I ARRIVED LATE FOR BREAKFAST OUR 1ST DAY..BUT THE LADIES GAVE US FRUITS, YOGURT ,MUFFIN AND OF COURSE COFFEE. THEY WHERE SO SWEET ABOUT IT. REMINDED US BREAKFAST IS FROM 6AM TO 9AM.. WHICH NEEDLESS TO SAY WE WERE THERE AT 8AM. THANK YOU LADIES YOU MADE OUR STAY MORE MEMORABLE. THE HANDYMAN NAME JOHNSON WAS ALSO VERY NICE.. IN BRING US RACKS FOR OUR FRIDGE.JOHNSON OFFER TO CHANGE IT TOTALLY BUT IT WAS NOT NEEDED. IT WAS FINE. STAFF AT THIS HOTEL DO CARE AND DO WANT TO MAKE YOUR STAY AS BEST AS POSSIBLE.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby but not terrible

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Hotel really needs some upgrades - simply does not compete with a budget Marriott brand. Staff argued in front of guests, doors to the laundry and kitchen left ajar, facilities shabby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Was a nice getaway, off the main seaport area but very close by. Great, complimentary breakfast.