Ratings based on 895 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Simple

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Asked for extra coffee in room, came in 5 minutes Room was clean and towels well kept up on Good cheap way to sleep on a vacation with kids
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Nice clean confortable

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Very easy to reach, room clean and big, close to the touristic places and to restaurants and plaza
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Fine - however, the room we were assigned had defective air conditioning and we had to be moved for the second night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

The Basic but Clean and Well Priced

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: The entire facility could be updated.
Location: 5 minutes from Mystic Seaport, 10 from downtown.
My daughter and I wanted to visit Mystic on budget during a trip to New England. The Howard Johnson was the right price. It is very basic and dated, but the room was clean. Our blankets looked worn Travellers should know that it is next to the freeway. We had a parking lot side room and it was quiet. I don't think the hotel has been renovated since the 1960's and some parts definitely show their wear, like our sliding glass door. I would probably stay there again. The staff was friendly, though I couldn't check in early, not really a big deal. The hall smelled a little funny, like they were trying to cover up cigarette smoke, even though it was non-smoking. That bothered my daughter more than me and she would hold her breath. The hotel is only about 10 minutes from downtown Mystic so that is definitely a plus. So if you want super basic but clean and close to sights this is worth checking out, just know what you are getting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamptons, ny

Convenient location.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Convenient location to access Mystic Aquarium & Seaport as well as Old Mistick Village. Lots of places to eat near by. Hotel is dated but clean & comfortable. Staff was quiet pleasant & helpful. Only down fall was uncomfortable pillows. Bed was comfy & clean. Stayed on 2nd floor & had a balcony with outdoor seats. Would stay again & would recommend for price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for a great price

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Everything was within walking distance. Staff was great. Rooms were clean but outdated. Bathroom definitely could use an update. Check in and check out was quick and easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Walking distance to Aquarium !

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: It met all our needs. It was nice to have a jacuzzi to ease our muscles after all the sightseeing.
Cons: I would consider this hotel 2 1/2 stars, the price was a bit high, s/b about $20 less per night. Housekeepers should not walk in.
Location: Within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, Aquarium and Mystic Seaport close by. Great downtown area on the river!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room near pool

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Front desk was very informativeand nice Rooms clean and staff professional
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Easton, PA

Good Basic Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
A basic hotel in a convenient location. We stayed in room 219 which was clean but dated. Bed comfortable, but furniture needs updating. Room needs better lighting. TV partially obstructs wall mirror, which was annoying. Indoor pool clean and well-maintained and pool deck area with lounges and deck chairs very nice. Attractive lobby. Friendly staff. For the price, certainly ok for an overnight or two. No major complaints. Located just across from Mystic Aquarium and about 1 mile from Mystic Seaport. Easy on and off from I-95. Had two good meals at the Mystic Diner and Restaurant adjacent to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prospect, Ct.

Very nice hotel! Close to the Aquarium & Seaport

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We spent 3 nights at this hotel and were very pleased! Pleasant staff, clean room and nice indoor pool.