Ratings based on 727 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Dissapointed

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: wait to see when renovations are done
Location: we go up every year for the essex steam train polar express. there is also the dinosaur place for kids. Moheghan sun is really close
The staff was friendly and nice. We had 2 first floor joining rooms. The hallway smelt of smoke TV did not work, the lock on the door was broken. the front desk worker fixed the tv (lose wire) beds seemed decent and bathroom was ok. The next morning the breakfast was good but they ran out of juice and had no newspapers. The indoor pool was not heated. I believe the hotel is under going some construction so maybe we caught them on an off weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom utica ny

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The hallway and lobby was under construction but the room was big and beautiful, but cold. Breakfast was as expected. Staff was friendly and brought toothpaste to our room at 6 am with a smile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Elaine Roberts, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites Norwich... we hope to see you soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sink clogged, phone line cut and no toilet tissue

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Had to request a different room. The first room had too many issues. The hallway smelled god awful, there was no toilet tissue in the bathroom and someone had cut the phone line! The staff, however, were very helpful and friendly. We got another room and it was ok
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Worcester, MA

Close to Mohegan Sun...Not much else

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Close to Mohegan Sun and offered a shuttle.
Cons: An additional shuttle, quality of staff, maintenance in rooms.
Location: Near Mohegan Sun that has gambling, concerts and clubs!
This hotel was overpriced for the quality of service you received. We stayed with 2 other couples that also purchased rooms to this hotel; when we arrived an hour after their designated check in time, none of our rooms were available. The staff seemed very uninformed and confused about any questions they were asked. The shuttle was limited, we were able to get a ride to the casino, but there were no other times available for a ride back so we had to catch a cab.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom massachusetts

CONSTRUCTION ZONE

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Walk in, scaffolding and rolls of carpeting in foyer. Staff seemed unsure hotel procedure. Took elevator to the 5th floor...white paint computer paper placards pointing us to the rooms. Emergency route sign on the floor. Duct/painters tape room numbers. We were only in the room minutes before heading to the casinos. Upon return in the early am, toilet handle is not attached to toilet allowing it to run continuously unless we removed the lid and fixed it manually. Limited tv. No local digital channels only analog. Disappointing! In the morning I complained to the front desk the " gentleman" acknowledged there were issues but said we should have made the complaint in the middle of the night. I paid a lot more at this hotel relative to the hotel I normally book in New London. Not at all worth it! NEVER AGAIN...not booking again on Expedia either! I will never stay here
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Naugatuck, CT

Still Under Construction!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: I think once the Construction is over this Hotel can regain its image as a very nice & welcoming hotel.
Cons: Change the security latches...there are a huge inconvenience all around!
Location: This Hotel is located about 8 miles from Mohegan Sun.
The Staff was very helpful and apologetic when it came it the issues and problems at had, but that didn't take away from the issues we encountered. First, I had requested a King size bedroom suite, however received a double bed suite and there were no more Kings. Then in our room we had no running water at the sink. Lastly, we went out for the night and upon our return, was locked out by the security latched (had to break in at 3 am). We ended up in the Presidential Suite (which was technically out of order, due to the construction), and was satisfied enough to go to bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Close to Mohegan

Posted Nov 10, 2014
This was a nice place to stay outside of Mohegan. It's not 5 stars but if you're looking for a cheap place to stay the night, the Comfort Suites does the job. It was clean and spacious. The pull out couches are old and springs were coming through the mattress (I wouldn't have anyone sleep on them) but the beds were fine - typical full size.There is a shuttle bus to Mohegan which is a very short distance away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Elaine Roberts, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Comfort Suites in Norwich. Thank you for the comments and hope you choose us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Hartford

Convenient location.

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Renovations and Shuttle service to the Casino.
Location: Casino
Nice and quit. Friendly staff. Continental Breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upgraded room

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Despite some obvious renovations the staff was very accomodating and breakfast was surprising good.
My girlfriend called from the road to let front desk know we were in the area although it was before normal check in time. The woman at the desk (Sabrina) was kind enough to upgrade our room and let us check in early so we could start our weekend! The room was huge and even had a jacuzzi tub which was a nice bonus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

place to sleep nothing more

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: staff attitude. Staff could not care one way or the other about problems
Location: nothing near by as far as food or entertainment
The hotel was dirty. common areas such as hallways and elevators were filthy obviously not vacuumed for awhile. Hotel was old worn out rugs were frayed and worn. furniture in the rooms were in disrepair sofa looked old and dirty. Staff had no idea what was available outside the hotel could not give recommendation for food or entertainment. The food are was dirty and old looking very little lighting not conducive for families and looks nothing like what is advertised in the media