Ratings based on 925 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Enfield Ct.

Much too expensive

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds
Cons: Mostly everything
Location: Mystic aquarium, shopping
Hotel under construction, pool too small for large hotel, too many children with no adult only or quiet area, not as clean as it should have been, especially the air conditioning unit in our room. The price was way over what it should have been for the amenities offered, no WiFi unless paid for, and as previously mentioned too small pool area, not enough chairs either to accommodate everyone there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to attractions

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Hotel is under construction. Reception desk was 3 tables set up in the hallway. Room was not ready upon check in at 3pm. Checked in at 4pm. 2 out of the 3 lamps in our suite did not work. The room itself was very clean and had the faint smell of bleach. The breakfast buffet is a very good way to start the day with its variety. Staff was very friendly and patient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Great stay. Complimentary drinks to make up for minor renovation disturbances to service, great touch!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to attractions but little else in its favor.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Less then helpful staff. Stopped by at 2pm and told room would be ready by 3 pm. Returned at 4:30 pm, room still not ready. Drain in bathroom sink was blocked. Should have been detected when room was cleaned and repaired. There was dirt on tile floor that we picked-up. They do not provide complimentary continental breakfast. Other hotels in area do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island

EXCELLENT location! Under construction

Posted Jul 22, 2015
I gave three stars for hotel condition because the hotel is currently under construction for updating. They kept the hotel very clean during this process and the noise level was not terrible at all. The side door to the hotel did open without a key so safety concerned me a little. The location is absolutely perfect! I couldn't have placed this hotel better myself. It's directly across the street from olde mystick village and the aquarium, not to mention route 95! I would definitely go back 😄
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Terri, Hotel Management
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our fantastic location. Thanks for your understanding on our updating. We are thrilled you will be back to see us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not impressed

Posted Jul 20, 2015
They are currently renovating the hotel. Kept hearing banging and loud music from workers renovating the room next door. Room was comfortable. Was surprised that breakfast was not included since our stay for one night was over $200 - wasn't worth the money spent
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by Terri, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. My apologies for the noise. Please consider staying with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Decent Hotel, close to main Rd's and Tourist Sites

Posted Jul 14, 2015
The hotel was undergoing some type of renovations during our stay, so there was a bit of noise from dumpsters and equipment. The Hotel "Hostess" or Consieger was rude and unfriendly/ unwelcoming and stated that I was intelligible for the "free continental breakfast" that I paid extra for b/c I booked through Expedia (a third party site) and only once I showed her my confirmation WITH "Free Breakfast" Included...she rudely gave myself and guest our "coupons/ vouchers" for breakfast, which did not look very appealing and we decided to go to the nearby diner (which was very good) instead. The room was fairly clean, had a bit of a "urine" smell in bathroom and hairball from prior guest on the floor. However, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and bedding felt/ smelled clean. The room was a good/ comfortable size with pull out sofa/ love seat. Ample parking and safe feeling location w/ convenient access to main roads and attractions. The pools greatest depth is 4.5 feet, but enjoyed a refreshing dip. Pool towels took awhile before they were replenished. Overall, I feel this was a decent hotel, but I found a much nicer accomodation nearby, with better service for a better value. Hope reader finds this helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by Terri, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. My sincerest apologies for your stay not being great. I will share your review with our team so that we may improve, as we want to be the Mystic choice for all hotel needs. Thank you again for sharing this with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamden, CT

Renovations underway

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location, pool, courtyard off the pool
Location: Mystic Aquarium is across the street. Mystic Seaport and historic town of Mystic is within a couple miles. Mystic Highway Bridge opens every hour.
This review is for current (July 2015) conditions only. New ownership is renovating the entire hotel so understand that before you book. Expect irregularities. Many rooms are not in use, making "sold-out" all the more frequent. Could not change ADA room to regular. It will probably be a lot better when renovations are complete.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by Terri, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate this feedback and your understanding. Updating our hotel was needed and we have some great feature being added including a whole new restaurant. Thank you for staying with us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Even though the hotel was going through major renovations we had a great time and were not inconvenienced in anyway from it. It's a great location to walk to downtown as well as driving up to Rhode Island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Terri, Hotel Management
Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Hartford, CT

Great Location

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The hotel is located across the street from the aquarium and less than a mile away from the Seaport. Old Mystic Village is a stone's throw for restaurants, shopping arts and crafts and the town of Mystic. The rooms are comfortable and when the renovations are done it will be one of the premier hotels in Mystic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Terri, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so appreciative of your understanding and hope to see you again soon;