Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Lighthouse Inn CT: A Bad Place to Stay

Posted Oct 25, 2008
No hot water was the worst of it. Kitchen was closed except for the food we ate at the wedding we were there to attend (The food was good). But there was no breakfast, not even coffee. For what we paid, I had expected a bit more. After getting home, online articles about the Lighthouse Inn and "Resort" were not complimentary. Please do your research before you reserve there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed

Posted Oct 22, 2008
We stayed at the Lighthouse Inn for a wedding. What a disappointment. The hotel was in barely good condition. There was no running water for most of the time we were there. When there was running water, it was brown and rusty, and never heated up so that we could shower (as if we'd want to in brown water!). The maintenance staff was nowhere to be found, and the wait staff were less than attentive. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, for any reason. We were terribly disappointed and would never go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel stay in my life

Posted Oct 20, 2008 on Hotels.com
The first room I was assigned had no lamps, no drapes (it was the first floor - street view)and no towels. The second room I was assigned was already occupied by another guest. The third room 'looked nice', but I later found out that it had NO HEAT (not good in 30 degree Connecticut temperatures), NO HOT WATER, and a NON-FUNCTIONAL SECURTIY LOCK (it was not attached to the door, it had been broken in). When I went to make coffee, it still had grinds in the basket from the previous guest, and I later found dirty towels and washcloths stacked behind the bathroom door. Lastly when I went to turn on the (cold) water, the faucet handle came off in my hand. LOUSY, LOUSY, LOUSY hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2008
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem

Terrible Experience

Posted Aug 28, 2008 on Hotels.com
When we arrived they said they lost a lot of reservations, including ours. We prepaid for 4 nights. I had my receipt with me. We booked a room in the carriage house. They showed us a room in the mansion. It was occupied and they said they's move the guests. There was no hot water in the mansion. We declined a room in the mansion and was shown a room in the carriage house, but they didn't have a key for it. We didn't get a key until the next day. Oddly, we were the only people in the Carriage House. They said they were going to move us to the mansion, but we said "no." Why would we go to a place with no hot water? They told us lies. On two dayss they said there was a wedding booked. There was not. The restaurant was closed...no food. We had to go to the mansion and ask for towels (there were four of us). We only had towels for two. We had to ask for toilet paper and morning coffee packets. The faucet in the bathroom sink ran constantly. Our sheets were not changed in four days. There were no pool towels. We used our own beach towels. Other guests who stayed in the mansion told us that they had to go to the pool house to get a hot shower. The grounds were beautiful and the beach was nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Only if you like cold showers.

Posted Aug 27, 2008
Stayed here for two nights--never saw a drop of hot water. When I enquired, the woman at the hotel desk was too busy chatting with her husband to deal with me. Stinky carpets, unfriendly, indifferent staff, we will never return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester MA

Not impressed

Posted Aug 13, 2008
It was a very disappointing experience. This appears to be a hotel on the decline. The room was dirty, the furniture was dirty and torn. Service was not warm and welcoming. The amenities services have been closed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Aug 12, 2008
The hotel is dirty and the bed was on a slant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Branford, CT

Listen to other reviewers

Posted Aug 8, 2008
Checked in early, checked out early. Bathroom door didn't shut and tub needed a good cleaning. The view from the suite was of the water a block away with many houses before it. Food was great in Pub. Coffee and danished promised, but was gone at 8:30 and not replenished. Over all, lots of money for nothing but a very old and beautiful hotel. Needs remodeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bonafede

Room was nice with the balcony however the bed was small

Posted May 13, 2008 on Hotels.com
Hotel was a good value, room was nice with the balcony overlooking the water, the bed was small and a little uncomfortable. Staff was friendly and food was good. Bartender treated the locals nicer and if he did not know you,your service was noticably slower, he rang up some charges which were not mine as well,